Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: nDroid v1.0 support thread

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,493
    @bgowland, I was able to save at the beginning, but I did have to turn my tablet, the save button was hidden in the short view. But after it is saved, I got the error and then on every launch. Reinstalling didn't help, and I had to uninstall from the Android Settings before I got the configuration dialog back.

    Martin

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,445
    Quote Originally Posted by agerdin View Post
    the latest version of nDroid now starts and allows me to put in the configurations (ip, port, user, pass). However, moving to the next step the app craches as before. Android log is attached.
    A couple of questions...

    Are you using wi-fi or mobile internet connection?

    What did you enter for ip and port numbers?

    It seems that it was unable to find the npvr machine.
    Code:
    W/System.err(28953): java.net.UnknownHostException: Host is unresolved: http:80
    If you can, I'd recommend initial tests with a local wi-fi numeric IP address (I haven't tested with a DNS name). I have tested over mobile internet but again with a numeric address as my ADSL IP address is static.

    Also, obviously firewall settings might cause problems so you'll need to open up whatever port number if you haven't already.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,445
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    @bgowland, I was able to save at the beginning, but I did have to turn my tablet, the save button was hidden in the short view. But after it is saved, I got the error and then on every launch. Reinstalling didn't help, and I had to uninstall from the Android Settings before I got the configuration dialog back.

    Martin
    OK, I hadn't looked at the network settings activity in landscape mode but I can see what you mean about the Save button being lost off the bottom of the screen. I'll create a landscape layout to fix this.

    If you can get past the settings activity, you should see nDroid logcat output for what happens next - it might help me identify your problem. Have a look at the reply I posted to agerdin and my concerns about using a DNS name rather than numeric IP address in case that's an issue.

    I'm going to put in a 'passive' startup Activity with an option to do a 'clean' start (i.e., delete anything which seems to have got 'stuck' and would otherwise need an uninstall/re-install). There are too many things which require exact conditions at 'first run' at the moment.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    678
    Quote Originally Posted by bgowland View Post
    A couple of questions...

    Are you using wi-fi or mobile internet connection?

    What did you enter for ip and port numbers?

    It seems that it was unable to find the npvr machine.
    Code:
    W/System.err(28953): java.net.UnknownHostException: Host is unresolved: http:80
    If you can, I'd recommend initial tests with a local wi-fi numeric IP address (I haven't tested with a DNS name). I have tested over mobile internet but again with a numeric address as my ADSL IP address is static.

    Also, obviously firewall settings might cause problems so you'll need to open up whatever port number if you haven't already.

    Cheers,
    Brian
    Ok, you were ritght, the first test was over 3g as well as using a dyndns name. I was also using the same port as my NEWA (8866) but I am strating to think that nDroid should have its on port?

    New test is done on my local network over wlan using the local IP (192.168.0.100). Port 8790 is opened for nDroid in the Router. Unfortunately I am getting the same error.

    Do I need any setting in my Windows firewall?

    Anyhow, new Android log attached.

    \\Agerdin

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Australia - Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    242
    I was also using the same port as my NEWA (8866) but I am strating to think that nDroid should have its on port?
    Yes, this was one of the mistakes I made. You need the NEWA username and password, but a different port number. Leaving everything as the default worked for me
    NPVR 2.6.2;Windows 7 Enterprise SP1;i5 750; 8GB mem;Geforce 210;Winfast DTV100 S, Winfast DTV Dongle Gold; 2 x Winfast DTV2000DS

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,445
    Quote Originally Posted by agerdin View Post
    ...nDroid should have its on port?
    Yes, as Nistrod points out, it's only the username/password which must match NEWA. The nDroidService component is acting as a proxy and communicates with the NEWA web services using localhost : port.

    Unfortunately I am getting the same error.
    Well, I can't see the exact same error in the logcat data this time - Android is incredibly unimaginative when it comes to reporting unexpected errors and the message generally looks the same for everything. Unfortunately this is a 'null pointer' exception which isn't giving a specific area of my code so I'm not 100% sure what is happening.

    Do I need any setting in my Windows firewall?
    Yes, Windows firewall (or any resident software firewall) will need to allow port 8790 traffic (or whichever one is set for the nDroid client -> nDroidService comms).

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,445
    Quote Originally Posted by Nistrod View Post
    The first is deliberate as there is actually another line of text below the name of the show.
    OK, but if this is blank, can we line them up?
    I intend to have a single-line listview item if the user only wants to view the show title. If they want show title and description for example, all listview items will have the two-line look even if the description is blank. Mixing single-line and two-line view items is tricky and not something I intend to look at for a while.

    Yes. I suppose that irrespective of how many you fit on a page, someone, somewhere will have just one too many channels. It looks like its me at the moment.
    Ah, I can see it would be frustrating for just 1 or 2 channels - I think I have 50-60 channels loading at the moment so accept the fact it needs to scroll a lot. I intend to add a 'favourites' view at some point so that a user can select a subset of channels to show in the selector dialog. This should help.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,493
    I will have to cut some personal info from the logs but at least one problem might be a 2.2 call

    Code:
    I/dalvikvm( 1518): Could not find method
    uk.co.beetec.android.nDroid.NDroid.getExternalFilesDir, referenced from
    method uk.co.beetec.android.nDroid.NDroid.onCreate
    Martin

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,445
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    I will have to cut some personal info from the logs but at least one problem might be a 2.2 call
    You should be able to filter logcat data - all of my logging is 'D' (debug level) and uses a TAG which includes the uk.co.beetec.android.nDroid package name. I hadn't thought about the universal content of logcat - I'll edit in a warning to the logcat post I added here.

    Code:
    I/dalvikvm( 1518): Could not find method
    uk.co.beetec.android.nDroid.NDroid.getExternalFilesDir, referenced from
    method uk.co.beetec.android.nDroid.NDroid.onCreate
    I'm hoping this should be OK - in fact it's one of the very first lines of the Application class itself and is only called if the version is >= 2.2. I realised it was a 2.2 method in the early hours of this morning (my time) and temporarily pulled the nDroid.zip until I'd put the version checking in.

    It is something I'm looking at though and I'm adding extra logging to confirm it isn't causing problems.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,493
    Attached are the logs for a crash.

    Related to the install do I have to root my tablet for this? I see a lot of errors about /data/data

    W/System.err( 1518): java.io.FileNotFoundException: /data/data/uk.co.beetec=
    .android.nDroid/files/temp/SevenDay.zip

    and I know I need root to get there. Most apps write to my sdcard which is /sdcard

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •