Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Can't play recordings - followed the dummies guide

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    73

    Can't play recordings - followed the dummies guide

    I'm getting the "request cannot be processed" error when I use the GB-PVR via Network Browser" option. If I use the first option of "GB-PVR" the GB-PVR menu displays. I'm using the default skin, but it displays in the top left corner of the screen with the left margin cut out. But it works to the point that I can play recordings or watch live tv, but anything I play stops and turns black after about 5-10 seconds. I can then press return, choose something else to play, with the same result.

    I read the sticky about "request cannot be processed", and some other threads that deal with similar symptoms. But I haven't been able to solve the problem. I used mvpmcx2 following the dummies guide.

    Some history: I'm running windows 7, 64 bit, with SD HDhomerun tuners. PCH A-100 can play GB-PVR recordings through a smb share of the c:\Temp dir. I've run NMTInstall.exe several times, with different results each time. Initially, using the default skin, I was able to play and record normally, and I had access through the Network Browser option. The only problem was the menu display I mentioned above. So I ran NMTInstall.exe again and chose the the mayhem3 skin. This resulted in VERY slow response times, almost unreadable menus, and nothing would play. So I ran NMTInstall.exe again choosing the default skin, and response was fast, but still no playback, putting me in the current situation I described above.

    So I'm stuck. The guide says to run from Network browser. Does it matter? Is the first choice of GB-PVR viable, or is it mandatory to choose via Network Browser?

    I'm posting logs with this, hoping that will help. The first attempt is with the windows 7 firewall on. Playing the recording resulted in an immediate black screen. The second is with firewall turned off. Playing the recording resulted in a black screen after about 10 seconds.

    I appreciate any direction you can give me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,528
    Post the output from the syntax utility http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?t=44302

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks for the quick response! Here's the output from the NMT Syntax Checker:

    Checking for mvpmc share on CAROLJI-PC
    mvpmc C:\mvpmc

    Checking GB-PVR.html links
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/NETWORK_SHARE/CAROLJI-PC:mvpmc/gbpvr.cgi">GB-PVR</a>
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/NETWORK_SHARE/NETWORK_BROWSER/browser.cgi">GB-PVR via Network Browser</a>
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/USB_DRIVE_A-1/mvpmc/usb_a.cgi">GB-PVR via USB</a>

    MAC

    GB-PVR Installed C:\Program Files (x86)\Devnz\GBPVR\

    Checking NMT Version

    Checking NMT Display

    Calling NMT Source

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,528
    You are going to need to input the IP of your NMT and try that again.

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    73
    By IP address:

    Checking for mvpmc share on CAROLJI-PC
    mvpmc C:\mvpmc

    Checking GB-PVR.html links
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/NETWORK_SHARE/CAROLJI-PC:mvpmc/gbpvr.cgi">GB-PVR</a>
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/NETWORK_SHARE/NETWORK_BROWSER/browser.cgi">GB-PVR via Network Browser</a>
    <a href="http://localhost.drives:8883/USB_DRIVE_A-1/mvpmc/usb_a.cgi">GB-PVR via USB</a>

    NMT IP Address: 192.168.0.201 MAC 0006DC43A727

    GB-PVR Installed C:\Program Files (x86)\Devnz\GBPVR\
    config.xml entry found Client Type PCH2

    Checking NMT Version
    01-17-091202-15-POP-402-000

    Checking NMT Display
    720p 60Hz

    Calling NMT Source
    Temp
    smb://CAROLJI-PC/Temp Username: Password Length: 0

    CAROLJI-PC:mvpmc
    smb://CAROLJI-PC/mvpmc Username: Password Length: 0

    templp
    smb://192.168.0.202/Temp Username: Password Length: 0

    DELL6000ownloads
    smb://DELL6000/Downloads Username: Password Length: 0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,528
    Ok, that's better. Your biggest problem is NMT is setup as 720p but your MAC address is setup for just 640x480. You are going to need to change that config.xml to show 1280x720 for MAC-0006DC43A727

    Also

    - You should not run with a default skin choose the NMT skin in config.exe I recommend starting with Blue before trying others

    - If you want to run Mayhem3 it does need a patch http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...8&postcount=76

    - It does not look like you are running the current mvpmcx2 update in the first section of NMTInstall

    Network Browser will not work after the first option is selected, it needs a full power off. It is not the recommended method anyway so I wouldn't worry.

    You might still have problems after this, if so please upload all your logs.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    ...
    - It does not look like you are running the current mvpmcx2 update in the first section of NMTInstall
    Please explain. Do I need to download another version of NMTInstall, or select other options in the first section? I've been selecting the first option only: Install mvpmcx2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    73
    I chose the blue skin and edited config.xml to the 1280x720. Then I ran NMTInstall again, checking Install mvpmcx2 and Install GB-PVR Updates in the first section. No skins or plugins selected, and all boxes selected under PCH Setup.

    The result: Now the first option "GB-PVR" gets the "request cannot be processed" error, but the "GB-PVR via Network Browser" option brings up GBPVR menu. The menu displays properly. Progress!

    But playing a recording or live tv gets a black screen. If I turn off the firewall, a recording will play for about 10 seconds before the black screen appears. Eventually it will return to the recorded selection screen.

    I am attaching all my logs, as you requested. I very much appreciate your help, Martin.

    Esteban

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,528
    Good, I am glad we can got the display problem out of the way. You do eventually want to use option 1 though after a power up.

    You have to configure your firewall to allow the GBPVR Recording Service to permit TCP traffic and PVRx2 for TCP/UDP without turning off the firewall. If you are running multiple firewalls you will need to configure them all.

    Also what are the time and dates of mvmcx2 and mvpmcx2m.7z in your mvpmc folder?

    Martin
    Last edited by mvallevand; 2010-01-14 at 09:23 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    73
    mvpmcx2 ‎Wednesday, ‎October ‎07, ‎2009, ‏‎8:25:03 PM
    mvpmcx2m.7z ‎Sunday, ‎January ‎10, ‎2010, ‏‎12:05:13 PM

    I am not running multiple firewalls. The router has a hardware firewall enabled. I do run AVG anti-virus/anti-spyware.

    Windows 7 firewall inbound rules are shown in screenshot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •