Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can't get EWA to work

  1. #1

    Can't get EWA to work

    Hi. I'm trying to get EWA to work on my new Windows 7 machine, and I'm getting nowhere. After following the wiki installation instructions more than once, I can't even access EWA on my host machine. IE says "the remote device or resource won't accept the connection." I'm not really sure where to look to solve the problem. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    I spoke too soon. I'm not sure what I did, but suddenly it works on my host machine. I still, however, cannot access EWA from my other network computers, even with my host machine's firewall disabled. Any ideas on how to proceed? Thanks

  3. #3
    O.K. I think I got it. I was able to access EWA from other machines on my network using my outside (comcast) ip address. I guess after you struggle with something for a couple of hours it's destined to work a few minutes after you post to the forums. In the words of the immortal Gilda, "never mind. . ."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NA
    Posts
    33
    Now that ya got it running, keep an eye out for any further issues, like 24, 36, 48 hrs later.
    On mine every once in a while I have to reset my router, i.e., eventually nothing works but localhost.
    My router's a piece of crap in that regard. After runnin in to that problem a simple google search
    for that issue including the router make/model revealed a bunch of others with the same problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,182
    Quote Originally Posted by bertros View Post
    O.K. I think I got it. I was able to access EWA from other machines on my network using my outside (comcast) ip address. I guess after you struggle with something for a couple of hours it's destined to work a few minutes after you post to the forums. In the words of the immortal Gilda, "never mind. . ."
    You should be able to get to it without going outside and then back inside. When trying to access EWA from a machine internally are you using the computer name or the IP of you host machine?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1

    Can't even get it to run on localhost

    I activated the web server (GB-PVR 1.4.7, build 83 for the web service) and can't get the server to run at all on my Windows 7 system.

    Am I missing something? What's the reference to "interact with desktop"? Is this a GB-PVR setting somewhere, and will it work in Windows 7?

    Thanks,
    kwc

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,025
    You have to go to Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Services->GB-PVR Recording Service then go to the Log On tab and there's a check box to enable it.

    Martin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    5,182
    After following Martin's instructions....let me know if this is still an issue or if it is now resolved.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA. USA
    Posts
    373
    That sure helped me out just now, thank you very much. I just got my gbpvr switched over from a win2k box to a new win7 box and "interact with desktop" was the answer for me.
    I was going nuts!
    THANK YOU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •