Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Freeview UK EPG

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    85

    Freeview UK EPG

    Is it just me, or have we stopped picking up the details for Film4, ITV4 and a few others. I'm on the Sandy Heath transmitter.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Southern England
    Posts
    649
    'cos you mention your transmitter, I assume you are just using the now and next broadcast EPG data? If so why not switch to XMLTV guide data? The free XMLTVGui from Birtles gives you 14-days EPG from the Radio Times, and you can set GBPVR to auto run it and update it's guide at any time of day you choose;
    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?t=15269
    Having a proper 14-day guide cannot be beaten when it comes to planning your viewing / recordings!
    Lounge Gigabyte 780g-Nvidia GTX560ti-AMD PhenomII 960T-Crucial C300 SSD 64gb-Samsung F1 500gb-2x Samsung F1 1tb-NovaT USB-Nova HDS2-XP Pro/W7 (dual-boot).
    Gigabit networked to:
    Gigabyte 740g-Nvidia 8800GTS-AMD X2 6000-Samsung F1 1tb-Seagate 320gb-Samsung F3 1tb-NovaT PCI-TBS 6981-XP Pro/W7 (dual-boot)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,259
    I've just checked mine (Belmont TX) and film4 & ITV4 are there in all their glory.

    p.s. to Pob - you get a full weeks EPG from freeview - it is just DVB-S that gives now and next.
    p.p.s anyone notice Eurosport from Radio Times has titles but no descriptions for any of its slots.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,102
    Or if you want to find out if the problem is the transmitter or something in your setup, give DVBGuide a go - it'll still get the listings over the air, but save them in xmltv format that can then be imported into GBPVR.

    For the record, I use the broadcast data, and it's all there. Different area of the country though.

    Iain

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by imilne View Post
    give DVBGuide a go
    Dear Iain
    yes its all there. NPVR works OK. I ran DVBGuide and at first it failed with "unable to create SDT". I then ran it with the csv option and it produced an SDT and the XML of the programs. So...are you a DVBguide expert? It appears that some of the channels are not in the list even though the programs are (i.e Film4). Please find attached zip of XML and sdt.csv. Any advice gratefully received.
    Alan

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,102
    Hmm, that does look weird. I'm no expert in it unfortunately, but I'll check the commands I use when I get home and let you know. I think it's something like "dvbguide.exe -c 850000" where the number is one of the frequencies of a mux from your transmitter. I guess you could try some different frequencies.

    It's hard to believe the problem could be with the transmission, but I spose it is the UK after all

    Do you have access to a normal set-top box to see what it's doing?

    Iain

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Southern England
    Posts
    649
    Quote Originally Posted by martint123 View Post
    p.s. to Pob - you get a full weeks EPG from freeview - it is just DVB-S that gives now and next.
    Oops - you're right I was confusing DVB-T and DVB-S. I know when I first started using GBPVR I did use the over-air EPG, but soon after added a sat card so needed a more complete guide. I seem to remember it took quite a while to update the EPG via DVB-T...
    Lounge Gigabyte 780g-Nvidia GTX560ti-AMD PhenomII 960T-Crucial C300 SSD 64gb-Samsung F1 500gb-2x Samsung F1 1tb-NovaT USB-Nova HDS2-XP Pro/W7 (dual-boot).
    Gigabit networked to:
    Gigabyte 740g-Nvidia 8800GTS-AMD X2 6000-Samsung F1 1tb-Seagate 320gb-Samsung F3 1tb-NovaT PCI-TBS 6981-XP Pro/W7 (dual-boot)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Scotland, UK
    Posts
    2,102
    DVBGuide can decode the full week's EPG from the sat. One of the transponders pumps it out on a 30 sec loop too, so it's very fast compared to DVB-T which takes 5 or 6 minutes.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    85
    The problem has gone away after I increased the scanning time and set scanning to run on two more couplers. Might just be coincidence. DVBguide still fails in the same way.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •