Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Gonna play with Sage for a while...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    5,105

    Gonna play with Sage for a while...

    I wanted to play with Sage TV for a while, and see if I there are things I can/should do with UltraXMLTV Enhancer to work over there...

    I would like to be able to flit back and forth from GB-PVR to Sage. Anything that I need to know, services to disable, mvp dongles to use?

    Thanks for the help.
    Frank Z

    I used to ask 'why?' Now I just reinstall...
    ______________________________________________
    Author: ZTools: ZProcess, MVPServerChecker; UltraXMLTV Enhancer, Renamer, Manager;


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY, USA
    Posts
    7,719
    The Sage uninstaller breaks the BDA infrastructure. Other than that, I can' help. I wasn't impressed enough with Sage to keep it on my machine long. Found GB-PVR and never looked back.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by whurlston View Post
    The Sage uninstaller breaks the BDA infrastructure. Other than that, I can' help. I wasn't impressed enough with Sage to keep it on my machine long. Found GB-PVR and never looked back.
    I do not expect to switch to the 'dark side' ( just having fun sage-guys!)

    Since I don't have anything BDA-ish, I won't worry.

    Originally Oz and I thought about making the Enhancer and other utilities universal. I guess it's one more step...

    By the way, where is Oz?
    Frank Z

    I used to ask 'why?' Now I just reinstall...
    ______________________________________________
    Author: ZTools: ZProcess, MVPServerChecker; UltraXMLTV Enhancer, Renamer, Manager;


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    551
    It breaks it? So, what, uninstalling Sage means reinstalling the capture cards and maybe GBPVR? ... or worse?

    zehd, I thought you moved to OZ months ago. Was wondering why your nick still says Canada, actually.
    I bet Michael Bay uses GBPVR because it's awesome:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiHsxQJ9ZOo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Louisville, KY, USA
    Posts
    7,719
    Dunno where OZ is. Been wondering that myself. He and Jim just seem to have disappeared.

    Usually to fix the broken BDA you just have to right click bda.inf (C:\Windows\System32 I think) and choose install. The Silicondust guys incorporated the fix into the HDHomeRun drivers because it was so frequently happening. You might have to reinstall your capture card drivers as well, I can't remember for sure on that though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    5,105
    Quote Originally Posted by Deusxmachina View Post
    zehd, I thought you moved to OZ months ago. Was wondering why your nick still says Canada, actually.
    Hah. Anyone really paying attention, (My GOD I have a lot of posts on here) would have seen Gold Coast, Australia, for about three months. And when the location changed to Calgary, Canada, was the day I came back.

    I was actually thinking of yanking all of the posts regarding my failed move. But didn't think anyone had noticed, so didn't bother...

    Then along came you
    Frank Z

    I used to ask 'why?' Now I just reinstall...
    ______________________________________________
    Author: ZTools: ZProcess, MVPServerChecker; UltraXMLTV Enhancer, Renamer, Manager;


  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    21,287
    The SageTV dongle is completely different so there is no issue there but you will need to do the full power cycle. Narflex didn't want mvpmc support or it wouldn't have been an issue.

    I noticed you moved too.

    Martin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •