Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Lip sync

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand
    Posts
    113

    Lip sync

    Hi All

    have made the swap to Npvr, and is mostly working OK. The only major problem I have is major lip sync error in recorded shows. Live TV, or watching from the TV guide is fine. As soon as I start time shifting, or play back a recording , the timing goes out by seconds. I know decoders are blamed usually for this, but I started off with the same config as was working for GBPVR, and then when the problem arrived, jumped into Hoborgs SAF pack. Same result. Seems to effect all channels without discrimination (Freeview NZ)

    Are there any dumb settings in the decoders that could cause this??

    Cheers

    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    upload the log file that shows the playback of the recording and this will provide more information.

    As stu said, we need to know if this is DVB, sat, SD or HD.

    also run npvr in a window (ALT-ENTER) and bring up task manager to show cpu load.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand
    Posts
    113
    Hi

    Thanks for the replies, OS is Vista HP, CPU XP5000+, load max out while playback @ 30%.

    I presume I am using DVXA ?? Signal is terrestrial. Sound is through the Spdif out to an external amp.

    Decoders...

    Attachment 30417

    Have attached log showing play back of "America funiest home videos". Lip sync was out after about 5 seconds of playback.

    Let me know if I need to add anything else??

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    Subs usual advice is to set the audio decoder to default. perhaps try that and set default in windows control panel to SPDIF.

    otherwise you likely need advice from people receiving the same TV signal as yourself.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand
    Posts
    113
    I guess the main thing I am trying to figure out is why live TV stream from the tuner card works with the decoders as is, but the same stream ex the Hdd doesn't??

    I may be over simplifying it though as it is all rocket science to me

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    I think live tv uses the MS video AND audio decoders (on win7) which work very well together but this combo are not available to 3d party apps for playback (you cannot select MS audio decoder)

    Someone with more knowledge than I should probably confirm this though as it is late and I might be talking bollox.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    349
    ffdshow mpeg2 does not use DXVA. Both Cyberlink and Arcsoft do. How do recordings play in VLC?
    Server: NPVR 3.2.9, 32" panel, W7 Pro, m-ITX, i3-2120, 4G DRAM, DCR-2650, SD EPG, xbmc "plugin" for Movies/Hulu/ESPN/YouTube/IceFilms
    Client: NPVR 3.2.9, 23" panel, Acer Revo 1600, W7 Pro, MoCA networked

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    sorry, yes I mean set the audio RENDERER to default, not decoder.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    349
    Again, how do recordings play in VLC? If they play OK, this would eliminate CPU/DXVA issues and pin the problems on NPVR, or decoders, etc. VLC uses it's own internal filters, and does not use DXVA.
    Server: NPVR 3.2.9, 32" panel, W7 Pro, m-ITX, i3-2120, 4G DRAM, DCR-2650, SD EPG, xbmc "plugin" for Movies/Hulu/ESPN/YouTube/IceFilms
    Client: NPVR 3.2.9, 23" panel, Acer Revo 1600, W7 Pro, MoCA networked

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Palmerston North, New Zealand
    Posts
    113
    Ok, wife has taken kids and dog for walk so can play...

    VLC plays files fine, no lip sync issues. By disabling audio codecs, found that I need the HE-AAC decoder in NZ. As far as I know monogram is the only option I have.

    Next I picked a recording from TV3, which also has a AC3 audio stream. Couldn't select the AC3 with right click menu without Npvr crashing. Managed to get the AC3 audio working by only have that codec enabled, no lip sync problem with same recording.

    So, is it monogram?? have used this forever without any issue...

    As an aside, should I be able to select the audio stream on TV3 to be AC3 by default??, and I guess Npvr shouldn't crash.

    Let me know if any provocation to the system is required and relevant logs..

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •