Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: mkdir cannot create directory

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Eritrea
    Posts
    4

    mkdir cannot create directory

    hi

    i get this messege when i try to run telnet.html from my pch.

    "mkdir cannot create directory"

    what does it mean?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,972
    Have you tried to run it more than once? The telnet command will only succeed the first time after each power up of the PCH. Subsequent attempts to run it will give this mkdir error.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Eritrea
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Have you tried to run it more than once? The telnet command will only succeed the first time after each power up of the PCH. Subsequent attempts to run it will give this mkdir error.
    Yes i tried to run it more then once. but now i have another problem, after power up i get this messege: "mount mounting \\169.254.65"


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    HK - Pal I
    Posts
    2,919
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    Have you tried to run it more than once? The telnet command will only succeed the first time after each power up of the PCH. Subsequent attempts to run it will give this mkdir error.
    I have also been having a frustating time with this. If I power off the PCH and restart from scratch, I have a nice USB setup which will go straight into GBPVR and run no problem. I also have a Network Share setup which works very much the same, but without automatically going into GBPVR (files attached).

    However when I power off the PCH and turn it on again, I get the script menu and when I try to go into gbpvr again (whether by Network Browser or USB) I get the dreaded:

    Code:
     
    mkdir cannot create directory 'etc/mvpmc' : File exists mkdir cannot create dir
    Is this a share or a bad script issue? It's driving me nuts. If I could solve this, I'd be on the PCH for good now that we have comskip (thanks again Martin!). This is pretty much the only reason I use the MVP still.

    k.
    ASUS P5K-PRO Q9300 @ 2.5GHz | Win7 x64 | 6GB RAM | ATI Radeon HD3400 PCIe Video Card | 1 x PVR-150 | 2 x WinTV DMB-TH | Various HD's | AC66U | USB-UIRT | PCH-A100 |
    If you've ever become frustrated because something in GBPVR or NPVR is not working, take a moment and consider this and this and this and this and this and this. Credit where credit's due; for one guy (with a wife and two kids), most problems are solved outrageously quickly. Patience.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,972
    That doesnt look like a valid IP address (missing a number).

    Can you the contents post your script.cgi file?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,826
    Since 169.x.x.x IP addresses are assigned to the PCH when it can't find a DHCP server, I am wondering if you are trying to connect a PCH directly to your PC instead of through a router?

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    99
    It looks like the content length is chopping the error off at 29 characters. Change the content length to about 60 until you can see what the error is. Then set it back when the issue is resolved.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Eritrea
    Posts
    4
    i am trying to connect the pch directly to my pc (i don't have a router).

    changed to 60 characters, now i get this messege:
    " mount mounting \\169.254.65.8\mvpmc on /etc/mvpmc/ failed cp cannot stat '/etc/mvpmc/***** o such file or directory /opt/sybhhtpd localhost dr "

    script.cgi:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    echo "Content-Length: 60"; 
    echo "Content-type: text/html"; 
    echo ""; 
    
    cd ~
    mkdir /etc/mvpmc
    mount -t cifs //169.254.65.8/mvpmc /etc/mvpmc/ -o username=guest,ro;
    cp /etc/mvpmc/utelnetd /usr/bin;
    utelnetd -l /bin/sh -p 23 & 
    ln -s /lib/librmjpeg.so /lib/libjpeg.so.62
    ln -s /lib/librmzlib.so /lib/libz.so
    ln -s /lib/librmzlib.so /lib/libz.so.1
    ln -s /lib/librmzlib.so /lib/libz.so.123
    echo "Telnetd started on port 23............"; 
    exit 0;
    thanks a lot for all your help
    Last edited by gandalfo; 2008-05-06 at 09:09 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    20,826
    Cannot stat is file not found so the share is not connecting maybe they aren't in the same subnet? I would try and assign a static IP to both your PC and to your PCH models something like this.

    PC 192.168.1.1
    PCH 192.168.1.2

    Martin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Eritrea
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Cannot stat is file not found so the share is not connecting maybe they aren't in the same subnet? I would try and assign a static IP to both your PC and to your PCH models something like this.

    PC 192.168.1.1
    PCH 192.168.1.2

    Martin
    did it. now everything works!!!
    thanks a lot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •