Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: Playing TS files with mvpmc

  1. #51
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,214
    Quote Originally Posted by recordit View Post
    I don't know if the horse is dead yet and don't want to continue kicking it, but was curious if anyone has fixed the time sync issue playing .ts files on the MVP using mvpmc emulation? I also see the sound is ahead of the video by about 3-4 seconds.

    Todd
    In North America it certainly is "dead" since the AC3 audio is not sync'ed with the video.

    Martin

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    33
    Thanks for the quick clarification! Saves my time for better use
    Intel P4 2.8GHz | 800MHz FSB | 2GB DDR400 | 2x750GB SATA | 1x250GB EIDE | 2xPVR-350's | HVR-1600 | 2xMVP's
    GB-PVR v1.4.7 | Windows XP Pro SP3
    Plug-ins: Comskip 0.80.025 | Dongle: mvpmc.bin - 20080930
    Comcast Cable (San Jose, CA)

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Winsford, UK
    Posts
    336
    I play SD TS files on any of my MVPs without transcoding and they're all in sync. I use the MVPMC dongle and the timeline /skip is correct most of the time. Occasionally I get a recording with a timeline showing 1 second and can't skip but that seems random on some channels. It can be fixed via post recording processing (videoredo).

    Overall the timeline playing back TS recordings on the MVPs is ok about 90% of the time. Playing back a programme which is in the process of recording (timeshift) never shows the correct timeline and won't skip (but is ok playing back once the recording is finished)

    Why there's a difference between playing a completed recording vs one which is being recorded we never got to the bottom of.
    New NPVR build :-
    NPVR Version= 3.2.9 + current patches
    Intel i7 Quad Core 3200 + 6GB DDR2 Gigabyte Motherboard
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    BlackGold dual DVB T & S tuner
    60Gb SSD System Disk (Raid 1)
    60Gb SSD Recording Cache
    4Tb Media Store (WD Red 4Tb x 2 Raid 1)
    ---------------------------------------
    Retired
    GBPVR Version= 1.3.11
    Q6600 Intel Quad + 2GB DDR2 ASUS Motherboard
    Vista Ultimate
    Pinnacle 7010ix Dual-SAT + Dual DVB-T tuner
    1.5Tb (RAID 5) storage
    3 x Hauppauge MVPs

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobins View Post
    I play SD TS files on any of my MVPs without transcoding and they're all in sync.
    Unfortunately recordit isnt going to fare as well as you since he's in North America and likely have channels with AC3 audio and/or highdef video. AC3 audio is done in software on mvpmcx2 and has A/V sync issues. HD video is a non-starter on the MVP.

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    33
    Martin or Sub, would this be true (A/V sync issues) for any MUX I choose for the recordings that would later be played on the MVP? I've been experimenting with a number of different Cyberlink mux versions to record to .mpg and basically having almost the same issues. Would the better route be to pass the .ts files through a transcoder to fix the out of sync issues or would I continue to see these same issues?

    Thanks for your help.
    Intel P4 2.8GHz | 800MHz FSB | 2GB DDR400 | 2x750GB SATA | 1x250GB EIDE | 2xPVR-350's | HVR-1600 | 2xMVP's
    GB-PVR v1.4.7 | Windows XP Pro SP3
    Plug-ins: Comskip 0.80.025 | Dongle: mvpmc.bin - 20080930
    Comcast Cable (San Jose, CA)

  6. #56
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,214
    The mux is just a container so it won't correct the underlying problem that the MVP can't sync AC3 audio with video. Transcoding does work for some people, it never worked as well for me as avi to mpeg for whatever reason.

    You can convert ts to mpg (ps) on-the-fly you but GBPVR profile for the MVP is designed for copying audio which works in most of the SD DVB world but not with QAM or ATSC.

    Martin

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    33
    Thanks - so I guess the audio is still being saved as AC3 no matter what mux is chosen [saved in .mpg (program stream), .ts or DVR-MS] and that in North America it's not synced from the cable provider.
    I had assumed that any file saved as .mpg was similar in structure to my analog PVR350 recordings that saved to .mpg. Not being an A/V expert, how was the audio saved from the analog cards? I had assumed the audio stream was embedded into the .mpg file someway and I would have thought the digital recorded .mpg would have been the same too. Why the difference?
    Intel P4 2.8GHz | 800MHz FSB | 2GB DDR400 | 2x750GB SATA | 1x250GB EIDE | 2xPVR-350's | HVR-1600 | 2xMVP's
    GB-PVR v1.4.7 | Windows XP Pro SP3
    Plug-ins: Comskip 0.80.025 | Dongle: mvpmc.bin - 20080930
    Comcast Cable (San Jose, CA)

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,301
    Quote Originally Posted by recordit View Post
    so I guess the audio is still being saved as AC3 no matter what mux is chosen [saved in .mpg (program stream), .ts or DVR-MS]
    Correct. You get whatever format the broadcaster is transmitting.

    Some channels also have high definition video in the results .mpg/.ts/.dvr-ms file, which the MVP is also not compatible with.

    I had assumed that any file saved as .mpg was similar in structure to my analog PVR350 recordings that saved to .mpg. Not being an A/V expert, how was the audio saved from the analog cards? I had assumed the audio stream was embedded into the .mpg file someway and I would have thought the digital recorded .mpg would have been the same too. Why the difference?
    When you record from a digital device, you get pretty much the original broadcast saved to disk, wrapped up in a small wrapper (.mpg, .ts, or .dvr-ms depending on mux chosen). The video standard and audio encoding is entirely up to the broadcaster.

    The MVP can only handle MPEG1/MPEG2 standard definition video, with MPEG1 Layer 2 audio, which is pretty much what you get from old analog cards.

    Digital video is broadcaste as MPEG2, but can be standard definition (480i) or high definition (720p/1080i). These channels also often have 5.1 multi-channel AC3 audio. The MVP cannot handle these.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,214
    mvpmc can do AC3 by downmix to 2 channel analog or digital pass through but there is no hardware sync. We needed information on how to manipulate the playing speed of audio or video only and I asked Hauppauge for information several times and several times they said they would sent it but never did. This is one reason I have zero confidence in the MVP HD.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •