Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Skipping in MVPCX2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Galloway Township, NJ, USA
    Posts
    563

    Skipping in MVPCX2

    Since comskip won't work w/ NMT (I assume this is because it uses the NMT's playback instead of GBPVR's), does the NMT do any sort of skipping (30 second skip, skip ahead x minutes in the file, etc) or do you just have to use FF & Rewind?
    GBPVR v1.4.7
    Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz
    4 GB RAM, 160GB system drive
    640GB recording drive
    PVR-500 - analog cable stations
    HDHomeRun - ASTC via antenna
    nVidia GeForce 8600GT
    1 PCH @ 1080p componenent (was NTSC via composite)
    1 PCH @ 1080p HDMI (was component)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,319
    Yes, you can skip. Press the right arrow on the remote. Press multiple times in quick succession to jump further. I'm not in front of my PCH to check at the moment, but I think you can also press the timeseek button then type in a time to jump to.

    As you mentioned, you can also do FF/RW.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Galloway Township, NJ, USA
    Posts
    563
    Cool.

    I registered at PCH, hopefully I can get one by this fall before the NFL starts up again.
    GBPVR v1.4.7
    Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz
    4 GB RAM, 160GB system drive
    640GB recording drive
    PVR-500 - analog cable stations
    HDHomeRun - ASTC via antenna
    nVidia GeForce 8600GT
    1 PCH @ 1080p componenent (was NTSC via composite)
    1 PCH @ 1080p HDMI (was component)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,253
    Some of this depends on file format and container format. For example Syabas have a lot of work to do on MPEG-TS files

    Martin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Galloway Township, NJ, USA
    Posts
    563
    Quote Originally Posted by mvallevand View Post
    Some of this depends on file format and container format. For example Syabas have a lot of work to do on MPEG-TS files

    Martin
    How frequently do they put out updates for the PCH? - never mind, I found the PCH firmware downloads & it looks like they come out every couple of months.
    Last edited by philly_phenom; 2008-03-27 at 04:39 PM.
    GBPVR v1.4.7
    Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz
    4 GB RAM, 160GB system drive
    640GB recording drive
    PVR-500 - analog cable stations
    HDHomeRun - ASTC via antenna
    nVidia GeForce 8600GT
    1 PCH @ 1080p componenent (was NTSC via composite)
    1 PCH @ 1080p HDMI (was component)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,253
    A better answer is probably not fast enough for all the demand. I really want to navigate ts files and of course integrated support for user apps (although it is working better than I expected).

    To be fair to Syabas they do have a reasonable alpha/beta/release cycle too. Just got notified today of a new beta with 30+ changes.

    Martin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Galloway Township, NJ, USA
    Posts
    563
    Just tried skipping - I pressed the "next" button during playback & it gives me a triangle with an exclamation point (I assume this means that button is not permitted during playback of MPEGs) - also I can't rewind either - so if I FF to far, I can't go back.

    I assume this is a limitation of the PCH...
    GBPVR v1.4.7
    Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz
    4 GB RAM, 160GB system drive
    640GB recording drive
    PVR-500 - analog cable stations
    HDHomeRun - ASTC via antenna
    nVidia GeForce 8600GT
    1 PCH @ 1080p componenent (was NTSC via composite)
    1 PCH @ 1080p HDMI (was component)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,319
    Press the right arrow on the navigation pad instead. Some keys logically work differently to what we're used to with GB-PVR.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Galloway Township, NJ, USA
    Posts
    563
    Excellent!!
    GBPVR v1.4.7
    Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit)
    Intel Core 2 Duo 2.33 GHz
    4 GB RAM, 160GB system drive
    640GB recording drive
    PVR-500 - analog cable stations
    HDHomeRun - ASTC via antenna
    nVidia GeForce 8600GT
    1 PCH @ 1080p componenent (was NTSC via composite)
    1 PCH @ 1080p HDMI (was component)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,393

    same no skips

    i don't get skips in livetv from that arrow pad, only ff works...
    they do work when not using gbpvr tho...has this changed? i need the skips...
    is it only a livetv limitation?
    1. C2D 1.6ghz XPPro, ATI HD4650lowprofile,Cat 8.11, Aver M780, KWorld PCI 120, MVP, GBpvr 1.4.7, Comm. Skin. VFD, Imon plugin w/SmartieLCD[custom]
    2. C2D 2.53, XPPro, ATI HD3450, Kworld 330U, Comm. Skin, GBpvr 1.4.7
    Author: Pvrx2 utils- Simple Archiver.bat, NTFSLinker [Junction gui]
    Universal Util: MCE Remote no-software trick and Shutdown Protector
    3. Zotac Mini ITX G41[$84] + ati 650pro pcie[$29], Celeron duo[$22] BDRom drive [$48]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •