Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Nova S plus can't find channels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    35

    Nova S plus can't find channels

    I have set my source up as a Nova S plus. Using Optus D1 (NZFTA), LNB 11300, switch 0 but this doesn't get the either the DVB EPG or any channels when it scans.

    This is the right card and it works fine with Vista media centre on the same computer so no problems with card or signal and settings seem to be what people are using for Freeview on DVB-S for NZ.

    What might I be doing wrong??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,417
    Have you tried setting all three LNB values to 11300? Thats what I use.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    35
    Thanks for that. Made no difference. Looking at the log the Nova seems to be disconnecting at some point. Since I know the card works fine in Media Centre - scans finds all stations etc and I am confident that I am setting GBPVR up correctly I'm thinking this is a systems issue. I downloaded Sage pvr and got exactly the same issue. Scanning couldn't find any channels. I've had the Vista set-up running for afew years and hacked it around a fair bit so I think the next step will be a reinstall of windows.

    Couple of questions - does GBPVR work on the new Windows 7 beta?
    Am I meant to disable Windows Media Centre in any way to run GBPVR ( is it failing to release the card to GBPVR?)

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,417
    Thanks for that. Made no difference. Looking at the log the Nova seems to be disconnecting at some point. Since I know the card works fine in Media Centre - scans finds all stations etc and I am confident that I am setting GBPVR up correctly I'm thinking this is a systems issue. I downloaded Sage pvr and got exactly the same issue. Scanning couldn't find any channels. I've had the Vista set-up running for afew years and hacked it around a fair bit so I think the next step will be a reinstall of windows.
    Reproduce the problem, then post the config.exe.log and config.exe-native.log and I'll take a look.

    Couple of questions - does GBPVR work on the new Windows 7 beta?
    I dont know. I've never tested it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    35
    Thanks. Uninstalled - reinstalled and replicated error. Logs attached

    WarwickAttachment 22035
    Last edited by Warwick; 2009-03-27 at 12:18 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,417
    2009-03-27 13:01:41.892 ERROR Failed to start BDA Graph
    2009-03-27 13:01:41.893 VERBOSE ERROR_DEVICE_NOT_CONNECTED
    It never managed to start the device. You can get this if some other software is using the device.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    35
    Yes. That was why I was wondering if I needed to disable Media Centre. I did try to stop MC services but this didn't seem to help and I thought that if Media Centre needed to be disabled to let GBPVR grab the card this would have been pointed out in the instructions given the widespread use of Vista and MC.

    I'll have a think about what other programmes could possibly be holding the Nova

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,417
    I've never really used Vista Media Center, so I dont know, and cant give you any specific instructions.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    us
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by Warwick View Post
    Yes. That was why I was wondering if I needed to disable Media Centre. I did try to stop MC services but this didn't seem to help and I thought that if Media Centre needed to be disabled to let GBPVR grab the card this would have been pointed out in the instructions given the widespread use of Vista and MC.

    I'll have a think about what other programmes could possibly be holding the Nova
    I've been running GBPVR on a Media Center 2005 machine for several years. I have never used it to record shows, but I do use the guide data it pulls down. I haven't encountered any conflicts and didn't disable any MCE services. It's fully functional, but the setup is very basic. I suspect I would have problems if MCE was trying to record scheduled programs.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    35
    Just in case anyone else needs the answer it turns out that you need to disable media centre receiver in the services to get it to release the card as a source for set-up. If you just stop the service it automatically restarts it. Took a while to figure that out but once I disabled the service the source was able to scan and I'm all good.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •