Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Netflix Watch Now Plugin use Keyboard or Hauppauge Remote

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875

    Netflix Watch Now Plugin use Keyboard or Hauppauge Remote

    I stumbled across this on SageTV Website. http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38969

    I tried it out for my Hauppauge 45 button Remote that runs my HVR-1600.

    Scroll down on the first post until you read about "Using keyboard to control Netflix Control without EventGhost:"

    EDIT: I used netflix_control_v2_test3.zip on page 3, post 44 of the link above (v0.9 on the first post would not take advantage of skip for programs with multiple episodes), modified my IRRemote.ini file in the two places it said, and added Netflix_Control.exe to startup folder to start on boot. Whala!

    Also be aware to fast forward or rewind, you need to hold down the FF or RW buttons on the remote, it has a slight time delay for it to work.

    EDIT: I also changed the Windowfocus in the settings.ini file located with the netflixcontrol files directory from SageTV to PVRX2.

    Thanks for a great plugin Whurlston!
    Last edited by Snooze; 2009-03-24 at 10:46 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    16

    Thumbs up Works Great good find!

    Snooze,

    This is a great find!!

    I just got the netflix plugin installed and working last week (thanks Whurlston for a great plugin!).

    I thought I was stuck using a wireless mouse to control the netflix silverlight player but now I can use my remote.

    I'm using a harmony 688 remote but for the PVR it emulates the hauppauge remote so after a little trial and error I got it to work.

    thanks,
    Tom
    Athlon 3000, MSI K7N2 Delta2, 1GB Ram, 2x PVR150, 1x HVR1600, GeForce6800, WinXP Home, Logitech Harmony 688 Remote

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Yeah... works great hey! I use the Harmony 880, can never be without it again! Only thing I dont like during Netflix is having to pause to use a little more control. Other than that, this plugin is my right arm, tip the hat to Whurlston!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    16

    netflix control shifted video problem and fix

    Not sure what I had done but the netflix control started messing up on me. It was shifting the video on my tv down and to the right a few inches plus the remote control stopped working to control the silverlight player except for stop which closed the IE window.

    After some messing around I noticed it was doing this whether I launched from the netflix plugin in gbpvr or straight from IE.

    I had changed IE on my PVR to fullscreen mode when I was browsing the netflix www site. I'm not running HD and I'm outputting still to a normal 4:3 TV. I think the netflix silverlightcontrol was getting confused when it tried to fullscreen and then black out the borders etc.

    Simple solution I changed IE back to a non-fullscreen window and the silver light control worked correctly again including the remote control. NOTE: I found if I made the IE window too small the silverlightcontrol did not work either it would not go fullscreen and the remote did not work.

    So I'm back to being happy I can pick a netflix movie in GBPVR and the it works well.

    It is a bit quirky but does work
    Athlon 3000, MSI K7N2 Delta2, 1GB Ram, 2x PVR150, 1x HVR1600, GeForce6800, WinXP Home, Logitech Harmony 688 Remote

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Is this still working for everyone? It does for me the first time, until I exit and try to restart another show.
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
    NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
    Plugins: Weather
    External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
    Utilities:Comskip

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    I have changed my ways of running Netflix with sliverlight with the Hauppauge remote and keyboard, and it works with Whurlston's Netflix Watch Now plugin as well. You can get rid of this netflix control now, it is mouse button driven and has become unreliable. But you will have to switch to fullscreen manually for now. If netflix control still works for you, keep it because you will loose the fullscreen auto switching with this other post. Maybe Whurlston can add a auto or keyboard command for F7 to snap it to full screen? See here how to config your irremote.ini here http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...959#post351959
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
    NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
    Plugins: Weather
    External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
    Utilities:Comskip

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    yes i used it as well ..its working..thanx snooze

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Upper Peninsula Michigan, USA
    Posts
    875
    Quote Originally Posted by Ricardo3 View Post
    yes i used it as well ..its working..thanx snooze
    This is a old post and I further altered the irremote.ini file. The reason for the change is it was not allowing the "Default" part of the remote to work. There is another way you can do it and still run netflix with your remote. If you compare the two files you will get the hang of what is changed... the other way to do it without killing the default section is here http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...&postcount=117

    Note if something is above default, it becomes the default.
    Last edited by Snooze; 2010-02-18 at 10:32 AM.
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R, Win8, Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz, 6 GB (2GBx2, 1GBx2) DDR2 800, GIGABYTE GV-N220OC-1GI Video, CM Real Power Pro 550 Watt PS, HVR-2250 & HVR-1600 analog/Clear QAM, Realtek S/PDIF, Harmony 880 in MCE remote mode w/ Gestion LM Remote Keymap.
    NPVR 2.5.9 (SAF6) Cyberlink video & LAV/ffdshow Audio Filters. Skin=Default Horizontal
    Plugins: Weather
    External Apps: XBMC, Hulu, Boxee, Winamp
    Utilities:Comskip

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •