Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Extender Rollback...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,445
    Quote Originally Posted by steeb View Post
    Why are we pointing to MP DVB fix? Cannot we point to a direct download for this with NextPVR? There must be some nice peeps over at MP that would allow this?
    If anything, the only breach of licence with dvbfix is one (possibly) against Microsoft.

    All dvbfix consists of (or my version at least) is 3 Directshow filters (possible infringement of redistribution stipulations although possibly not), a readme and a batch file which unregisters/registers the different filters. There's no licence statement by the author of the batch file in it or the readme.

    Whether sub would be happy or not for a zipped copy to be hosted on the wiki, I can't say but there's no breach of licence of anything contributed by the people at MediaPortal.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,484
    Quote Originally Posted by bgowland View Post
    If anything, the only breach of licence with dvbfix is one (possibly) against Microsoft.

    All dvbfix consists of (or my version at least) is 3 Directshow filters (possible infringement of redistribution stipulations although possibly not), a readme and a batch file which unregisters/registers the different filters. There's no licence statement by the author of the batch file in it or the readme.

    Whether sub would be happy or not for a zipped copy to be hosted on the wiki, I can't say but there's no breach of licence of anything contributed by the people at MediaPortal.

    Cheers,
    Brian
    Thanks Brian.

    Still trying to get my wiki head around this....

    From past experience sub does not like to get too close to even rocking the boat and I can see where he is coming from.

    It is all about the files, not the author of the batch???...

    Hosting m-soft files... I do not know the in's and out's?

    I have no problem linking to MP on the wiki but it is one of things that may change and then require more wiki work....

    hmmmmm

    On the upside, in the meantime, I have made a mental note to myself to always use the DVB fix before asking any more questions!

    So created a batch file to unreg those 3 pesky files when scanning then rereg after...

    But that is another story for another post on this thread as am getting rollback problems again with an extender

    cheers

    steeb

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,484
    Martin,

    I just caught it again. DVB fix applied.

    Looping on NMT then stream stopped entirely.

    Can you see any reason why this would happen? Is there the same issue you spotted before as the 2nd thing that may be causing it? It makes watching TV impossible :-(

    cheers

    steeb
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,484
    Having more time to experiment......

    This issue only appears with channels that do not appear to have the same signal strength as others. On the server the channel may glitch now and then but continues LiveTV stream. Via NMT the glitch causes this rollback.

    cheers

    steeb

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,697
    Quote Originally Posted by steeb View Post
    This issue only appears with channels that do not appear to have the same signal strength as others. On the server the channel may glitch now and then but continues LiveTV stream. Via NMT the glitch causes this rollback. cheers steeb
    While the issues I have been having are not to do with live TV (I never use live TV) & rolling back & my signal strengths are all 100%... I do seem to get the "glitch" problem in some (enough to be a right royal pain) digital recordings & then...

    The NMT remote was then unresponsive, can't even power off the NMT.
    for me I end up with a blank/black TV screen & the same "The NMT remote was then unresponsive, can't even power off the NMT."... logs attached (including the recording log for that particular recording). Martin I am sure you know what NextPVR version I am running....

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,489
    I think these logs do relate to a bad file, but as far as I can tell mvpmcx2 is doing what is supposed to and that is requesting that the web server jump a little bit ahead in the file, but some of the server mechanics are mixed up because the web server doesn't necessarily respond naturally to skips. There were a few changes in the last mvpmcx2 on the wiki, but I am not planning on making any changes on dealing with bad stream. My NMT actually handles some roughness in OTA broadcasts and it recovers about the same as my PC (where a bad signal can hang the decoder from the nextpvr instance) but if it so bad that lots of packets are not even written I wouldn't bother trying to watch that channel live.

    The best solution is to improve the signal, and if that isn't possible maybe try increasing the slips seconds to a very large number so the web server might not break a show into as many pieces as it does by default.

    Martin

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,697
    Martin was this reply related to my logs??

    I did think after posting that message I should really have started a new thread

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,489
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaggy View Post
    While the issues I have been having are not to do with live TV (I never use live TV) & rolling back & my signal strengths are all 100%... I do seem to get the "glitch" problem in some (enough to be a right royal pain) digital recordings & then...
    It sure is a completely different problem, is it more frequent with TV Listings running?

    for me I end up with a blank/black TV screen & the same "The NMT remote was then unresponsive, can't even power off the NMT."... logs attached (including the recording log for that particular recording). Martin I am sure you know what NextPVR version I am running....
    The logs don't show any problem, I expect the MVP NextPVR instance was still running and it hadn't been flushed maybe there is more now? If not I need the last 200MB of that file.

    Martin

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,484
    Jaggy
    Martin was this reply related to my logs??




    Can we handle two threads in one?

    Martin I am looking into attempting to boost the signal strength. How do I increase the slip seconds?

    cheers

    steeb


    [EDIT] Just worked it out! Slip file is what I call the rolling file, I know how to change that! [EndEdit]
    Last edited by steeb; 2012-06-23 at 08:11 AM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carterton, NZ
    Posts
    2,697
    Quote Originally Posted by steeb View Post
    Can we handle two threads in one?
    Don't worry I'm about to start a new thread for my problems ( but I do think they are both related to glitches in the recording & they way glitches are handled) (or not handled as the case may be)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •