Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hauppauge 950Q with QAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Hauppauge 950Q with QAM

    Hauppauge 950Q

    My eventual goal is to probably use GBPVR, but it's no longer supported and I realize in terms of troubleshooting I should probably walk before I run, so I went and installed NPVR and like I figured, this device wouldn't work with that either. I only use QAM, and I don't get ATSC signals at all. I also want to eventually get analog capturing working, but I'll leave that for sometime down the road.

    It's also worth noting that I have a seperate PC using an internal card with GBPVR and QAM fully working, so I might be able to refer back to that for any info about QAM channel frequencies. And I also had success using GBPVR for years with a Kworld QAM usb device that wasn't even officially supported.

    On this PC I'm using Windows XP. NPVR installed fine, but when I select the device with QAM and try to scan, I get no results. I completed the full scan. When I tried it with GBPVR, I had constant issues with crashing and freezing, which has never happened to me before. I think I saw other posts with similar things mentioned using this device. On at least one of the scans with GBPVR, the scan froze on a certain channel, and I know I read similar posts of freezing from others.

    One note is, even though I bought the 950Q brand new, I bought it as part of a software package, and therefore it didn't come with the original installation/software disc. Even on the label of the tuner's box list of contents, it mentioned everything else (antenna, quick install guide, a/v cable, extension cable, tuner), but no software CD. I installed the driver from the website and that seemed ok, but I'm not sure if it's a problem that I don't have the original software. Though I know it would be a problem with analog capturing, but I'm hoping there will be a way around that.

    Anyway, any help or info on where to go from here to get this device working or a place to start would be really appreciated. Thanks a ton in advance.

    I attached the NPVR log in a zip file (there was also an NRecord log which I didn't include), hopefully I'm doing everything right. Thanks a lot, I appreciate it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,525
    In that log it, there is no errors during the scan, but the device reports no sign of any signal. I only a few possibilities:

    - You're not supply a signal to the 950Q. ie dud cable or splitter
    - The cable company uses HRC frequencies instead of the standard ones. In the settings screen prior to hitting 'Scan', set channels to 'HRC cable frequencies'
    - The device is broken. You could maybe check if you get channels in an other software.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks a lot for the reply. I tried setting HRC cable frequencies when I was trying scans with GBPVR, and that was the time that I got the immediate BSOD, which never happens to me. So I made a mental note not to do that again. I didn't try that setting in NPVR, but I'll give that a shot next time I get a chance. Like I said though, I do have a working QAM setup on another PC using GBPVR, is there an easy way for me to check that to see if HRC frequencies are being used for my cable system?

    It's not a bad cable or splitter, considering I disconnected it and then connected the same cable to another device later on and did some captures.

    Lastly, the 950Q device is brand new, never been used. Being broken isn't impossible, but I'd say highly unlikely.

    Thanks again for the reply, I'll report back once I've tried the HRC setting in NPVR.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,525
    I'd also try it in some other software if you can, to rule out it being broken.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,480
    Several people have written about scanning problems and crashes XP when they don't use the psisdecd.dll included with XP SP3. Playback requires another version of this file in DVBFix so if that is the problem keep both files since you need to go back and forth.

    Martin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Success. I was finally able to get it working on this XP pc. I'll skip any of the details for now and go right to my next question.

    Where should I go from here to get the device working with analog captures? I don't have a WinTV installation disc. I may have a Hauppauge HD PVR installation disc, which may come with an old version of WinTV, but I'm not sure. Regardless of that, is there going to be an easy/free way of doing analog captures with this device using NPVR/GBPVR? Thanks again very much in advance, I really appreciate any help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Severn Estuary (Mendip) UK
    Posts
    756
    I don't use analogue my self but I believe Option 2 on the following page from the Wiki should be what you want

    http://www.gbpvr.com/nwiki/pmwiki.ph...uppaugeSoftPVR
    It's not an overly complicated system - it's more - overly simple operatives

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7
    Actually that was pretty easy. Thanks a lot for that. Got that done, so I will test it later once I have time to hook up an analog device and try it. Great help, thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •