Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Playing DIVX/XVID in GBPVR

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    416

    Playing DIVX/XVID in GBPVR

    If i play the xvid or divx in VLC perfect!..IN gbpvr ...slow...choppy...wrong aspect..isnt like f11 to change aspect??cause that and f9 didnt do anything....I installed vlc and ffdshow...Why is gbpvr not playing these well??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,110
    F7 changes the aspect ratio.

    You're problems are most likely caused by whatever divx/xvid decoder you've installed on your computer. Which one are you using?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    416
    ffdshow

    GREAT App!!! I Love it....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,110
    Try a different decoder. NIC's xvid decoder or the official divx decoder do a good job.

    GREAT App!!! I Love it....
    Cheers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,110
    I noticed in another post you're using a 800mhz celeron. This may have something to do with it as well. I wouldnt be using ffdshow with that CPU.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    416
    Yeah I've tried official divx, NIC's xvid, official xvid, and ffdshow..All look the same ..crappy choppy...They play perfect in VLC or WMP......

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,110
    Yeah I've tried official divx, NIC's xvid, official xvid, and ffdshow..All look the same ..crappy choppy...
    If they all look the say, I'm guessing the same decoder is being used each time. Take a look in gbpvr.exe-native.log. You'll see a section like this:
    Code:
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	Graph contains the following filters:
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	 - Default DirectSound Device
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	 - Video Renderer
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	 - MPEG Layer-3 Decoder
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	 - DivX Decoder Filter
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	 - AVI Splitter
    09:45:30.421	VERBOSE	 - c:\MyVideos\divx\AD-Citroen_C4_Transformer.avi
    Can you post the section from your log?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    416
    15:38:48.462 VERBOSE - Video Renderer
    15:38:48.462 VERBOSE - Creative Sound Blaster PCI
    15:38:48.462 VERBOSE - MPEG Layer-3 Decoder
    15:38:48.462 VERBOSE - DivX Decoder Filter
    15:38:48.462 VERBOSE - AVI Splitter
    15:38:48.462 VERBOSE - \\ZACH\My Videos\Movies\Meet the Fockers.avi

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,110
    So try it with a few other xvid/divx decoder, make sure the the decoder is changing in the logs. If you dont fine one that works, then you're out of luck.

    Also worth trying to switch from VMR to Overlay, since thats what Windows Media Player uses.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    416
    pressing f7 to change aspect sends computer into a loop...audio goes..but like the On screen guide type thing keeps going and coming back

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •