Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 87

Thread: SageTV Import Utility

  1. #51
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,732
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefstew83 View Post
    What formats does NPVR natively play? I haven't recorded anything yet. I have a bunch of SageTV and BeyondTV shows going back to the early 2000's (almost 2gb worth compressed as divx, etc). I need to figure a way for the wife to watch them if she desires from her laptop. It may be possible to convert them to a native NPVR format so they will all appear together (that may blow up their size though).
    Native format is mpeg.ts but from the Video Library you can pretty much play any format that Windows can play with the appropiate codecs Using the Import utiity into the Recordings database there is a limit on clients to only use .ts. I am not sure why sub block others formats from the client it would likely be able to configure the client to play everything but C:\ files.

    You must mean 2TB, 2GB isn't even an half an hour these days.

    Martin

  2. #52
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Friendswood, TX
    Posts
    13
    That is quite a shame. That will be a barrier to using NPVR. I would have to use a split system of SageTV for viewing (and recording clearQAM) and NPVR for recording CableCard. That would be a less desirable solution all around.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    56
    Martin,
    I posted this thread in the wishlist section and Had forgot about your utility.
    Would it be possible to modify this so it could be ran every hour or so to import updated information from sage into npvr? and vice versa?

    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...termediate-App

  4. #54
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    The client/server protocol is only designed to work with file types that NextPVR records, ie .ts files. If you're trying to watch other file types, like .mp4, .mkv, .mpg etc, then nextpvr wont be able to watch them. You'd need to watch them from the video library on a client PC.

    When it comes to these other file formats, nextpvr just leaves it up to directshow to use whatever decoders and splitters it wants. Those components are typically only designed to work with files on a filesystem though, so have no concept of using TCP/IP etc to stream it from a client machine.
    Sub is this still the case? This is actually the information I was requesting in the item list, I just didn't phrase it nearly as clear. Would it be possible to use FFMPEG to stream the non .ts files as .ts files for the clients?

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    404
    Just wanted to say thanks for creating this. I'm a former GBPVR user that went to SageTV because of the extender hardware and now I'm making my way back in the hopes of continuing to use my media mvps as well as adding XBMC frontends to tie into NPVR's backend for live tv.

    I have a TON of recordings and am finding that NPVR is having a hard time digesting them. I'm seeing a lot of 'not responding' for a while in the gui on my server. I haven't set up the tuners or added an EPG source (Schedules Direct) yet so hopefully that will fix whatever problems I'm seeing.
    AMD Athlon 4450e 2.3GHZ, 4GB RAM, Win7, 32bit, 1 TB of Data
    Hauppauge HVR-1600, HVR-2250, PVR-150, Silicondust HDHomeRun

  6. #56
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,732
    There are a couple of config.xml setting that will help since nextpvr check through you TON each startup changes these defaults to false.

    <AutoRemoveMissingRecordings>false</AutoRemoveMissingRecordings>
    <CheckForRenamedRecordings>false</CheckForRenamedRecordings>

    Martin

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    404
    Wow! That made a huge difference! Thanks so much!
    AMD Athlon 4450e 2.3GHZ, 4GB RAM, Win7, 32bit, 1 TB of Data
    Hauppauge HVR-1600, HVR-2250, PVR-150, Silicondust HDHomeRun

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    404
    I'm back for more. I'm almost ready for the transition. My question is is there a way for me to keep the settings I've set for NPVR (tuner and channel setup), but 'refresh' my database to include my latest sagetv recordings and favorite recordings? Can this be done or is it just easier to start from scratch when I officially make the switch?
    AMD Athlon 4450e 2.3GHZ, 4GB RAM, Win7, 32bit, 1 TB of Data
    Hauppauge HVR-1600, HVR-2250, PVR-150, Silicondust HDHomeRun

  9. #59
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,732
    If you copy your proper npvr.db3 into the SageImport folder and don't check Import Channels I think it will do what you want.

    Martin

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    404
    Thanks for the reply. So by copying the npvr.db3 file into SageImport directory before running the utility the utility will then append the information from SageTV to what already exists? Then after I move the new npvr.db3 back to its original location and all should be well?
    AMD Athlon 4450e 2.3GHZ, 4GB RAM, Win7, 32bit, 1 TB of Data
    Hauppauge HVR-1600, HVR-2250, PVR-150, Silicondust HDHomeRun

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •