Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Problem with TS files audio sync

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    142

    Problem with TS files audio sync

    Hi

    Unfortunately I've had to backout 1.2.9. I have found that it has severe problems with playback of MPEG2 TS files. The audio is completely out of sync. Looking at the log files - attached - I can see a number of differences.
    Not sure which is the cause

    1. I can see that 1.1.5 was using PreferredMpegPlaybackDemux (likely the Cyberlink one I have installed). 1.2.9 is using UseBuiltInTSReader.

    2. 1.2.9 looks like its getting the resolution of the file completely wrong.
    eg. "Creating video texture: 1024x576". 1.1.5 has "Creating video texture: 1280x720". Its a 1280x720 source...so even if this isn't the cause of the audio issue there is a pretty good chance that this is not going to be good news as there would be scaling going on that we certainly do not want.

    So here are the Graph sections

    1.2.9
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE Graph contains the following filters:
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE - Default WaveOut Device
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE - Video Renderer
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE - CyberLink Video/SP Decoder (PDVD7)
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE - AC3Filter
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE - MPEG-2 Demultiplexer
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE - SOURCE
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.406 VERBOSE getSetting(SaveGraphFiles)
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.546 VERBOSE setSourceAspectRatio() using autoAspectRatio
    2008-03-16 19:29:39.546 VERBOSE video resolution is 1024 x 576

    1.1.5
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE Graph contains the following filters:
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE - Default WaveOut Device
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE - Video Renderer
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE - AC3Filter
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE - CyberLink Video/SP Decoder (PDVD7)
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE - \\Griffith\video\TV\Lost\Lost.S04E06.TheOtherWoman .ts
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.218 VERBOSE getSetting(SaveGraphFiles)
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.328 VERBOSE setSourceAspectRatio() using autoAspectRatio
    2008-03-16 19:45:15.328 VERBOSE video resolution is 1280 x 720

    Playback is perfect on 1.1.5.

    Cheers
    Spence

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,691
    Try setting <UseBuiltInTSReader> to false in config.xml, and should play the same way as previous releases.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    142
    Afraid that was significantly worse than with the builtin - the video pixellated then hung completely. See attached logfile - its using something called GB-PVR Parser.

    It does seem to recognise the video resolution though...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    142
    BTW, if I playback through GraphEdit it uses Haali splitter for the TS files.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,691

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    142
    Ok. Tried that. I'm back to the audio sync problem now.

    BTW, does the internal TS reader do everything Haali does? Especially the subtitle link to vobsub...as this is crucial. If not, then we really need the "false" option to work. I seem to have misplaced my multi-language files such as Babel to try it out.

    I've found by bitter experience that getting good video playback is really a pain, with subtle differences in Directshow splitters (Haali and others) and the decoder causing all sorts of problems if they don't talk to each other properly. I have a setup now that seems to work with pretty much anything I can throw at it...when I'm using 1.1.5.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,691
    With that patch applied, and the <UseBuiltInTSReader> set to false, reproduce the problem then post the logs and I'll take a look. It should be using the haali spliter if that is your system default for TS files.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    142
    Ok. Here you go. Is this the only log file you need? Added config file as well.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    142
    Should have added that the graph used in 1.2.9 isn't the same as the one in the log file posted at the start for 1.1.5. While it doesn't specifically say Haali in the 1.1.5 log, that is what is being used as it shows in the system tray (you can't "see" Haali in graphedit either but its there).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,691
    That log looks like you dont have the patch applied.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •