Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: A110 - Main menu seems zoomed in / offset

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    579

    A110 - Main menu seems zoomed in / offset

    Hey,

    Long time GBPVR/PVRX2/NPVR user and finally decided to try an extender for the first time. I'm using an A110 and NPVR 2.4.3, and followed the dummies guide. I am able to run NPVR from the html file, and I'm greeted with what looks like a zoomed or improperly offset main menu after about 15 seconds or so, I took a pic to help:

    Name:  IMAG0643.jpg
Views: 95
Size:  167.8 KB

    Here is the output of the NMT syntax checker tool:

    Checking for mvpmc share on NEON
    mvpmc C:\mvpmc


    Checking GB-PVR.html links
    C:\mvpmc \GB-PVR.html not found


    NMT IP Address: 192.168.1.137 MAC 0006DC42A994


    GB-PVR Installed C:\Program Files (x86)\Devnz\GBPVR\


    WebServerEnabled true
    WebServerNMTStreamingEnabled false
    WebServerPort 7647


    The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found.


    N-PVR Installed C:\Users\Public\NPVR
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/NETWORK_SHARE/NEON:mvpmc/npvr.cgi">N-PVR</a>
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/NETWORK_SHARE/NETWORK_BROWSER/browser.cgi">N-PVR via Network Browser</a>
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/USB_DRIVE_A-1/mvpmc/usb_a.cgi">N-PVR via USB</a>


    config.xml entry found Client Type PCH2
    MVPSendIncrementalUpdates true
    MVPClientType PCH2
    MVPWidth 1920
    MVPHeight 1080
    MVPOffsetX 0
    MVPOffsetY 0


    Enabled true
    Port 8866


    The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found.


    Checking NMT Version
    01-17-110314-15-POP-403-000


    Checking NMT Display
    1080p 60Hz


    Calling NMT Source
    NEON:mvpmc
    smb://NEON/mvpmc Username: Password Length: 0


    NEON:
    smb://NEON/j Username: Password Length: 0

    I also checked my video settings on the NMT:

    Video output: 1080p 60hz
    Framerate sync: Off
    Video Zoom: full screen (I tried the other options too)
    TV Type: 16:9
    Colorspace: 16-235

    I read not to take longer than an hour; I was at it for three since I figured it must be something stupid I'm doing, but I'm stumped. What am I missing?
    nPVR 3.1.1 on Win7 x64 Pro|| 46" LG 47LW5300 LCD || Hauppauge HD-PVR2|| Hauppauge HVR-1250
    creator of webStreamer.. now its built-in

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,519
    The 1920x1080 settings in config.xml is not enabled by default in mvpmcx2 and it is not recommended. This is what I meant on the dummies guide when I wrote "The menu resolution should be left at 720p even if you use a 1080i/p monitor. Videos will play at the higher resolution but the menu screens will be a lot faster." Try changing config.xml to 1280x720

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    579
    You're right, I must have mistakenly chosen 1920x1080, editing the config.xml did the trick, thanks!

    I know the guide says that the videos still play at the highest possible resolution, but I can definitely tell that something is wrong.. On live tv which is 1080i (from the HDPVR or from ATSC broadcasts), there are really bad deinterlacing issues with a very soft picture and horizontal lines jumping up and down, reminds me of old video cards which didn't have enough processing juice. Does the A110 not have enough capability to deinterlace 1080i properly? Setting the device's output to 720p or 1080i didn't help.
    nPVR 3.1.1 on Win7 x64 Pro|| 46" LG 47LW5300 LCD || Hauppauge HD-PVR2|| Hauppauge HVR-1250
    creator of webStreamer.. now its built-in

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,519
    Quote Originally Posted by sgilani View Post
    I know the guide says that the videos still play at the highest possible resolution, but I can definitely tell that something is wrong.. On live tv which is 1080i (from the HDPVR or from ATSC broadcasts), there are really bad deinterlacing issues with a very soft picture and horizontal lines jumping up and down, reminds me of old video cards which didn't have enough processing juice. Does the A110 not have enough capability to deinterlace 1080i properly? Setting the device's output to 720p or 1080i didn't help.
    I have no issues with 1080i ATSC or HDPVR for live tv, so I'd start with checking the cables. The NMT uses h/w deinterlacing too, so there is certainly enough power, I check at watch 1080i live right now it is < 50% CPU on the NMT. If your NMT is setup for 720 the OSD is much softer but when the OSD clears so should the picture.

    Two things can be in play. The HDPVR driver graph will record 1080i at the resolution of previous watched channel which causes messed up files. I have had no luck convincing sub to change this. Second, your live tv buffer drectory must be able to stream very fast, sometimes a small NAS will not be fast enough, but the picture characteristics would be different.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    579
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    I have no issues with 1080i ATSC or HDPVR for live tv, so I'd start with checking the cables. The NMT uses h/w deinterlacing too, so there is certainly enough power, I check at watch 1080i live right now it is < 50% CPU on the NMT. If your NMT is setup for 720 the OSD is much softer but when the OSD clears so should the picture.

    Two things can be in play. The HDPVR driver graph will record 1080i at the resolution of previous watched channel which causes messed up files. I have had no luck convincing sub to change this. Second, your live tv buffer drectory must be able to stream very fast, sometimes a small NAS will not be fast enough, but the picture characteristics would be different.

    Martin
    Cable-wise there's just a network cable going in, and an HDMI going to the TV that works well otherwise, so I'm pretty sure we're good there.

    I tried playing back OTA recordings, as well as HDPVR recordings, and they suffer the same deinterlacing issues with 1080i. It almost looks like it keeps getting fooled and hops between inverse telecine and proper deinterlacing the way that horizontal lines jump up and down.. either that, or it's making bad bobbing decisions. Playback is smooth and not jerky, but the picture looks like it's 480p. The recordings and buffer are on my PC on a 7200rpm SATA drive, although since the problem also occurs on recorded files, I suppose the problem isn't disk speed.
    nPVR 3.1.1 on Win7 x64 Pro|| 46" LG 47LW5300 LCD || Hauppauge HD-PVR2|| Hauppauge HVR-1250
    creator of webStreamer.. now its built-in

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,519
    I uploaded this sample http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btic_...OhaP3MnoOFVZAQ to show skipping accuracy and it is a 1080i QAM broadcast and I don't see any of the issues that you are talking about, view at HD to compare. If you upload a 100MB sample I can have a look.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    579
    Wow, your clip looks great, just like it would on a PC. Sure, I'll get a 100mb sample for you, but probably tomorrow as I'm off to bed now.

    I really appreciate the help, thanks Martin!
    nPVR 3.1.1 on Win7 x64 Pro|| 46" LG 47LW5300 LCD || Hauppauge HD-PVR2|| Hauppauge HVR-1250
    creator of webStreamer.. now its built-in

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    579
    After a hard reboot of the PCH, everything is working fine now. Just one of those technology quirks I guess.

    Thanks again Martin, it's running like a champ!
    nPVR 3.1.1 on Win7 x64 Pro|| 46" LG 47LW5300 LCD || Hauppauge HD-PVR2|| Hauppauge HVR-1250
    creator of webStreamer.. now its built-in

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •