Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: MediaMVP with MVPMC hangs after some time

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    nl
    Posts
    750
    Quote Originally Posted by OrakelJos View Post
    Martin: I again tried MVPMC (30-9-2008 version) but am still getting the lost keypresses, no disconnects: the keypresses just disappear. Only switching theMessage to Martin MVP off and on restores normal functionality. Is there a later version which does not exhibit this problem?
    I to do notice loosing keypresses. I have the impression that if I push more firmly on the Hauppauge remote, I have less losses.
    Pieter

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,491
    The main problem is that during video the remote key messages stop flowing between mvpmc and GBPVR. Repeated tests with client side telnet captures show that mvpmc is seeing the keystrokes and sending it to the tcp socket, but there is blocking going on somewhere. The Hauppauge protocol doesn't allow a method to reopen the socket in this situation or I would do that.

    @OrakelJos there is no version of mvpmc that fixes this and I am not going to followup on it. Your comment that the Hauppauge dongle restarting during video play would be exactly what I'd expect when the heartbeat responses stop. You can try some other values on the tcp window with the --em-rtwin command line option, the default is 8192 because some GBPVR users told it worked best. I found a smaller value --em-rtwin 4096 has fewer TCP errors at the expensive of reduced preformance. I have no idea of the impact on the keystroke problem or the best values to try.

    Martin

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    You are right with your comment to Pieter. I am using a Harmony remote and have the same problem. The MVP receives them but they are just lost on the way to the server.
    Will try out your suggestion but if it remains a dead end I will switch over to the NMT A-110. My son just bought it last week and got it working with GBPVR so this is probably the way to go. In The Netherlands they cost 299 vs. $ 215 (= 150) in the US so double the price here
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,491
    I feel the pain here in Canada, too. The PCH is about 30% more expensive now then when I first bought mine and we pay international shipping so it does make a tough choice and which is why I don't push it as a solution, even with its technical superiority. However to be fair the A110 is overkill for most GBPVR user's needs and for me it doesn't justify $75 difference from the A100.

    Martin

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    I have switched off ALL 5 TCP/IP offloading options on my Intel 82566DC Gigabit controller. Since that time (2 days) I have no disconnects
    Will now enable those options one by one again to see which one is causing the problem. I know that is is not the TCP Segmentation Offload since I tried that one earlier so it must be one of the other 4 remaining. It seems to be a similair problem as some users have reported on the nVidia NIC.
    Will be continued.....
    Last edited by OrakelJos; 2009-02-06 at 09:40 AM.
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  6. #36
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    Have updated the Intel 82566DC driver to version 9.12.36 from 4 dec. 2008 which was released a week ago. Offload options are still disabled. No restarts anymore with the Hauppauge AND mvpmc dongles
    Will continue with this setup for a couple of days and then start to enable the offload options one by one.
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    Have enabled the first 3 offline options again: offload receive and transmit IP checksum and receive TCP checksum. Is still working without problems. Will now add "offload Transmit TCP checksum" and see what happens
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Veenendaal, The Netherlands
    Posts
    615
    Enabling Offload Transmit TCP checksum or Offload TCP Segmentation is almost immediately causing connection problems with this particulair Intel network card. So those two settings were the cause of all my problems
    The other three offload settings can remain enabled (see my previous posting).
    I hope that other users can benefit from my experience
    Martin: will order a Popcorn tomorrow
    LianLi V600, Intel DG965WH, 4Gb, Core2Quad Q6600, 5x 1TB, 3x 500GB raid1, 3x TechnoTrend C-1501 dvb-c, 2x PCH A-100/A-110, WHS, NPVR, DVBLink
    LianLi PC-V351, Intel DG45ID, 4Gb, Core2Duo E8400, 1x 1TB + 2x 500GB, TT C-1501 dvb-c, Win7 Ultimate, W2K8R2 Server, WHS2 Vail, XP Pro, Mandriva Linux
    Laptops: Acer 1810TZ, Acer 5235, Dell D610, Win7, Mandriva Linux, Hackintosh
    Fritz!Box 7270 WLAN-N/Dect modem/router, Netgear GS116 Gbit switch, Linksys 5 ports Gbit switch

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2
    That fix worked for me and saved me a ton of time troubleshooting. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •