Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XBMC addon and ports

XBMC addon and ports

Is the XBMC addon for npvr using the usual server port or the NEWA port? Or both? I can run XBMC with the npvr server on the same computer but had no luck so far if the server is on another computer in the local network.

"Show me your passport and I'll tell you who you are"
    (new Norwegian saying)

Yes, it uses the same web server port that NEWA uses. ie 8866 is the default.

I'm new to NPVR + XBMC, but I'm quite pleased to report that over the past couple of days I have been able set up an NPVR server with an ATSC tuner, two Hauppauge Colossus cards, EPG from Schedules Direct, and am able to use that as a host for the XBMC (Oct 18 nightly build) PVR client add-on!

Like Reddwarf, I also couldn't get XBMC to see the NPVR server if it was on another machine on my local network. What appears to have worked for me is:

(1) create a static IP on my router for the NPVR server,
    (2) use the static IP (rather than a server name) in the XBMC NPVR add-on (leave PIN at default 0000), and
    (3) set up Windows Firewall to allow access to nextpvr.exe, nrecord.exe and ndigitalhost.exe.

I suspect what really solved the problem is (3) alone. But since I did the other two things first, before I got it to work, I thought I'd better mention those steps, too.

Is there a way I can edit the wiki? I could take some screenshots and add some explicit instructions for this, so that n00bs (like I am, really) don't have to suffer....

I always use static IP's and use the ip-address instead of host name. And ofcourse the npvr programs are allowed through the friewall, still the problem persists, on two different installations. Any other advice?

(new Norwegian saying)

I think I also port-forwarded 8866 on my router to point to the TV server (192.168.1.215 in my case) for the "usual" three .exe files (nextpvr.exe, nrecord.exe and ndigitalhost.exe).