Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Timing.Info creator support thread.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,480

    Timing.Info creator support thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by jksmurf View Post
    Thanks Martin. I have had some recent problems with files where the timeline went way out of whack so might help, but that may be just a poor recorded timeline to start with. I have had some resume issues though. Couple of quick additional q's:
    I moved it out of the announcement thread to the support forum so I can keep the announcement part going.

    1. Should/can I call from postprocessing.bat? If yes I will put it in the Scripts folder.
    Definitely not, it would be a waste of time. writeTime is meant to work with files that don't have a Timing.Info and is not a utility to fix a timeline.

    2. If yes, then syntax would be writeTime %1?
    No it would be "\Pathto\writeTime" "%1" but it is not a good idea in postprocessing.bat

    3. Will filename.ts.Timing.Info be deleted from the folder when the show is deleted (I would like it to be).
    Yes, it does for me, but in my config.xml I do have <DeleteAdditionalExtensions>Timing.Info,....

    Martin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    HK - Pal I
    Posts
    2,889
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    I moved it out of the announcement thread to the support forum so I can keep the announcement part going.
    OK

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Definitely not, it would be a waste of time. writeTime is meant to work with files that don't have a Timing.Info and is not a utility to fix a timeline.
    I don't understand.... no .ts file has an associated Timing.Info file by default anyway?

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    No it would be "\Pathto\writeTime" "%1" but it is not a good idea in postprocessing.bat
    OK. So it is NOT needed by default?

    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Yes, it does for me, but in my config.xml I do have <DeleteAdditionalExtensions>Timing.Info,.... Martin
    OK

    k.
    ASUS P5K-PRO Q9300 @ 2.5GHz | Win7 x64 | 6GB RAM | ATI Radeon HD3400 PCIe Video Card | 1 x PVR-150 | 2 x WinTV DMB-TH | Various HD's | AC66U | USB-UIRT | PCH-A100 |
    If you've ever become frustrated because something in GBPVR or NPVR is not working, take a moment and consider this and this and this and this and this and this. Credit where credit's due; for one guy (with a wife and two kids), most problems are solved outrageously quickly. Patience.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,525
    Quote Originally Posted by jksmurf View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Definitely not, it would be a waste of time. writeTime is meant to work with files that don't have a Timing.Info and is not a utility to fix a timeline.
    I don't understand.... no .ts file has an associated Timing.Info file by default anyway?
    All recordings have a timing.info by default. It can either be as an embedded ADS stream (cant be seem in directory listing) or as a separate file. The only reason you wouldn't have it is if you're running some utility that recreates the .ts file, like a utility that crops it or remuxes it. ie, this utility will recreate one if you've lost the original.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,480
    If you do archive recordings to a NAS or non-NTFS drive, you could easily lose your Timing.Info so you would want to use writeTime (or command line tools) before you archive to copy the hidden Timing.Info. You could of course use writeTime afterwards but it takes more time recalculating everything.

    My prime use is for OnDemand recordings that I capture with the TME software that came with my HDPVR. NextPVR and GBPVR aren't the best way to record VCR style.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Severn Estuary (Mendip) UK
    Posts
    756
    Does the ADS file follow it's parent over networks between computers with NTFS Drives?

    Would it be sensible / how would you save the new timing.info to ADS?
    (I normally edit programs I will keep more than a few days for padding/adverts with VideoRedo, over the network then overwrite the original back on the HTPC - would it be possible to create the new timing info as an ADS and send back together?)
    It's not an overly complicated system - it's more - overly simple operatives

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,480
    Quote Originally Posted by Lao Pan View Post
    Does the ADS file follow it's parent over networks between computers with NTFS Drives?
    Normally yes if you use Windows tools to copy. The major issue is you never know when they aren't copied and if you don't like how it performs they are more difficult to remove.

    Would it be sensible?
    I decided against doing this natively in witeTime since the only value to a ADS is that it is hidden to explorer and you don't have to copy two files. The only program that uses it is NextPVR and NextPVR won't show them anyway, but normally other programs like MPC HD won't display them either because it is not a valid media type. If copying two files is the issue run writeTime on the HTPC

    how would you save the new timing.info to ADS?
    A batch file like this could do what you wanted

    Code:
    \path to\writeTime %1
    if not exist  "%~1.Timing.Info" goto nextstep
    more "%~1.Timing.Info" > "%~1:Timing.Info"
    del "%~1.Timing.Info"
    :nextstep
    Martin
    Last edited by mvallevand; 2012-03-14 at 12:20 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Severn Estuary (Mendip) UK
    Posts
    756
    Thanks for the answers Martin - I can see the advantages of being able to see the file now - just have to make sure its on the delete list in config.
    It's not an overly complicated system - it's more - overly simple operatives

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Severn Estuary (Mendip) UK
    Posts
    756
    Martin

    Been using version you posted yesterday, with your recursive script on individual folders successfully and just had a thought - if I set up a batch file on the Video Recordings directory and run it occasionally it should only generate the missing timing info, not redo all the ones that have been generated already. Is that correct?
    It's not an overly complicated system - it's more - overly simple operatives

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,480
    Quote Originally Posted by Lao Pan View Post
    Been using version you posted yesterday, with your recursive script on individual folders successfully and just had a thought - if I set up a batch file on the Video Recordings directory and run it occasionally it should only generate the missing timing info, not redo all the ones that have been generated already. Is that correct?
    That's right, by default it won't recreate an external Timing.Info if it has one, and it also won't copy the hidden ADS file. Since you probably want to break this especially if you have lots of files, you might want to consider something like

    Code:
    for /R %%i in (*.ts) do call :timing "%%i"
    goto :exit
    :timing
    @echo %1 > c:\temp\current.txt
    \Path To\writeTime "%1"
    :exit
    The current.txt file will show you the file that is being worked on if you abort. You probably will want to delete the Timing.Info Note that it is only %1 in the subroutine and that is not the same %1 has the original batch file.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •