Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Issues with TBS 6981 (Dual DVB-S2)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,106

    Issues with TBS 6981 (Dual DVB-S2)

    I've just got one of these, and while it appears to work fine most of the time, I've noticed a weird screw-up from it when something outside of NPVR tries to detect what tuners I have installed (specifically DVBGuide or EPG Collector).

    When they do this - just the detection part, not the tuning/collecting EPG data part - they cause the data stream being delivered to NPVR to get interrupted. That either black screens Live TV or breaks any recording in progress.

    Has anyone else noticed this? I'm running 32bit Windows 7.

    Iain
    Last edited by imilne; 2013-01-27 at 07:02 PM.
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Yes I too have a TBS 6981 card and I'm having exactly the same annoying problem.

    According to the EPG Collector people it's a TBS 6981 driver problem and according to TBS they are not interested in doing anything about it or don't fully understand what the problem is.

    It's really annoying when watching TV on one tuner and starting EPG Collector and before it even collects data, it scans all tuners (even if I have set it to use a tuner that is not being used for the Live TV) and it blanks out the Live TV tuner for a few seconds. That would be even worse if I was using the other tuner for recording.

    So as no one is claiming responcibility for the problem, it may be some time before it is fixed - There are posts reporting the problem dated April last year so almost a year ago and still nothing is being done about it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,106
    Well that's encouraging to hear that it's not just me, but disappointing that it sounds like there's not going to be a solution any time soon. I did email their support and received the following back, but I'm not holding my breath...

    Code:
    hi Iain,
    
    thank you for reporting the issue - i get your point and that seems like small issue with the driver that our Windows driver team need to check.
    
    best regards,
    constantine
    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    57
    I'm looking at getting one of these cards soon and so have subscribed to see if you get any updates regarding driver solutions etc.. So if you get any information back it would appreciated if you could updated this thread. Thanks.

    Also did you get your card in Scotland or online? Just wondering as I'm in Scotland myself so would prefer to go somewhere reasonably local if possible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,106
    I just got it from Amazon.

    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    SE England
    Posts
    574
    This may sound a bit unhelpful but why not just use xmlgui or mc2xml to get your epg? I've got one of these pointing at 2 different satellites but never had an issue using the above.
    Elmo Putney

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,106
    Mainly because they don't tend to carry all the channels I need, nor the regional variations. I also quite like the shorter descriptions you get with the broadcast data...they fit npvr's skins perfectly and minimise spoilers.

    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •