Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 117

Thread: [BETA] CommunitySkin4 (pre-release) available - Post bug reports here please

  1. #91
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,973
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobins View Post
    As far as I'm aware the MVP output is in 16:9 format. I've also checked that's what's set in the config.xml.
    Don't confuse aspect ratio with HD, the MVP hardware can only really do 640x480/576 the rest is zoomed by the TV.

    The 16:9 setting is how video will be displayed, I'm not sure the config.xml setting does anything, and how it is implemented varies by dongle.

    Martin

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Quote Originally Posted by dshoup View Post
    Thanks for the info...I'll play with it a bit. For clarification, how is Xrecord different from the other plugins (you mention scaling...do other plugins not need to do that)? Would there be a way to make it work the same as other plugins like the original "Recordings" skin (it has razor sharp fonts)?

    Thanks for getting this working for the new skin. Even with the jagged fonts, it's nice to have it available!
    All of sub's default "plugins" and everything written for PVRX2.exe uses a different rendering engine than the legacy GBPVR.exe. Those two methods are done internally, and are not compatible.

    That being said, there hasn't been nearly as many, if any, "jaggy" complaints about other legacy plugins like MusicLibrary2 (HD).

    The Xrecord suite of plugins are some of the oldest ones, and there are many aspects of the XRecord suite that were hard coded that made HD up-coversion impossible until Fla (who is not the original developers) made some modifications in the plugins.

    I suspect there maybe something within the plugin code itself that causes these rendering issues. That is uneducated speculation on my part since I know nothing about plugin coding, so don't take that as anything but a layman's excuse for saying "I don't know."
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Don't confuse aspect ratio with HD, the MVP hardware can only really do 640x480/576 the rest is zoomed by the TV.

    The 16:9 setting is how video will be displayed, I'm not sure the config.xml setting does anything, and how it is implemented varies by dongle.

    Martin
    Exactly, as well as the HD xml's are designed to take advantage of a 16:9 ratio, and if the display fields are actually in a 4:3 ratio, you may see some text clipping.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winsford, UK
    Posts
    336
    Changing the settings in the config.xml for the MVP (16:9 true/false) does seem to influence the display. Also adjusting the width/height and offset values I can get the display to fill a widescreen TV.

    Whilst dimensions do look about right, the text zoom in the selected box on the main menu extends beyond the green box for some of the items (e.g. TV Recordings).

    Do you think I'd be better loading the SD skin for use on the MVP?
    New NPVR build :-
    NPVR Version= 3.2.9 + current patches
    Intel i7 Quad Core 3200 + 6GB DDR2 Gigabyte Motherboard
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    BlackGold dual DVB T & S tuner
    60Gb SSD System Disk (Raid 1)
    60Gb SSD Recording Cache
    4Tb Media Store (WD Red 4Tb x 2 Raid 1)
    ---------------------------------------
    Retired
    GBPVR Version= 1.3.11
    Q6600 Intel Quad + 2GB DDR2 ASUS Motherboard
    Vista Ultimate
    Pinnacle 7010ix Dual-SAT + Dual DVB-T tuner
    1.5Tb (RAID 5) storage
    3 x Hauppauge MVPs

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Give it a shot, I can not say for certain, as it is speculation.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    230
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatman_do View Post
    All of sub's default "plugins" and everything written for PVRX2.exe uses a different rendering engine than the legacy GBPVR.exe. Those two methods are done internally, and are not compatible.

    That being said, there hasn't been nearly as many, if any, "jaggy" complaints about other legacy plugins like MusicLibrary2 (HD).

    The Xrecord suite of plugins are some of the oldest ones, and there are many aspects of the XRecord suite that were hard coded that made HD up-coversion impossible until Fla (who is not the original developers) made some modifications in the plugins.

    I suspect there maybe something within the plugin code itself that causes these rendering issues. That is uneducated speculation on my part since I know nothing about plugin coding, so don't take that as anything but a layman's excuse for saying "I don't know."
    Thanks for the clarification...and your work getting this to work in the HD skin! I'll let you know if I hit on anything that makes the font look better.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    735
    LewE asked sub a year ago about the blocky fonts in legacy plugins and got a reply from sub. In the XSuite plugin code the resolution of the rendered images is chosen by looking at the resolution of background.jpg in the xrecord skin directory. The background.jpg that comes with XSuite is 720x480 but I assume the community skin HD must come with a larger one. Is PVRX2 in compatibility/legacy mode scaling it down to 720x480 behind the scenes? Only sub knows.
    2 Hauppauge PVR-150's, Celeron 2.93GHz, 1GB RAM, 1TB Maxtor HD, Cooler Master Cavalier 2, Radeon HD 2400 Pro, gbpvr 1.1.5 Blue Skin

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winsford, UK
    Posts
    336
    Guys,

    a few pointers please (excuse if I'm being a bit thick)

    Can I install both HD and SD skins at the same time setting the PC to HD and the MVP set to SD?

    If so, how will the plugin know which to adjust?
    New NPVR build :-
    NPVR Version= 3.2.9 + current patches
    Intel i7 Quad Core 3200 + 6GB DDR2 Gigabyte Motherboard
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    BlackGold dual DVB T & S tuner
    60Gb SSD System Disk (Raid 1)
    60Gb SSD Recording Cache
    4Tb Media Store (WD Red 4Tb x 2 Raid 1)
    ---------------------------------------
    Retired
    GBPVR Version= 1.3.11
    Q6600 Intel Quad + 2GB DDR2 ASUS Motherboard
    Vista Ultimate
    Pinnacle 7010ix Dual-SAT + Dual DVB-T tuner
    1.5Tb (RAID 5) storage
    3 x Hauppauge MVPs

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    That is a good question, but I have no MVP so you will have to do a test and see.

    FYI for anyone else as well, if you go to the "System" screen, you will see if it is using the -SD or -HD skin on whatever display you are using.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451

    try this

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobins View Post
    Can I install both HD and SD skins at the same time setting the PC to HD and the MVP set to SD?

    If so, how will the plugin know which to adjust?
    In the GB-PVR config app set the skin to Community-HD and on the MVP tab set the MVP skin to Community-SD. The plugin does it's thing with the currently active skin.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •