Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: No Audio

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25
    OK Brian, done. Logs and graph attached.

    Thanks for looking at this.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,498
    You didn't try to change channel during playback as far as I can tell - not that it matters as the main problem is trying to stop the thing when it's playing.

    The extra logging shows that the correct decompose/dispose methods were called when you hit Stop which should, effectively, just unload the whole shooting match.

    The graph looks fine but I'm not familiar with the Microsoft audio decoder being used. Clutching at straws here as I don't think it could be the problem, you could try downloading and registering the audio decoder I use...

    http://www.free-codecs.com/MPA_Decoder_download.htm

    I seem to remember the download includes a batch file that can be run to register it.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25
    i did try to change the channel but no response.

    ffdshow is my usual decoder and is used in PVRX2. I don#t know why the radio prefers the MS decoder. Anyway now using MPA decoder but no change.

    Doubt its relevant but I have Realtek sound chip and an ASIO driver installed which is only used by winamp for bit perfect playback.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,498
    Quote Originally Posted by abit late View Post
    i did try to change the channel but no response.
    Strange - there should have been an entry similar to...

    08/10/2008 07:20:24.606 DSMH: Message handler received: DVBTR_SUBMIT_NEW_TUNING

    ...but I couldn't see one. This should have been logged when you double-clicked a different station icon when the first was playing.

    ffdshow is my usual decoder and is used in PVRX2. I don#t know why the radio prefers the MS decoder. Anyway now using MPA decoder but no change.
    The live playback graph simply 'renders' the audio stream which means that DirectShow will simply use the most relevant audio decoder. Did you view the graph to check it had connected the MPA decoder? Some filters will take priority over others.

    Doubt its relevant but I have Realtek sound chip and an ASIO driver installed which is only used by winamp for bit perfect playback.
    Hmmm, not sure but I don't think that would cause problems.

    I've posted a message on the Developers forum to see if I can get any ideas about the original problem with playing back using the mp3 buffer file.

    Sorry I haven't been able to identify the problem so far.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25
    OK thanks. I'll keep an eye on this thread in case there is anything more I can do to help troubleshoot.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,498
    Hi Al,

    Could you try the following...

    1. Make sure PVRX2 isn't running and stop the DVB-T Radio service.
    2. Delete all the logs from DVB-T Radio Logs folder and the gbnetradio-X.mp3 files from the recordings folder.
    3. Set UseLivePlayback to False.
    4. Start the radio service then pvrx2 and the plugin.
    5. Try playing a radio station - wait maybe 5 seconds or so after trying to play it (I realise it will fail with the unspecified error as usual).
    6. Exit the plugin and pvrx2 then stop the dvbt radio service.
    7. Take a screenshot of the Dvbtr.grf and zip it together with the dvbt radio logs and the pvrx2.exe.logs and pvrx2.exe-native.logs from the gbpvr logs folder.
    8. Start GraphEdit then, from the FIle menu, select "Render media file...". Find the gbnetradio-X.mp3 file and open it.
    9. Screenshot the graph it builds (assuming it builds one) then try clicking the 'Play' button on GraphEdit's button bar.

    Let me know what happens when you try to play it in step 9. and also post the zipped screenshots/logs etc. I'll ask sub to take a look at the logs.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25
    Ok done it and attached the logs plus screenshots of GraphEdit. Tried to render the media file as per step 8 but GraphEdit could not construct a graph.

    gbnetradio-0.mp3 is 0KB, also attached.

    Let me know if I can do anything else.

    Cheers, Al

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,498
    Quote Originally Posted by abit late View Post
    Tried to render the media file as per step 8 but GraphEdit could not construct a graph.

    gbnetradio-0.mp3 is 0KB, also attached.
    Hmmmm, the attempt to render the file possibly failed as a result of the file being 0KB. I delay playback of the buffer file for 500ms and I would have thought that would have been enough to generate a small file - it is possible though that cleanup was too quick to write anything to it.

    Something I noticed from the playback screenshot is that it's still using that Microsoft audio decoder. Did you uninstall the MPA one? If not the the MS one obviously has a higher 'merit' which means it will take priority.

    I've attached some new binaries - there are two things you could try...

    Firstly add the following line to the DVBTRadio.xml file (within the <Settings> block)...
    Code:
      <PlaybackBufferDelay>5000</PlaybackBufferDelay>
    ...then repeat the test in my previous post. That setting is in ms so it will let the buffer grow for 5 seconds before cleaning up. Hopefully that won't generate a 0KB mp3 file this time. Obviously you'll need to wait for longer after clicking play - give it maybe 10 seconds before exiting pvrx2 in step 6.

    The other thing you could try (assuming the MPA decoder is still installed/registered) is add the following to the xml file...
    Code:
      <AudioDecoderName>MPA Decoder Filter</AudioDecoderName>
    ...this, as it suggest, will manually add and connect the decoder filter rather than letting Directshow pick.

    Remember when extracting the binaries make sure pvrx2 and the service are stopped and copy the DvbtrLib files to plugins\Common as well.

    Thanks for putting time into this.

    Cheers,
    Brian

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    25
    ok will do, have to be to tomorrow pm though. BTW had to unregister the MPA decoder due to issues with dts, back to ffdshow now but will adapt the test accordingly.

    Cheers,
    Al

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,498
    Quote Originally Posted by abit late View Post
    ok will do, have to be to tomorrow pm though. BTW had to unregister the MPA decoder due to issues with dts, back to ffdshow now but will adapt the test accordingly.
    OK - no rush.

    If you could try it with the extra delay but without the MPA decoder first and do the bit with trying to render the gbnetradio mp3 file, I'd be interested to know the result. I can feed that back to sub to see if he has any ideas.

    After that, if you could try specifying the audio decoder name with the same tests, it would also be useful.

    Cheers,
    Brian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •