Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: 2.5.5 Black screen during Live TV (Analog)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,111
    Which process is using this high amount of CPU? Is it NextPVR.exe or NRecord.exe, or something else?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Modesto, CA. USA
    Posts
    2,144
    I also am experiencing the same problem.

    Once live tv channel is selected, video and audio work (with channel display on bottom of screen), after about 1-2 seconds video goes black (channel display continues), video channel display shows for about another 10 seconds, then whole screen goes black with audio continuing to work.

    I've tried this on both SD and HD channels (over QAM) with same behavior. Originally I had ATI video card, switched to an NVIDA with current drivers same behavior.

    Attached are log files, but I don't see anything obviously wrong....

    Also note, WinTV7 work fine on same channels...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by JavaWiz; 2012-08-18 at 03:09 AM.
    NPVR Server: Win8 / AMD Phenom II X4 965 / 8gRAM / ATI Radeon 7700 Series / Hauppauge 2250
    Misc: Multiple Wired-Wireless clients, XMBC Clients, rPI OpenElec client

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Which process is using this high amount of CPU? Is it NextPVR.exe or NRecord.exe, or something else?
    Sorry for not responding right away. It's NextPVR.exe, using a min of 50% and max of 56% CPU. The weird thing: it doesn't happen immediately. The screen is blank after about 1 second, but CPU stays normal (NextPVR around 5%). Than after about 1 minute, the CPU jumps up to 52% or so.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,111
    Quote Originally Posted by whyukon View Post
    Sorry for not responding right away. It's NextPVR.exe, using a min of 50% and max of 56% CPU.
    Since it's not nrecord.exe, then it's nothing to do with capture or your device's hardware encoding. It sounds like it's something to do with playback or the decoders you're using.

    Does it make any difference if you disable all the audio decoders other than the one you're using?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Since it's not nrecord.exe, then it's nothing to do with capture or your device's hardware encoding. It sounds like it's something to do with playback or the decoders you're using.

    Does it make any difference if you disable all the audio decoders other than the one you're using?
    Setting all audio decoders to "disabled" does not fix the video (still blank) and the CPU usage still jumps up.

    I should add that, same as someone else pointed out, if I run NPVR in a window, and then resize the window after the video disappears, the video does reappear, but in a smaller-size (not the full window), and without any progress bar. The CPU usage still jumps up. Also, I'm now finding that the audio sometimes (not always) breaks up. I can still hear it, but it's broken for a while, then clear again.
    Last edited by whyukon; 2012-08-18 at 05:28 PM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,970
    Unlikely, but just in case it is related, when I start with madVR rendering in windowed mode, I only see small portion of the video, when I alt-enter twice it is properly sized.

    Martin

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Modesto, CA. USA
    Posts
    2,144
    I finally fixed this problem. I had upgraded from a prior version of NPVR, and I believe something must have gotten corrupted.

    I fully uninstalled NPVR, deleted any remenant directories and re-installed a fresh copy of 2.5.5. After a channel scan and config setup, I have a fully functioning system again.
    NPVR Server: Win8 / AMD Phenom II X4 965 / 8gRAM / ATI Radeon 7700 Series / Hauppauge 2250
    Misc: Multiple Wired-Wireless clients, XMBC Clients, rPI OpenElec client

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by JavaWiz View Post
    I finally fixed this problem. I had upgraded from a prior version of NPVR, and I believe something must have gotten corrupted.

    I fully uninstalled NPVR, deleted any remenant directories and re-installed a fresh copy of 2.5.5. After a channel scan and config setup, I have a fully functioning system again.
    My installation is an upgrade, too. I was hoping not to have to reinstall from scratch, but from what you've said JavaWiz, it sounds like it's worth a shot. I'll report back on my results.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by whyukon View Post
    My installation is an upgrade, too. I was hoping not to have to reinstall from scratch, but from what you've said JavaWiz, it sounds like it's worth a shot. I'll report back on my results.
    OK, a complete removal and reinstall DOES fix my problems. Thanks, JavaWiz for posting about your success. I am experiencing a new problem, some occasional crashes of NPVR, but if I need help with that, it will probably be on a different thread. The disappearing video was fixed by uninstalling, removing the application folders and data, and reinstalling all of 2.5.5.

    Thanks to everyone for helping with this.
    Glen

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,111
    That's odd. I wonder what the difference would have been.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •