Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: More Installation Problems for HDHR Prime

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    West Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    97

    More Installation Problems for HDHR Prime

    Here is what I have done on 3 machines all with the same results.
    Windows 7 64 bit Premium. Installed the HDHR software and can scan and view channels from the QUICK TV.
    I installed NEXTPVR and added the C:\temp folder and both firewall exceptions.
    I then open NEXTPVR and select TVGUIDE choose a random channel and get a please wait which follows a blank/black screen. I've also tested different decoders without any luck.

    This happens on all of the computers I have installed it on. On one of the computers, I set up MCE and it was working correctly. I really dislike MCE hence the reason why I'm here. I've been a long time BTV user for about 7 years and think a melding of NEXTPVR and BTV might work out well. Eventually as NEXTPVR matures, I would just be a convert to this platform. Training the family will be another challenge.

    This is my first post here, I've done some research, just missing something, not sure.

    Thanks for your help, I have enclosed a copy of the files in my LOGS folder.

    Jake

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,752
    the microsoft dvd-dtv audio decoder won't work for AC3 audio, install ac3filter instead (www.ac3filter.net iirc)

    for mpeg-2 video, you have ffdshow selected; that may not work if you don't have the correct configuration of ffdshow (and I don't use ffdshow enough to say any more about it). try the microsoft dvd-dtv video decoder - it works great for hd mpeg-2 in the us.

    edit: also, are you sure you got the firewall exceptions right? you need both nrecord.exe and nextpvr.exe to be allowed to communicate (and ndigitalhost.exe for most people). try disabling your firewall completely, just to be sure.
    NPVR Tech Support Sticky - - http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...612#post473612
    ---------------------------
    my config: NPVR 3.2.9/Win7Pro/Athlon II X3-440/radeon hd4550/hvr-2250/hvr-850/KWorld 315U/TimeWarner QAM & Analog, OTA ATSC/schedules direct

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    West Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    97
    I'm working remotely on this, so I can't verify the sound, but sure enough the video was not allowed because of the nrecord.exe. I checked the Sticky and must have missed this one somehow.

    The other decoder types of items just happen to default on me as set up on all three systems. I don't have a problem using the MS ones, but is there a preferred decoder based on system speed or type of video card (NVIDIA or AMD)?

    Thanks for your help. I usually try to contribute as often as I can to these types of boards.

    jake
    Last edited by Jakesty; 2012-04-12 at 06:34 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,752
    Quote Originally Posted by Jakesty View Post
    I'm working remotely on this, so I can't verify the sound, but sure enough the video was not allowed because of the nrecord.exe. I checked the Sticky on that and couldn't find mention to that one, might want to verify and add.
    Ah, sorry, right you are. I recently edited that bit of the sticky, and forgot that the HDHomerun doesn't use NDigitalHost at this time. Most digital recording has been moved 'out-of-process' to NDigitalHost, so I tend to ASSume that NRecord doesn't do any recording any more. It will be fixed by the time you read this.

    I don't have a problem using the MS ones, but is there a preferred decoder based on system speed or type of video card (NVIDIA or AMD)?
    Nothing officially preferred. I've always been happy with the Microsoft decoder since switching to Windows 7... after years of decoder roulette with Windows XP, it was so nice to have something that finally Just Worked that I've not been eager to expirement with other decoders. That said, as I have an AMD Radeon card, I have used the ATI MPEG-2 decoder with good results as well (from what they used to call the AVIVO package, now it seems to be part of the main driver download).
    NPVR Tech Support Sticky - - http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...612#post473612
    ---------------------------
    my config: NPVR 3.2.9/Win7Pro/Athlon II X3-440/radeon hd4550/hvr-2250/hvr-850/KWorld 315U/TimeWarner QAM & Analog, OTA ATSC/schedules direct

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    West Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    97
    Thanks, I thought I was going crazy on this...even editing myself after you had fixed it...


    jake

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,752
    yeah, saw that; kinda smiled... you were no doubt thinking "this johnsonx42 guy has been around here since before the first release of NextPVR, and has almost 3,500 posts... surely he's infallible!"
    NPVR Tech Support Sticky - - http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...612#post473612
    ---------------------------
    my config: NPVR 3.2.9/Win7Pro/Athlon II X3-440/radeon hd4550/hvr-2250/hvr-850/KWorld 315U/TimeWarner QAM & Analog, OTA ATSC/schedules direct

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •