Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Dual DVB T Tuner for NZ - New build spec thoughts.

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Thanks! I'll have another go in the morning.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    4,910
    But given you're using dvb-s you should t be seeing any choppiness. As a 5 year old machine should be handling that (mpeg2) with ease. I mean my iPhone plays it across the network with no transcoding.

    Windows 7 shouldn't need anything for your setup. I only had to add he-AAC decoder and ac3 to mine (I'm almost exclusive dvb-t remember). Stock h264 in windows worked out of the box.
    Gigabyte AMD A8 Brix, 4 Gb DDR3 Ram, 120 Gb SSD, SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual DVB-T, Samsung LA46A650 TV (HDMI), Harmony Remote 525
    Windows 8.1 Pro, NPVR 3.2.9, AC3Filter, 1 x AppleTV with Plex, Plex Plugin, NextPVR Channel for Plex

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wairarapa N.Z.
    Posts
    29
    Sorry to be so long getting back. I fail!
    So I bought CyberLink PowerDVD 12 Standard and wonder if this (standard) is not enough to give me the decoders? Can't see them on any list.
    Have just checked to make sure I had installed all necessary software. Apparently even though I had downloaded it, and thought I had installed it, .NET wasn't there. Have just rechecked everything and installed .NET framework 4. Have uninstalled NPVR, rebooted, and reinstalled NPVR.
    No change at all. Very choppy on TV1, just some slow chopped up video on TV3.
    I am currently using Microsoft DTV-DVD for Mpeg2 and H.264 decoders.
    Log attached, thanks in advance!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,570
    If your still using only the nova-s forget the h264 decoders as your not going to be using them

    the settings you need to change are the mpeg2 and the mpeg1 audio the rest dont matter
    under those setting does the cyberlink decoder show up

    also try changing the renderer just go through all of them
    Specs
    Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)
    Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram
    Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400
    Client:Popcorn Hour A110
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,570
    Have a read here its to do with Pdvd11 but it will be similar
    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...highlight=pdvd

    just googled registering filters for you also
    http://msmvps.com/blogs/chrisl/articles/12013.aspx

    try vmr custom or evr for your renderer
    make sure you turn off all extra crap in your video card settings apart from interlacing and I also leave force wait for vertical sync on

    Set your resolution to what ever looks sharpest on your tv which should be the native resolution if its a LCD
    and make sure the refresh rate is 50Hz even if you have to add it as a custom setting

    7600gt is border line for good video playback by the way (only my opinion)

    also do recordings rather than watching live tv when testing that way you can play the same thing over and over and see if anything is getting better plus it is easier to figure out where the issues are.
    Last edited by stustunz; 2012-06-24 at 07:14 AM.
    Specs
    Server:Cpu-Intel i3,ATI Radeon HD 5670 ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram. 2xHvr4400,Nova-s plus(dvb-s SD),hvr2210(dvb-t HD)
    Client:Cpu-AMD am2,Gpu-Ati HD2100 integrated ,OS-Windows 7,2gig ram
    Client:Cpu Intel 2 gig ram ,Nvidia 9400
    Client:Popcorn Hour A110
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2012]BD-E5900x2
    Client:Samsung [NZ][DVB-s][2013]BD-F6500

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    461
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yes, this both these dibcom-chipset devices the same problem. This devices works fine with Win7 in just about every other country. It's only a problem in NZ due the Freeview broadcasts having slightly different lowel-level characteristics that give it a slightly higher overrall bit compared to DVB-T in other countries. It cause a slight blip in the signal every few seconds.
    I've got two of the 500's, and wasn't really aware of any problems with them. What would the symptoms be regarding the "slight blip in the signal"? Only issue I have is that once in a while a recording will fail with "failed to lock a signal"... could that be one of the manifestations?
    Regards,
    Hasso

    Server: NPVR 2.2.6, Asus E35M1-M PRO motherboard, 2 x 2GB DDR-1333 memory, 1 x 1.5TB SATA Samsung HD, 2 x 2TB SATA Seagate Green HD, 1 x Hauppauge HD4400, 2 x Hauppauge Nova T 500, Windows 7 Home.
    Clients: EGreat M34A with MVPMCX2; HDX1000 with MVPMCX2 and internal 2TB SATA Seagate Green HD.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •