Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 160

Thread: Vidimport

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    527

    Screen images of errors

    The logfile is 0 bytes, so it's not helpful. (I presume that when the application errors out, the logfile isn't flushed.)

    I've attached screen captures of the pop-up error message box, the box with the "details", and the console from the run.

    Let me know if there's anything else I should try/do.

    Thanks!

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,488
    it says it cant gbpvr key
    im guessing you were right in a earlier post
    its because gbpvr is not installed in programfiles/devnz/gbpvr it cant find it

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    527

    What GBPVR registry key is it looking for?

    I just uninstalled and reinstalled GBPVR, but I'm still getting the message that vidimport can't read/find the GBPVR registry key.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    527

    One other problem - "&" in title not displayed properly

    One other problem that I'm having now, which I wasn't before:

    In the <title> tag in the videos.xml file, ampersands ("&") are put in as "&amp;amp;" which doesn't get processed properly and display in GBPVR as the "&" character.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    822
    I'll put in some more logging when I get back - wont be for a few days though. Although from the look of things it doesn't know where gpbvr is installed which is odd since it should get it from the registry (you can see at the top it says gbpvr install dir not found from the key). My gbpvr is installed as d:\programs\gbpvr and vidimport works fine.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    496
    My db3 file has suddenly grown from a few megabytes to almost 17 Gb. I was playing around with vidimport, and I suspect this may have caused it (post is duplicated in that section). I am keen to continue using vidimport, but I will need to avoid this in the future. Any ideas?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,246
    The database can grow with deleted records. 'vacuum' function of something like sqlitespy can get rid of deleted entries and reduce the size.
    Unless you have many more live rather than deleted entries.


  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    822
    Quote Originally Posted by keith_leitch View Post
    My db3 file has suddenly grown from a few megabytes to almost 17 Gb. I was playing around with vidimport, and I suspect this may have caused it (post is duplicated in that section). I am keen to continue using vidimport, but I will need to avoid this in the future. Any ideas?
    I have not seen this behavior from vidimport - mine dbase stays fairly static. However, anything is possible. How many files are you importing?

    CV

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    496
    Quote Originally Posted by carpeVideo View Post
    I have not seen this behavior from vidimport - mine dbase stays fairly static. However, anything is possible. How many files are you importing?

    CV
    I don't necessarily think it's a problem with vidimport, although I posted it in case someone else had had the experience. I put vidimport in my parallelprocessing.bat file, and also launched a monitoring program to check if the target file was still growing and restart the recording service if so. This was all in an attempt to stop recordings from "dropping out" partway through, as they do in bad reception areas. Unfortunately, I had some buggy logic that sort of sent it wild overnight.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    496

    VidImport does not detect existing shows

    I am using VidImport to good advantage in a number of batch files. However, I can't seem to get it to do something the docs say it should: specifically, I want it to search the recording-dump file and use the same details for any entry with an identical path-and-filename. (In fact, it would be great if it did this ignoring the extension, but that seems pretty hopeful).

    When I run VidImport, it leaves the channel as IMPORT and the description blank (or scraped from IMDB) regardless of whether that same file is already in the database.

    Responders may wonder why I would want to Vidimport a file already in the database; I don't, exactly, but I am importing different file streams recorded from the internet as TV recordings.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •