Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Setting up PVR-500MCE FM Tuner

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    439

    Setting up PVR-500MCE FM Tuner

    I've been trying to access the FM tuner of my PVR-500mce but whenever I scan it just stops and doesn't scan at all. When I manually place a frequency I get the audio of the current tv channel.

    I followed the instructions from the WIKI and downloaded LAME and registered it. All was succesful but no radio.

    Any help is most appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,554
    When you setup your capture sources for the PVR500, only the second capture source (for device #2) should be configured as the PVR500 with FM tuner. The first tuner doesnt, and can only tune TV.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    439
    Got it, thanks. Does this mean that I can not use that tuner for TV recording since it's tuned with the antenna instead of cable?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,554
    You can record TV with both tuners. The normal cable/antenna connection goes to both tuners. The FM connection only goes to the second tuner.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Slowly settling down in Europe
    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by sub
    When you setup your capture sources for the PVR500, only the second capture source (for device #2) should be configured as the PVR500 with FM tuner. The first tuner doesnt, and can only tune TV.
    There's probably different versions, mine only works on capture source #1. I get static when I set the FM tuner to be source #2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,554
    Yeah, possible. I've never seen it mentioned offically anywhere, but every PVR500 I'd looked at seemed to have it on the second tuner.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westbank, BC, Canada
    Posts
    1,522
    I have one of each (go figure). I can't discern ANY difference between the two cards, even under a magnifying glass.
    Maybe it's got to do with the way it's installed, not the actual card?
    BTW, it's freaky when you tune two FM stations at one time!
    You can never have enough tuners!
    Pentium Quad / 4Gb Dual Channel RAM / XPSP3 / 2 x PVR-500, PVR-250 / GB-PVR

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    The 612 - MN, USA
    Posts
    288
    My PVR500MCE only works correctly with the FM Tuner device being the first capture source...

    If I set it up the other way, I can only watch/record with one capture source.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •