Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Freesat channel mapping

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    SouthEast UK
    Posts
    165

    Freesat channel mapping

    I've just got round to updating to v1.3.7 and moving my Nova-S+ card over to my newer P4 machine. I've done a scan and now have to map the channels.
    I can't get on with the drop down boxes in the tuning request table. They are not nice to work with. You can't see enough of the list at a time and the scrolling is too fast. I can't keep up with it. Coupled with the fact that the channel list name does not always agree with what should be on that freq/transponder, it's driving me mad . I don't even have any hair to pull out

    Is there a slow but sure way of doing this by editing a text file somewhere maybe?? Suggestions please.
    GBPVR 1.4.7, XP pro SP3, 3.2GHz P4, 1GB RAM, Hauppauge WinTV 9000 DVB-T, Hauppauge Nova-S plus, 1 MVP

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,275
    I don't think there is an alternative. I did make a request for a larger pulldown box for mapping but sub went walkabout.

    What I often do is to manually edit the scan-?.cache file and get rid of the many odd channels that seem to be alternate languages, data or whatever, then if I feel like it, I sort the cache file on the channel name. Seems to help with the mapping.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ireland/UK
    Posts
    864
    Is it even possible to get it to ignore the encrypted ones so the list isn't as annoyingly long?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,275
    I must be possible from the scanning as dvbviewer can scan for only unencrypted channels. I see nothing in the scan cache file that would identify them though. Probably down to sub when the channels get scanned.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,320
    There isnt a setting in GB-PVR to ignore the encrypted channels during the scan, but you can identify them in the scan results with the "~E:T" part of the tuning request.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,275
    Ah, cheers thanks for that - will save lots of time next time I have to do a full mapping.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    us
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by fausto View Post
    Is there a slow but sure way of doing this by editing a text file somewhere maybe?? Suggestions please.
    I modify gbpvr.db3 directly using SQL in a pair of batch files:
    The first is:
    Code:
    :This is _set_tune4.bat and is called by _set4.bat file. It sets the tuning data for a source channel number
    :You can use this directly by: 
    : _set_tune4.bat "SOURCE_CHANNEL_NUMBER" "T:13274 etc. tuning data from scan4.cache file"
    :the SOURCE_CHANNEL_NUMBER is the pid (usually)
    :Always put parameters in quotes.
    :It matches on the channel number for source id 4 
    Echo UPDATE SOURCE_CHANNEL_MAPPING > _sqlscript.scr
    Echo SET enabled="Y",tuning_request=%2 >> _sqlscript.scr
    Echo WHERE capture_source_oid="4" and source_channel_number=%1;  >> _sqlscript.scr
    SQLITE3 gbpvr.db3 < _sqlscript.scr
    This is called by another bat file that lists all the channels I want mapped and the tuning data from scan-4.cache. Here are a few sample lines (the main file has over 250):

    Code:
    :This is _set4.bat
    call _set_tune4.bat "104" "T:12370,V,20000,78~NID:4100~ONID:4100~TSID:11~P:104~V:7458~A:7459~L:eng~PMT:33~E:T~PCR:7458~N:>Unknown1"
    call _set_tune4.bat "123" "T:12370,V,20000,78~NID:4100~ONID:4100~TSID:11~P:123~V:7458~A:7459~L:eng~PMT:33~E:T~PCR:7458~N:>Unknown2"
    call _set_tune4.bat "137" "T:12370,V,20000,78~NID:4100~ONID:4100~TSID:11~P:137~V:6178~A:6179~L:eng~PMT:33~E:T~PCR:6178~N:>Unknown3"
    call _set_tune4.bat "210" "T:12370,V,20000,78~NID:4100~ONID:4100~TSID:11~P:210~V:4898~A:4899~L:eng~PMT:33~E:T~PCR:4898~N:>Unknown4"
    call _set_tune4.bat "212" "T:12370,V,20000,78~NID:4100~ONID:4100~TSID:11~P:212~V:5410~A:5411~L:eng~PMT:33~E:T~PCR:5410~N:>Unknown5"
    I use UltraEdit to convert the scan.cache file into the second bat file. A macro grabs the PID from the tuning data (it's after "P:") and constructs each line in the second bat file. The whole process takes 5 minutes or so after scanning is finished. Make sure you spend lots of time getting familiar with the structure of GBPR.db3 (I used SQL Browser Lite) , and make lots of backups. You can screw things up badly doing this sort of thing.
    Last edited by dennit; 2008-11-29 at 01:10 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by martint123 View Post
    What I often do is to manually edit the scan-?.cache file and get rid of the many odd channels that seem to be alternate languages, data or whatever, then if I feel like it, I sort the cache file on the channel name. Seems to help with the mapping.
    You can also create a custom scan-?.cache file using this utility, just including the channels you want:
    http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Utility/GBPVRPidGrab

    You need to have a 3rd party viewer (other than GBPVR) working with your card.
    Tim

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    nr Brighton, UK
    Posts
    591
    Struggling with this myself, as my Compro S350 is now up and running following the installation of a dish this morning. It tunes and everything fine but I seem to missing BBC 2 - it only has Scotland and Wales...so does anyone have a decluttered cache file I can start from, please? Thanks.
    - Super-quiet PVR: Antec Fusion case / Gigabyte 780G / 2.5GHz AMD X2 4850e / 2GB RAM / silent ATI 4650 graphics / 30GB SSD + 1.5TB HDD / 2 x Hauppauge HVR4000 / Win7+nPVR -->Pioneer 42" plasma + Arcam FMJ AV9/P7 pre-amp/power-amp 5.1 surround system into PMC GB1 speakers.



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,275
    I have this in my list
    Code:
    T:10773,H,22000,56~NID:32~ONID:2~TSID:2045~P:6302~V:5100~A:5101~L:eng~PMT:263~TXT:5103~PCR:5100~N:>BBC 2 England


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •