View Poll Results: How do you wake up the PC with a Remote?

Voters
83. You may not vote on this poll
  • I use MCE Remote with USB IR Reciever

    20 24.10%
  • I use MCE Remote with USB IR Reciever (from Hauppauge bundles)

    5 6.02%
  • I use iMon VDF (delivered with some cases like Antec Fusion)

    5 6.02%
  • I use iMon inside

    3 3.61%
  • I use homebrew IR solution (like www.simerec.com/PCS-2.html / www.atric.de)

    3 3.61%
  • I use an workaround (like IR remoteable power switches)

    0 0%
  • I use my box 24/7 no need to wake up the machine with a remote

    23 27.71%
  • I use the old style version (stand up, walk to the machine & push the power button)

    19 22.89%
  • I use some other solution not listed, details in post below

    8 9.64%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: How to wake up PC with Remote

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    good ol' germany
    Posts
    546

    How to wake up PC with Remote

    i'm taking that thread here http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?t=37210 to get some additional docu on the wiki started. for those out there who don't run 24/7, how do you start your PC? i've added some options as a poll, i'd like to know how many users are working with which solution.

    please post any additional infos you have like that:
    where to get it from
    how much to spend for it
    usable with any remotes (programmable)
    additional features
    other dis-/advantages (like MCE Remote wake up only possible if BIOS has USB wake up support...)

    i'll add the different solutions to the new wiki entry http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Tips/RemoteWakeUp

    i use a homebrew solution from www.atric.de
    - europe based, sadly only german homepage, english manual for download available
    19€ + shipping
    + usable with any remote (programmable)
    + IR reciever also usable as an homebrew LIRC reciever
    (for those out there with soldering skills, schematics & firmware available for download)

    satori uses the solution from http://www.simerec.com/PCS-2.html
    US based, english install guide
    40$ + 5$ shipping in US/Canada / 10$ international shipping
    + usable with any remote (programmable)
    (for those out there with soldering skills, schematics available for download, programmed chip can be ordered separately)
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yep, what he said.
    curiosity killed the cat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,259
    I use some other solution not listed, details in post below
    I use a PCH or MVP for viewing. They wake up the headless server.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    611
    I have two methods...

    1. Remote wonder 2 to wake up using any remote button and I use the menus to put to sleep

    2. my IR reciever for my AVC-3610 is compatible with MCE remotes. This one can wake up and sleep using the power button (experimental for now). I actually don't like the idea of suddenly putting the machine to sleep as I haven't figured out how to delay sleep when there is a recording in progress.
    E6400, 2 GB RAM ,500 GB + 250 GB HD, PVR150+ Adaptec 3610, RW 2 + HIP, Antec 2480 w/ mini ninja ...still using v 0.99

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Grapevine, Texas (Close to Dallas)
    Posts
    239
    I have to be honest here and say I don't actually use the solution listed above. I saw it on the web and it looked like a good workaround if you just wanted to use your existing remote.

    I am leaning toward using a Gyration remote, which is an MCE remote, to start my setup below.
    Last edited by Satori; 2008-08-26 at 02:35 PM.
    Gateway GM5664 with Vista Premium SP1 Transferred to Antec Fusion HTPC case
    AMD Phenom 9600 Quad Core 2.3GHZ, 3GB PC5300 667MHZ Memory
    3 Tuners: Avermedia Duet PCIe, HVR-1250 PCIe
    LG GGC-H20N Blu-ray / HDDVD ROM Drive, Visiontek HD 3650 512 MB Graphics (Cat 9.6)
    Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer, Gyration Media Center Remote Control
    HDD: 30GB OCZ Vertex SSD - OS, 1TB (2x500GB) - Recordings
    GBPVR: 1.4.7, Plugins - SuperSimpleArchiver, GBPVRCLi/LCD Smartie for VFD, Music Plugin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    89
    same as martin > mediamvp (with mvpmc.bin), and server falls to standby if mvp is off again and no further activity within 15 min.
    server: p4, 1,8 ghz, win server 2003, gb-pvr 1.4.7
    cc: terratec cinergy s2 pci hd (dvb-s, bda) + technotrend TT-connect S-2400 usb (dvb-s, bda) on Astra 19,2 E
    clients: mediaMVP + laptop, vista sp2, gb-pvr 1.4.7

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    822
    Sadly I have never gotten this to work - I hit a key on my wireless keyboard to start it up.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    good ol' germany
    Posts
    546
    @McBainUK, Satori, dark_half: anything you had to do to get it working? BIOS settings? energy setting? (drivers?) settings in the device manager? any disadvantages? what about jam_zhou's problem, no way to prevent putting to standby by accidental key press? i'd like to add some facts to wiki
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yep, what he said.
    curiosity killed the cat

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    I have the PC go to sleep after 15 mins of inactivity. To wake it up I press "enter" on the keyboard. Nothing special really

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    611
    I've read that the SlimmGBVPR tray can delay standby, but I haven't tried it myself.

    As for BIOS settings you have to turn on S3/S4 explicitly in your bios, don't let it be automatic. Then you also have to enable the USB devices to not turn off during standby in your control panel. You'll know you are in S3/S4 when your fans turn off.
    E6400, 2 GB RAM ,500 GB + 250 GB HD, PVR150+ Adaptec 3610, RW 2 + HIP, Antec 2480 w/ mini ninja ...still using v 0.99

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    good ol' germany
    Posts
    546
    Quote Originally Posted by McBainUK View Post
    I have the PC go to sleep after 15 mins of inactivity. To wake it up I press "enter" on the keyboard. Nothing special really
    you're talking about the MCE IR Remote? or the MCE wireless keyboard?!?
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Yep, what he said.
    curiosity killed the cat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •