Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: strange problem with gbpvr- keeps reinstalling

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    131
    humm I started up gb-pvr and it reinistalled it self for some reason.. basicaly destroying itself in the process. nothing works . I uninstall and do everything clean.. then at somepoint it does it again . destroy it functionallity again..
    by the way there seems to be a bug in the video libary if you highlight a movie to play then press play (instead of double click the icon) you can not navigate the file list any more with in the video libary, you can only navigate between play and menu.. this is by keyboard navigation

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    33

    Talking

    The same thing happened to me tonight.

    I have a shortcut on the desktop that I use to start GBPVR on the PC. I was adding icons for channels and checking to see how they looked in the TV Guide so was opening and closing GBPVR with each change.

    At one point when I clicked on the desktop shortcut it suddenly started reinstalling. I quickly cancelled and tried it again. Same result. I tried running it from Start>All Programs and the same thing happened.

    I then went into Windows Explorer and navigated to the gbpvr folder. When I double clicked on gbpvr.exe it started properly. I deleted my desktop shortcut and created a new one and everything was back to normal (or so I thought). I had to create a new shortcut for config.exe also before everything was back to normal.

    Any idea what caused this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,956
    This happens to me a lot as well, but only on my development machine and not my PVR machine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    104
    Here's another thread discussing the problem.

    Another Thread

    The links created for GB-PVR in your start menu are not normal shortcuts, and if you move them/drag&drop them somewhere else, wierd things happen. You need to create new shortcuts manually.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by [b
    Quote[/b] (cwills @ Feb. 20 2005,08:04)]The links created for GB-PVR in your start menu are not normal shortcuts, and if you move them/drag&drop them somewhere else, wierd things happen. *You need to create new shortcuts manually.
    I have a big problem understanding where this statement comes from. I have read the other thread also and am really confused.

    I have two machines that I installed GBPVR on because I had originally intended to use both machines to record local tv. I changed my mind and have only been using one of them. The second machine is the one I use for editing video and creating DVDs from recordings.

    The machine that I upgraded to 90.10 is the one that suddenly started trying to reinstall everything. The second machine was not upgraded and has never had this problem. The problem on the upgraded machine began suddenly without warning after I had been working on it for about 2 hours after upgrading. I now have recreated all desktop shortcuts manually.

    On the second machine the desktop shortcuts were created by dragging from the Start>All Programs>GB-PVR menu. They all still work as expected.

    From the messages I have read in both threads am I supposed to think this is a fluke and the items on the GB-PVR menu were not supposed to work as they did for months? Is this something that only I was unaware of? Why did this happen to me only after I upgraded one machine to 90.10?

    I am confused!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    104
    genuckols, moving the original shortcuts is the only thing I can think of that would cause the program to re-install itself. It's possible as tipstir said that if your EPG source added a new channel it did it also. I've yet to have this problem with shortcuts that I've created myself to the actual .exe/.bat files in the Program Files\devnz\gbpvr directory.

    It has done it (to me anyway) in prior versions before .90.10 but it has never reset everything. .90.10 also reset and cleared all of my settings upon original installation, so it causing itself to re-install or re-configure itself is also causing it to clear all of your settings in the process. In the prior versions it would re-configure/install but retain settings, so I never worried about it.

    Hope that helps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    131
    tipstir
    I do not quite get what your saying there..

    I can not say it is an icon problem,( by drag and dropping the original) all I ever used was the icon created by grpvr installer itself.curiously it is a random event using the same icon over and over.
    that it is reinstalling itself because it updating itself from previous versions??? . it was the only version put on the machine. or the older was removed first.. and for me when it it reinstalls it . it erases all the setting and what have you.. and leaves a few things broken. ( it think mainly because the prior setting or adjustments have being delete and some things are left "wanting&quot

    in either case it not really "fixing" anything. or more or less causes more headache then anything. and if it a feature then I would prefere it to have an option to disable it.. I perfere to say when to update or repair then to have a program say it is time.. if not, then who really in control.. you or the machine one of those Ray Bradbury sort of things. I believe, I should remain in control and not the machine..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,554
    Quote Originally Posted by [b
    Quote[/b] ]in either case it not really "fixing" anything. or more or less causes more headache then anything. and if it a feature then I would prefere it to have an option to disable it..
    Believe me, if I could find an option in packaging application (Wise For Windows Windows) to disable it, I would. I'd also like people to be able to delete Net Radio .pls files, but the same thing happens. It's something to do with Windows Installer trying to auto protect applications that have been installed, but I've found no way in the tool I'm using, to disable it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    131
    have you tried emailing the wise installer company for support???.. because as you're saying now I have to turn off windows protection system. which isn't nessecary a bad thing. but an unecessary hack to my system.. to solve the problem with your program..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •