Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Dual DVB T Tuner for NZ - New build spec thoughts.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Ha, just checked the Freeview website. It tells me it's 'very likely' I'll get DVB-T at my address. That's fairly very good!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Billhilly View Post
    Yeah OK. They call it Quad mode, but not able to record two DVB-S channels at the same time. Got it (I think!).
    So potentially the 2210 is still better/cheaper for me. So roughly per hour what are the file sizes for DVB-S recordings and DVB-T?
    sd is roughly 2gig an hour
    hd is 2 to 3 time more from memory 5-7gig an hour but someone in nz may have more accurate detail i only record sd at the moment
    Specs
    Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)
    Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram
    Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400
    Client:Popcorn Hour A110
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by stustunz View Post
    sd is roughly 2gig an hour
    hd is 2 to 3 time more from memory 5-7gig an hour but someone in nz may have more accurate detail i only record sd at the moment
    Hmmm, that's a big jump in size. I personally don't need to be record in HD really.
    So 2210 and biiig hard drive, or two 4400's. Potentially the one card/two tuners is easier to set up/more stable long term?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,437
    there is the hvr3300 also ( i think is the number) only does dvb-s (doesnt do dvb-s2 which we dont have in NZ anyway)
    cheaper than the hvr4400
    If you have the slots then you can choose either dvb-s or dvb-t
    Last edited by stustunz; 2012-06-01 at 07:09 AM.
    Specs
    Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)
    Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram
    Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400
    Client:Popcorn Hour A110
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,437
    Also if you go dvb-t you need 3 tuners to record everything at once as prime is on a different frequency i believe
    Specs
    Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)
    Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram
    Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400
    Client:Popcorn Hour A110
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Yeah, I can see a couple of them in NZ shops.
    So the dual tuners in dual slots shouldn't be a problem then? I actually stopped using one of my Nova S's a long time ago because of 'issues'.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by stustunz View Post
    Also if you go dvb-t you need 3 tuners to record everything at once as prime is on a different frequency i believe
    K. Didn't know that.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    87
    I have the 2200 as well as the 4000 (earlier version of the 4400) between the 2 it is possible to record "the lot" if needed. I also have a Nova -s which I actually use for most recording in SD as it keeps the storage managable. I wouldn't right off the S2 as for a while we were able to recieve 3 S2 channels in NZ which had some good content.
    Win7 Enterprise, ASUS M2A-VM HDMI, AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.7GHz, ASUS 9400GT, 2GB Ram, 500Gb HDD, 1000Gb HDD, Hauppauge HVR-2200, Hauppauge Nova S plus, Hauppauge HDR-4000, 42" LG LCD

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,697
    Pity about the problems with the NovaTD-500 (I assume the NovaT-500 has the same problem with win7?) as I have a spare one sitting here that I got before I decided to update my server system that you could have had for a good price.

    I have now gone for an HVR2200 & an HVR2210 to get the three terrestrial transponders, plus I will still have my two HVR3000s (plus my HVR4000 DVB-S2 in case some Aussie channels show up again) installed in the same server & do 90% of my recordings off DVB-S because of the file size, even though I have an HD TV. BTW I picked up the 2200 for $50 & 2210 for $60 off TradeMe.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Thanks lost@c/Jaggy.
    I can actually only see one shop with stock of the 3300. They want $172. Can see several shops with the 4400 at around that price too. So even at that money I can put two 4400's in, run DVB-S for now (already have the dish, no extra aerial costs right now) and choose to go DVB-T at a later stage. The best of both/all worlds (including S2).
    And we are happy that the 4400 is stable (like the 2210/3300) right? Just want to double check.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •