Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Editing the bat file in notepad? Help

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,538
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    The first instruction in the wiki is wrong, it is not UAC friendly besides it is done by the bat file.

    (1.Create a folder for WinTV7 and SoftPVR in the Windows Program Files Directory (eg "C:\Program Files\WinTV\WinTV7\SoftPVR"). )

    Martin
    Hi Martin, (malc2 ignore all of this, it may just help to confuse you!)

    surely until the bat file is run the directory "softpvr" is not created within the npvr directory?

    I think it is brilliant that analogue support has been built into NextPVR but a shame that it can't be made easier for new users. I actually wrote a whole script that automatically downloaded WinTV and did all of this pretty much unseen, but as we know due to sub sailing close to the bone (mixed metaphor I know, but I liked it) with Hauppauge on this one that would not be an acceptable solution.

    hope you are well Martin

    steeb
    Last edited by steeb; 2011-07-22 at 10:35 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,823
    Quote Originally Posted by steeb View Post
    surely until the bat file is run the directory "softpvr" is not created within the npvr directory?
    I guess one of us is misreading Step 1 on the wiki.

    Martin

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,538
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    I guess one of us is misreading Step 1 on the wiki.

    Martin
    Probably me!

    Option 1) is you have a Hauppauge card and therefore access to latest WinTV?

    Option 2) that is what you say is step 1?

    steeb

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,823
    Well since I actually quoted the step that I thought was wrong in my first post I think you will find your answer.

    Martin

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,538
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Well since I actually quoted the step that I thought was wrong in my first post I think you will find your answer.

    Martin
    OK Martin. Thank you. Late in UK now so time for bed. I'll have to sleep on what is wrong with:

    The first instruction in the wiki is wrong, it is not UAC friendly besides it is done by the bat file.

    (1.Create a folder for WinTV7 and SoftPVR in the Windows Program Files Directory (eg "C:\Program Files\WinTV\WinTV7\SoftPVR"). )
    Because as I pointed out until the batch is run no directory "SoftPVR" exists?

    cheers

    steeb

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,823
    Sorry I did misread the batch file, I didn't realize that for some reason you guys are saying to install SoftPVR to NPVR's program directory and not in it's own folder. You are just asking for future trouble if NPVR is reinstalled. To be UAC friendly if you are creating a temporary landing folder for the download of the Win7 Installation and your batch file, you may not want to suggest using the Program Files folder.

    Martin

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sunninghill, UK
    Posts
    2,538
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Sorry I did misread the batch file, I didn't realize that for some reason you guys are saying to install SoftPVR to NPVR's program directory and not in it's own folder. You are just asking for future trouble if NPVR is reinstalled. To be UAC friendly if you are creating a temporary landing folder for the download of the Win7 Installation and your batch file, you may not want to suggest using the Program Files folder.

    Martin
    No worries Martin. At least we are on the same wavelength again

    I do remember at the time there was a reason given as to why it was created within the program files/nextpvr dir but I did not give that as my opinion. Anyway good discussion. It may be time to re-visit that again. Thank you

    [Edit] Also I wish my automatic download and install had seen the light of day, not being a dev I was very proud of it! [EndEdit]

    steeb

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,603
    Actually the other batch file (the one steeb linked that allows for minor changes to the wintv download name) assumes you have a c:\program files\wintv\wintv7\softpvr structure already existing. So it wouldn't work with the instructions in the wiki as written.

    Honestly I was going to point out that both of the batch files do all of this in a bad way. Hand-installing stuff into Program Files is poor form and not UAC-friendly.

    The whole thing ought to be done to something like C:\SoftPVR. But I worried that if I said that, then you'll expect me to go fix it all.
    NPVR Tech Support Sticky - - http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...612#post473612
    ---------------------------
    my config: NPVR 3.2.9/Win7Pro/Athlon II X3-440/radeon hd4550/hvr-2250/hvr-850/KWorld 315U/TimeWarner QAM & Analog, OTA ATSC/schedules direct

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    18
    Thank you for all the replies!

    I took Martin123's advise on editing the .bat file to the correct version and it seemed to work. It created 2 temp. folders in the SoftPVR folder although only "temp 1" folder has data in it which appears to be Wintv7, the other folder is empty. I must be missing
    something, when I run NPVR and go to settings/device, nothing is listed. Are there any other steps to follow.
    Thanks again,
    Malc

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,603
    after a successful run of the batch file, the temp1 and temp2 folders should be gone. you should have several .ax and .dll files in the main SoftPVR folder, and I suspect you don't. It sounds like you didn't modify the batch file correctly. The only change to the batch file is "3g" instead of "2d":
    Code:
    "%PROGRAMFILES%\NPVR\SoftPVR\wintv7_cd_2.3g.exe" /x %PROGRAMFILES%\NPVR\SoftPVR\temp1
    the version I posted above in post #5 has this change, and I just successfully ran it against the current wintv7 2.3g download.
    NPVR Tech Support Sticky - - http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...612#post473612
    ---------------------------
    my config: NPVR 3.2.9/Win7Pro/Athlon II X3-440/radeon hd4550/hvr-2250/hvr-850/KWorld 315U/TimeWarner QAM & Analog, OTA ATSC/schedules direct

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •