Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: SubMenu: Support Thread

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ireland/UK
    Posts
    864
    Just upgraded to 2.3.6 and get the same. Default skin, horizontal, no menu additions and get an infinite number of errors:

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at NextPVR.ControllerForm.OnMouseMove(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnMouseMove(MouseEven tArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseMove(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Mes sage& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc(Mess age& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at NextPVR.ControllerForm.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.O nMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.W ndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4959 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    NextPVR
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NextPVR.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    NUtility
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    NShared
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NShared.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Data
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/System.Data/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Data.SQLite
    Assembly Version: 1.0.65.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.65.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/System.Data.SQLite.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Data.Entity
    Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.4926 built by: NetFXw7
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Data.Entity/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.Entity.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.4926 built by: NetFXw7
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    AudioAdjust
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SubMenu
    Assembly Version: 2.12.1.14
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Transactions
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/System.Transactions/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Transactions.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.EnterpriseServices
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/System.EnterpriseServices/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.EnterpriseServices.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Test1
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Test2
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Test3
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    AudioAdjust
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    WebRadio
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/NPVR/NUtility.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,084
    What do you mean by no menu additions? Can you paste in the SubMenu section ftom config.xml?

    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO USA
    Posts
    231
    I have a fresh install of npvr, and faster hardware components. I was able to convert the db file, but unable to use the old config.xml, scripts, and plugins folder. In regards to submenu is it recommended that I set up all other plugins and do submenu last?

    Greg

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,084
    No, it shouldn't really make any difference if it's done first or last.

    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO USA
    Posts
    231
    That's just the way if works I'm afraid. It'll clone the original menu the first time it's run, but after that you're on your own. I'd love to be able to give it a proper GUI config tool for doing it, but I don't have the time nor the knowledge of how to go about it.
    I just prefer to avoid manually editing the config.xml file as to why I asked question in prior post!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ireland/UK
    Posts
    864
    By no menu additions I mean I made no changes at all - it put everything I had in the original menu in the config file and I didn't yet make any changes (ie implement the things I want in sub menus). I assumed it should work with the single menu layer before i start to change anything. I'll try again and get the config.xml entry for submenu (I had to remove it all last night so the PVR was usable).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,084
    If you can get me the config file that'll help. Also check the following (after trying to activate it):

    Has it renamed these files:

    Code:
    C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Skin\Default\Menu\Horizontal.xml   ->   Horizontal.submenu
    C:\Users\Public\NPVR\Skin\Default\Menu\Vertical.xml     ->   Vertical.submenu
    The two original files must no longer exist - as far as NPVR is concerned - for it to allow another menu to be used. Also check that <MenuType>SubMenu</MenuType> been added (usually at the bottom) of Skin\Default\Global.xml.

    And Greg, I know you don't want to have to edit the config file, but I can't help that for now. Man up, don't be scared of it and make a backup first if you're worried

    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ireland/UK
    Posts
    864
    The .xml files hadn't been renamed and the entry wasn't in the global.xml file. I added it near the end:

    <Element name="ScreenButtonNormal" location="1.55,15.45" size="17,4.64" alpha="255">
    <RoundedRect location="2,2" size="96,96" fillColor="Normal_Button" borderColor="Accent1" radius="0.52" borderWidth="0.38"/>
    <Text text="@buttonText" location="2,2" size="96,96" font="DefaultSmall" align="Center" valign="Center"/>
    </Element>

    <MenuType>SubMenu</MenuType>

    </Skin>


    Assume that's OK? Config.xml zipped and attached. Of course now I cant deactivate it, so have to manually remove it from the config.xml and presumably undo the changes I just manually did above?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,084
    That looks ok. Something still isn't right if you can't deactivate it though - the code for enabling the deactivate button will be looking for all three elements being true: the existence of Horizontal.submenu, Vertical.submenu and the MenuType entry. If they all exist then it should be able to deactivate itself, which just means it renames those files from .submenu back to .xml and removes the MenuType bit. Enabling it is obviously just the reverse.

    Skin\Default\SubMenu should contain its own versions of Horizontal.xml and Vertical.xml - they just simply need to be there (and are never renamed). Plugins\SubMenu should have SubMenu.dll and SubMenu.pdb file.

    For a complete uninstall:
    Code:
    - remove the SubMenu folder from Plugins
    - remove the SubMenu folder from Skin\Default
    - ensure <MenuType>SubMenu</MenuType is not in Skin\Default\Global.xml
    - ensure Horizontal.xml and Vertical.xml are in Skin\Default\Menu
    - remove all traces of the <SubMenu> element from the Settings\PluginSettings section of config.xml
    If you still have no luck after that with a fresh install and activation, then I'll try to add more logging so we can track down what's going wrong. The original exception you posted doesn't help because it doesn't mention anything related to SubMenu at all, although it might mean something to sub himself if he happens to be reading.

    Iain
    NPVR Plugins: AudioAdjust | AutoRefresh | MediaInfo | MovieTrailers | ReClockOrNot | SubMenu | System | Videos+

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ireland/UK
    Posts
    864
    I cant deactivate as the GUI never appears. I get those .net errors with a black screen and cant do anything else. It never gets far enough to let me right click to get to the settings to press the deactivate button or to see any menu at all.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •