Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Live TV failure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    First, the software looks great - looks like it will eventually do everything my TiVo does!

    Whenever I click on Live TV, I get th error "Failed to communicate with the GB-PVR Recording Service..."

    I have checked and the Recording Service is running.

    I can use Hauppauge WinTV 2k with no problems, and the music library works fine though.

    Any help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Thumbs up

    Doing that and switching to Overlay Manager seems to have done the trick... many thanks.

    Séamus

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Now that I'm using Overlay Manager, any time there's an on-screen menu/guide the picture is blocked out.

    Is there a fix for this?

    Very gratefully,

    Séamus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,300
    When you say 'blcked out', I assume you mean the on screen graphics are very chunky?

    Unfortunately, the overlay manager does a shocking job a resizing these graphics so looks terrible unless the video windows is precisely 720x480. There is not much I can do about it (easily). The Overlay option was only really added to support those that cant get VMR with their video card. Overlay is a last resort sorry.

    The VMR settings do a much better job at rendering these graphics, and also do full alpha blending giving you semi transparent graphics.

    That said, I'll have a small think about it to see if I can come up with any improvements.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,300
    Ok, I've just made some changes for the next release that improve the OSD quality when using the Overlay Manager. Its still no VMR, but its much better than the previous release.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Hi Sub

    What I mean is, if the tv guide data or menu is on screen, the tv picture is not visible. Makes fast forwarding a recording a bit tricky!

    Both the VMR settings give error messages when using live TV (I think it was "invalid pointer&quot which is why I'm using overlay manager.

    Have to say though, the program is brilliant - I've been using Windows Media Player to playback recordings so far though.

    Cheers

    Séamus

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Oh, and I'm using a geforce 4 MX440 video card, which I think *should* be able to cope with vmr... but I've no idea why it's not!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,300
    britclub, if you select a different 'software mpeg2 decoder' in the config does allow you to get VMR working? Some of the MPEG2 decoders are not compatible with VMR, and will only allow connection to the Overlay manager.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    What an idiot I am! Changed the decoder and voilá!

    Thanks Sub!

    Séamus


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,300
    Great. Good to hear.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •