Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: new tuner suggestions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    CNY, United States
    Posts
    188

    new tuner suggestions

    here is my scenario. I had my pc with at pvr150 and pvr 250. I replaced my PC recently and the new PC only had one pci slot so I put my pvr250 in and just took the 150 out. Unfortunately the 150 had the ir input and the 250 doesnt. I know my cheaper option would be to get a new ir receiver that is compatible with the 250. But I was thinking of getting another hauppauge car/stick and just spend a little more money and at least get another tuner out of the deal. I dont want to spend much. $50 max and I dont even really want to spend that much really. I was perfectly happy with the 150 quality and we dont watch hd. We only have analog cable. I was thinking about this remote. Would this work with my hauppauge 250?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Philips-OVU4...ht_2303wt_1037

    I was thinking about a hauppauge 950q. Im assuming that has the ir receiver right on the usb stick itself right?

    Any help/suggestions would be appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,885
    Yes, the IR receiver on the 950Q is on the side of the stick. No idea whether that IR receiver you listed could be made to work with the remote you have (in any case it has nothing to do with the PVR-250; that's an MCE remote receiver that connects via USB). Nor do I know whether the IR receiver on the 950Q would work with the Hauppauge remote from the PVR-150 (the remote included with the 950Q is one of those little "credit card" types, I can't imagine using that for full-time use).

    For analog though, few of the available tuners have a hardware encoder. All the cheaper ones especially will depend on software encoding, though I've found the software encoding works very well. Among non-PCI Hauppauge devices, only the HVR-1850 (pcie), HVR-2250 (pcie) and HVR-1950 (usb) have hardware encoding. Honestly if you can bring yourself to spend the money, the HVR-2250 (model 1213) is the ultimate do-everything tuner: two ATSC/QAM/Analog tuners with hardware encoders, full size remote, dual blaster cables, dual SVideo/Composite input cables. I just bought one, but haven't had a chance to put it in yet (too much olympics recording).
    Last edited by johnsonx42; 2012-08-12 at 07:41 PM.
    NPVR Tech Support Sticky - - http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...931#post480931
    ---------------------------
    my config: NPVR 3.3.8/Win7Pro/Athlon II X3-440/radeon hd4550/hvr-2250/hvr-850/OTA ATSC via Winegard Flatwave Amped antenna/Schedules Direct

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    859
    I'd recommend this MCE remote - works great with npvr. But, doesn't have the exact same keys as the Haup remote.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Microsoft-MC...ht_3473wt_1092

    If you're happy with the 250, you'd then have 2 tuners. Or, you could use the 150 and its receiver/remote and get a ATI 650 pci-e tuner from ebay. Has a good analog tuner encoder, works with npvr, and should be about $30.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dell-ATI-The...#ht_500wt_1107

    Drivers are available from ATI/AMD, but there's not much documentation. I have one and it works fine.
    HTPC: E7500, HD5450, HDHR Prime/Avermedia Duet A188, NPVR 3.3.8, Win7 Pro
    Test: Asrock 890GM Pro 3, Athlon X2 255 , internal HD4290, ATI Theater 650Pro, NPVR 3.3.8, Win7 Home Premium
    Backup: Athlon 3200, Nvidia 7600GT, NPVR 2.5.5, Win7 Home Premium

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    CNY, United States
    Posts
    188
    I purchased the ati 650. Can you guide me on how to get it set up? It shows up in the devices list but if I try to watch tv using it or record it tells me no capture device available. Am i missing something easy?

    here are my logs if it helps
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    859
    Since the Hauppauge tuner appears to work, it seems you have the Hauppauge mux filter that is required for analog. Do you have channels assigned to the ATI analog tuner in Settings/Devices? Does the 650 analog show up there? I see from the logs that NPVR sees the 650 digital tuners. Can you access the dialog for the 650 analog by double clicking it? Each tuner needs channels assigned so NPVR knows whether a tuning request can be handled by that tuner. I don't have the 650 analog set up in my test box, so can't tell you exactly what to do to assign channels. It should be the same thing you did for the Hauppauge tuners, though.
    HTPC: E7500, HD5450, HDHR Prime/Avermedia Duet A188, NPVR 3.3.8, Win7 Pro
    Test: Asrock 890GM Pro 3, Athlon X2 255 , internal HD4290, ATI Theater 650Pro, NPVR 3.3.8, Win7 Home Premium
    Backup: Athlon 3200, Nvidia 7600GT, NPVR 2.5.5, Win7 Home Premium

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,697
    I think that when you first started to record with the card it hung and then it disappeared from the lists

