Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 65

Thread: HDMI on Colossus

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    YVR Canada
    Posts
    67
    I'm following this thread with interest, because last night I found out my two Colossus cards are also not allowing me to permanently select SPDIF audio (i.e. it's there in the setup menu, but it's not saved).

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,016
    One of the annoyances of the HDPVR devices is changing the audio/video and blaster settings only impacts new stations you add. The best approach I have found is to remove ALL your channels and re-add the from the Schedules Direct or XMLTV file when you need to make the change.

    Martin

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,151
    It's done this way so that you can have channels from a mixture of sources. For example, you might create a pile of channels from Composite+SPDIF connected to a cablebox, and create another pile of channels from HDMI connected to a satellite receiver.

    I'm going to change the HDPVR plugin's channel list in the next release to show inputs for each channel, so that it's clear to the user what inputs each channel uses.
    Last edited by sub; 2012-10-26 at 05:16 PM.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    19
    No, that did not appear to make a difference. After adding my channels with SPDIF selected, they still revert to RCA after pressing OK and re-opening the dialogue.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,151
    Quote Originally Posted by theason View Post
    After adding my channels with SPDIF selected, they still revert to RCA after pressing OK and re-opening the dialogue.
    That doesn't matter though. It only matters what the setting was at the time you created the channels. Try this patch. It'll show you what the channels are set to.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    YVR Canada
    Posts
    67
    I've tried the new NShared.dll. It does indeed show what the channels are set to (e.g. 'Component, SPDIF'). However, I'm still not getting audio. During a test recording, XBMC reports 2-channel AAC, which means the 5.1-channel AC3 that I know this channel uses is not being passed over SPDIF. Also, the bitrate looks pretty low. I know the Colossus works fine on this machine, because the bundled software works OK.

    Any ideas?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,151
    Watch one of those "component/spdif" channels, then zip and attach the npvr.log and nrecord.log and I'll take a look.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    YVR Canada
    Posts
    67
    I was going to ask, "OK, where are these log files?" But a little search revealed, "On vista/win7 they're in c:\users\public\npvr\log." So here they are.

    You should probably note that I have two Colossus cards, but since I couldn't figure out how to remove and re-add the channels on both the same way I did it the first time (when NPVR asked me, "would you like to copy the channel lineup to the second card?"), I disabled it. So that's why "checking Colossus" happens twice, I guess?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,151
    See if this patch helps.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    19
    Oh wow. I deleted all my channels and re-imported them and I appear to have sound now. I'll keep fiddling and see that it continues to work with some recordings etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •