Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No Sound for MPEG2 video

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    18

    No Sound for MPEG2 video

    I use Cyberlink Powerdirector v6 to produce videos. I have a small video that I'm trying to watch both on the MVP and on the computer (tried PVRX2 & GBPVR). The same thing happens on both. I get the video but no audio. I have downloaded and installed VLC and I get the video & audio there. I have searched the forums because I thought I remembered this problem a long time ago but I can't find the answers.

    I'm desperate. Any video that I've recorded with PVRX2 works just fine. The wife can watch all 30 episodes of CSI that we've got recorded so I know the software seems to work fine. The problem seems to be this other video.

    I know this might not be a problem with GBPVR but you guys have solved so many other problems that you're the first place I turn.

    Any suggestions?

    Using GBPVR 1.1.5
    AMD 3500+
    1gb Ram
    320gb HD
    PVR150

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Velp, The Netherlands
    Posts
    3,489
    Seems like you don't have the right codec installed to play the audio. VLC uses it's own built-in codecs. You could try GSpot to find out what codec you need for this video. Or check the Cyberlink Powerdirector settings to find out what audio it produces.

    Hans
    AMD Athlon 64 3000, HDD: 80, 120, 200 GB, Hauppauge 350 + 150, MVP, Asus 6000L Laptop client, Asus X50sl client,
    Fritz!box 7140 modem/router, GBPVR 1.3.7.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    18

    No Sound

    Hey thanks! I used GSpot to determine that the audio is AC3. It is 256kb/s. It wants to use my Intervideo Non-CSS Audio Decoder for Hauppauge but for some reason will not play the audio.

    I checked the PowerDirector settings and it was set to produce Dolby Digital sound. When I switched that to MPEG2, I got sound. I wonder where the problem lies? Is it a problem with the way PD encodes the audio for Dolby Digital or is there a problem with playing that in GBPVR (I doubt the latter). I've not seen many major problems with GBPVR so I'm leaning toward the PowerDirector program. Curious that it would play in VLC. Thanks for the heads-up on VLC using its own codecs, that explains why it works there.

    Is there a different codec I need to play the Dolby Digital sound?

    As always, I knew somebody here would know how to find the answers!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Velp, The Netherlands
    Posts
    3,489
    To be able to play AC3-audio you need a codec for that to play it on the computer, for the mvp to be able to play it it needs to be transcoded to mpeg-audio. So you'd be best off with having power cinema set to produce mpeg-audio.
    I know the AC3-filter codec plays ac3-audio and mpeg-audio, you could try that. Some people have reported some problems with that, but I'm sure many use it without problems.

    Hans
    AMD Athlon 64 3000, HDD: 80, 120, 200 GB, Hauppauge 350 + 150, MVP, Asus 6000L Laptop client, Asus X50sl client,
    Fritz!box 7140 modem/router, GBPVR 1.3.7.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    186
    Quote Originally Posted by HtV View Post
    I know the AC3-filter codec plays ac3-audio and mpeg-audio, you could try that. Some people have reported some problems with that, but I'm sure many use it without problems.
    I am using ac3filter without problems. I couldn't get audio to work for mpeg2 before i put it on my system and selected in config.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    AU
    Posts
    1

    Cool

    Hello,

    I'm using Power Director 4 on Windows 7 and it gives me four main options when producing a video:

    - .avi
    - .mpeg1 (wont let me use it because it doesn't support widescreen)
    - .mpeg2
    - .divx (but need to upgrade for this)
    - avc mpeg4 (this produces a .jts file)

    I just want to make a high quality video for playback on youtube etc and i think mpeg2 was looking ok in terms of video quality and file size, but there was no audio.

    And it seems, there is no way for me to select a different audio option to try - it is just set at 'Audio Codec: Digital Dolby'.

    So my questions are:

    - How Do I Get Sound?
    - And, if i need to change what audio encoding it uses, how can i modify this?

    Thank You Very Much!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •