Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: setting up gbpvr

setting up gbpvr

hey guys.

i was just wondering if i could get a little help setting up GBPVR release 1.1.5 (i think, the most recent one). i am new to computers in general and just wanted the best player for the WinTV Nova-t-500 as the software that comes with it seems a bit rubbish.
    i say this as there isn't a guide for programs that you can see while having the program on, it seems slow and simply that the reviews and screenshots for GBPVR seem so much better.

i started by downloading the new release but as i am new to this, i was expecting a desktop icon maybe to just click for example. when this wasn't there i clicked many of the parts that now registered in the 'all programs' menu but the ones i clicked on seemed to be trying to configure or set something up and all came back with an error such as 1706 saying that it couldn't find something or other.

i would be grateful for help such as do i need to uninstall any of the hauppauge software before downloading? what do i set in any configure screens? how do i get the main user interface?

i have seen mention of net framework which i have installed right the way up to 3.0.

i appologise for how much help on this i seem to need but it seems that i need the most basic of beginners guides.

Welcome to the forums Have you seen our wiki? Unless you have, that is a really good place to start. http://www.gbpvr.com/pmwiki
    You have installed .net runtime, that is good. Did you also see that you need to install http://www.gbpvr.com/vcredist_x86.zip. to get things to work?

Check out the wiki, and post any questions you have after that
    I'm not always right
    GB-PVR 1.2.9
    Accent HT-400 Case, AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 1024MB, 1TB+300GB+180GB, WinXP Pro-SP2, NVidia 7600GT
    Nova-T USB2, PVR-350 recording from Dilog 355 DVB-T box, USB-UIRT (receiving & transmitting)

Advice from someone who also has limited computer experience