    Code:
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.790	[INFO][7]	Creating graph
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.792	[DEBUG][7]	Building graph using: ATI AVStream Analog Capture (1)
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.814	[DEBUG][7]	about to look for encoder
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.814	[DEBUG][7]	About to look for hardware encoder.
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.814	[DEBUG][7]	AttachHardEncoder@1
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.814	[DEBUG][7]	AttachHardEncoder@2 (got medium)
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.816	[DEBUG][7]	AttachHardEncoder@3 (got encoder)
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.816	[DEBUG][7]	AttachHardEncoder@4 (about to connect encoder)
    2012-08-19 16:29:09.820	[DEBUG][7]	Hardware encoder not found. Attempting to fall back to software encoder.
    My guess is this card might still not be installed correctly, or you may have one of the versions that don't have a h/w encoding http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...916#post383916 Maybe do a filtercheck and upload your logs.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    CNY, United States
    Posts
    188
    Ican add the channels. I copied the config from the pvr 150 when it prompted me. However when I do that when I try to use the tuner I get a program error.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    CNY, United States
    Posts
    188
    filtercheck log
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    CNY, United States
    Posts
    188
    im also getting this when I try to delete files since I have put in the card and upgraded to the latest nextpvr version

    Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 251
Size:  14.0 KB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    859
    I just enabled my 650 pci-e analog tuner and it works for me. Here's what a live tuning request looked like:

    2012-08-19 15:34:48.848 [DEBUG][10] StartStream(7243:CNN)
    2012-08-19 15:34:48.848 [DEBUG][10] checking if previous capture source can be reused
    2012-08-19 15:34:48.848 [DEBUG][10] checking if previous capture source can be reused
    2012-08-19 15:34:48.848 [DEBUG][10] Cant use previous capture source. No channel mapping.
    2012-08-19 15:34:48.848 [DEBUG][10] stopping previous handle
    2012-08-19 15:34:48.849 [DEBUG][10] StopStream
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.413 [DEBUG][10] looking for capture source
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.413 [DEBUG][10] checking: IPTV Device
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.413 [DEBUG][10] checking: NetworkRecorder:1.NetworkRecorder
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.413 [DEBUG][10] enabled and present
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] does not have channel
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] checking: ATI BDA Digital Tuner (QAM)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] enabled and present
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] does not have channel
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] checking: ATI BDA Digital Tuner (ATSC)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] checking: ATI AVStream Analog Capture
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] enabled and present
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.414 [DEBUG][10] has channel
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.415 [DEBUG][10] live tv is possible
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.420 [INFO][10] AnalogRecorder.StartStream(LIVE&D:\NPVR Buffer\live-CNN-5442.ts)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.421 [INFO][10] AnalogRecorder stream count now 1
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.421 [INFO][10] Creating graph
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.449 [DEBUG][10] Building graph using: ATI AVStream Analog Capture (1)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.750 [DEBUG][10] about to look for encoder
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.759 [DEBUG][10] About to look for hardware encoder.
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.762 [DEBUG][10] AttachHardEncoder@1
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.762 [DEBUG][10] AttachHardEncoder@2 (got medium)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.784 [DEBUG][10] AttachHardEncoder@3 (got encoder)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.784 [DEBUG][10] AttachHardEncoder@4 (about to connect encoder)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.807 [DEBUG][10] AttachHardEncoder@5 (connected encoder)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.826 [DEBUG][10] AttachHardEncoder@6 (connected demux)
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.833 [DEBUG][10] about to add mux
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.833 [DEBUG][10] about to add tee
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.851 [DEBUG][10] about to connect writers
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.877 [DEBUG][10] Graph filter list:
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - NPVR Writer2
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - NPVR Writer
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - Infinite Pin Tee Filter
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - MainConcept (HCW) MPEG Multiplexer-Plus
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - MPEG-2 Demultiplexer
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - ATI AVStream MPEG2 Multiplexer
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - ATI AVStream Analog Capture
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - ATI AVStream Analog Xbar
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - ATI AVStream Analog TV Audio
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.878 [DEBUG][10] - ATI AVStream Analog Tuner
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.881 [DEBUG][10] About to check crossbar routing
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.882 [DEBUG][10] Audio crossbar routed successfully
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.882 [DEBUG][10] Video crossbar already routed correctly
    2012-08-19 15:34:49.882 [DEBUG][10] Tuning to channel: 33
    2012-08-19 15:34:52.703 [DEBUG][10] Tuner reports frequency: 276000000
    2012-08-19 15:34:52.703 [INFO][10] About to start graph
    I think I have the same 650 card you do, if you got the one I linked to from ebay. You might try uninstalling and re-installing the driver. I believe I got mine from ATI just by going through the questions on their driver download, see below. Sorry it's so small, but you get the idea.

    Name:  650 Driver.jpg
Views: 252
Size:  10.1 KB

    Here's the link:

    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...6&lang=English

    Post the error message and the logs that you're getting now.
    Last edited by mikeh49; 2012-08-20 at 12:12 AM.
    HTPC: E7500, HD5450, HDHR Prime/Avermedia Duet A188, NPVR 3.3.8, Win7 Pro
    Test: Asrock 890GM Pro 3, Athlon X2 255 , internal HD4290, ATI Theater 650Pro, NPVR 3.3.8, Win7 Home Premium
    Backup: Athlon 3200, Nvidia 7600GT, NPVR 2.5.5, Win7 Home Premium

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •