Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Showing Weather on Menu Page

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    816

    Showing Weather on Menu Page

    I'm gonna seperate the discussion from http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...&postcount=191 and bring it over here.

    Quote Originally Posted by scb147 View Post
    I've never looked at the slick skin, but I believe it shows an image of the plugin, correct?

    If this uses the getTaskImage() method, is it possible to have this update the icon in the slick menu? I could put that on the to-do list...
    Actually it doesn't show an image; I assume I'd have to modify the skin somehow. This is what slick looks like:


    My goal would be to somehow make it look something like this:

    or


    I assume this means I have to modify the skin as well as somehow pull the data from the plugin... opinions/ideas?
    Dan Blomberg
    HTPC 1: MSI K8NGM2-FID, AMD 64 3000+, WD 200gb HDD, 1gb ram, NSK2400, PVR-500, Harmony 659
    HTPC 2: ASUS M2NPV-VM, AMD 64 3200+, WD 250gb HDD, 1gb ram, nVidia DualTV MCE, NSK2400, Harmony 720
    HTPC 3: GIGABYTE GA-E7AUM-DS2H GeForce 9400, Intel E5200 Wolfdale, WD 640gb HDD, 4gb ram, Antec Fusion 2, HVR-1600, hdhomerun, Harmony 880, PCH A-110
    GBPVR 1.4.7 Additions: Weather2, UltraXMLTV, Comskip
    Project: Setup Logitech Harmony Remote

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,826
    I added an interface in psycik's interface.dll that will allow any to get the current temperature, and an icon from Yahoo weather that I was hoping ACTCMS would build into MLPanel. You can't do much on the main screen hover because sub owns that.

    Martin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY, USA
    Posts
    7,703
    You could modify the CurrentTime placement in the skin to something like:

    Code:
    		<CompositeImage name="CurrentTime" size="49,5">
    			<DrawRoundedRect loc="0.5,0.5" size="99,98" fillColor="Black" borderColor="Transparent" radius="2" borderWidth="0"/>
    			<DrawImage filename="..\weather2\current.png" loc="0,0" size="25,100" fixedAspectRatio="true" align="left"/>
    			<DrawText text="@currentTime" loc="25,0" size="75,100" textStyle="GeneralTextStyle" align="Center" valign="Center"/>
    		</CompositeImage>
    And then just save the image to the same place each time (..\weather2\current.png in the example) Not sure how you would add the temp though. I also don't know how often sub reloads the images in the placements.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    816
    We used to be able to get stuff on that main screen via plugin panels I think... I take it that died when pvrx2 came into existence.

    Whurlston: very interesting idea. Could i just modify the skin you think to include some of my own text?
    Last edited by -Oz-; 2010-01-11 at 12:54 AM.
    Dan Blomberg
    HTPC 1: MSI K8NGM2-FID, AMD 64 3000+, WD 200gb HDD, 1gb ram, NSK2400, PVR-500, Harmony 659
    HTPC 2: ASUS M2NPV-VM, AMD 64 3200+, WD 250gb HDD, 1gb ram, nVidia DualTV MCE, NSK2400, Harmony 720
    HTPC 3: GIGABYTE GA-E7AUM-DS2H GeForce 9400, Intel E5200 Wolfdale, WD 640gb HDD, 4gb ram, Antec Fusion 2, HVR-1600, hdhomerun, Harmony 880, PCH A-110
    GBPVR 1.4.7 Additions: Weather2, UltraXMLTV, Comskip
    Project: Setup Logitech Harmony Remote

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,972
    1.2.9 added the ability for plugins to display panels, by implementing the IUiPanel interface, and a minor alteration to the menu skin.xml file.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,826
    Can a simple plugin instantiate itself without having a menu item?

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    809
    I think this would be a neat thing to have, but I have bigger issues with the MVP/NMT's right now that I need to focus on.

    So this would have to wait...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •