Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Recording glitch = locked NMT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,749

    Recording glitch = locked NMT

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy
    While the issues I have been having are not to do with live TV (I never use live TV) & rolling back & my signal strengths are all 100%... I do seem to get the "glitch" problem in some (enough to be a right royal pain) digital recordings & then...
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand
    It sure is a completely different problem, is it more frequent with TV Listings running?
    I don't think so but I will remove TV Listings & try that recording again soon to see what happens (My brother gets the same issue (No TV Listings) & so do I with GB-PVR which doesn't have TV Listings installed??)

    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy
    for me I end up with a blank/black TV screen & the same "The NMT remote was then unresponsive, can't even power off the NMT."... logs attached (including the recording log for that particular recording). Martin I am sure you know what NextPVR version I am running....
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand
    The logs don't show any problem, I expect the MVP NextPVR instance was still running and it hadn't been flushed maybe there is more now?
    Huh?? You lost me

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand
    If not I need the last 200MB of that file.
    Will sub's cutchunk (or whatever it's called) do that??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,336
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    I don't think so but I will remove TV Listings & try that recording again soon to see what happens (My brother gets the same issue (No TV Listings) & so do I with GB-PVR which doesn't have TV Listings installed??)
    During the stop, mvpmcx2 is very vulnerable to timing problems in the 3 streaming sockets being used and if unexpected information is received it could crash mvpmcx2.

    Huh?? You lost me
    Your NextPVR logs weren't finished, meaning that the PC server and NMT client were still "connected". If you had waited (or tried later) there might have been more details in the log.

    Will sub's cutchunk (or whatever it's called) do that??
    Yes, it should if you tick the box http://www.gbpvr.com/nwiki/pmwiki.ph...ility.CutChunk

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,749
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Your NextPVR logs weren't finished, meaning that the PC server and NMT client were still "connected". If you had waited (or tried later) there might have been more details in the log.
    Ummmmm I actually waited about 10 minutes (went outside for a smoke, I know it's bad for me <grin>) with a blank TV screen (too see if it would actually do anything) before I re-booted the NMT & grabbed those logs??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,336
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    Ummmmm I actually waited about 10 minutes (went outside for a smoke, I know it's bad for me <grin>) with a blank TV screen (too see if it would actually do anything) before I re-booted the NMT & grabbed those logs??
    From that it seems to have been locked at the PC side, which I can't control. NextPVR will reset if the sockets drop.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,749
    OK back to this problem now you have told me a smaller chunk may do for diagnosis purposes....

    There should be a 60Mb chunk of the problem area at this link
    https://rapidshare.com/files/2525105966/Extreme Frontiers_20120618_20302130.ts

    Attached are also another set of logs playing back this chunk with some plugins removed (I forgot MB4 has it's main plugin directory under C:\Program Files\NPVR so there are some MB4 errors in them) & it does the exact same thing on this chunk, as in goes through a glitch (quite) a while before the black screen & then just on the replay of the chopper landing it goes blank & the NMT needs to be re-booted.

    Playing back on the PC with MPC-HT it does show the earlier glitch as pixelations but has no visible sign of anything at the area the NMT locks & it plays through this area just fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,336
    Thanks Jaggy those are perfect, the video is even filmed here in Canada. It also crashes my NMT too at exactly the same point. What I didn't know is that your SD transmissions are using h264/HE-AAC or that would have changed my triage method. When I added the experimental HE-AAC support this is the type of problem I expected when I asked for samples http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...HE-AAC-Support I'm surprised there weren't a lot of them. I suspect my software based HE-AAC does not having a sufficient amount of error-checking and unfortunately this is hanging my NMT it is going to be slow going, there's about 3 seconds of bad video from 1:20 to 1:23 to try and work around.

    Unfortunately because it is an HE-AAC file the number of tools that support fixing it are going to be limited too.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,749
    Thanks for having a look & I'm glad (sort of) that it's not just my system that it causes to crash the NMT...... I didn't realise that they were broadcasting HE-AAC or I would have said something earlier.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,336
    Jaggy, does this fake comskip file make that file playable for you? (Be prepared to power off reset)

    Martin
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,749
    Now that's interesting, it looks like it something that gets screwed up when it plays the glitches that are quite some time before the crash as with that fake comskip file in place it played right to the end.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,336
    Yes, and thanks for confirming that it was the really bad area of the file (108 dropped frames over 3 seconds) that seems to cause the hang. The fact that the NMT hung on for 50 seconds made it tough to link the two events.

    martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •