Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Cheapest way to connect MVP, With no spare ethernet sockets

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrexham, UK
    Posts
    248

    Cheapest way to connect MVP, With no spare ethernet sockets

    Hi as the title says,

    I have got a spare MVP and I was going to give it to the girlfriend, but when I checked her router its just Wifi and hasn`t got any ethernet ports. She has got this connected to her pc via ethernet.

    So my question is whats, the cheapest and easyest way to connect the MVP to her PC?

    Will it be buy a new router with 4 ethernet ports?
    Will be be buy a ethernet switch thing??
    Will it be buy a usb to Ethernet adaptor?
    Will it be buy a USB wifi, so it free`s up the ethernet port, But then I`d have to buy 15m of ethernet crossover cable cause I`ve only got the other stuff.

    So any advice would be appricaiated

    Thanks

    Pete
    Pentium 4 3000, XP, 1.5gig of memory, 460gig harddrive, Nova T Dual, , PVRX2 3 MVP`s

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,275
    Cheap switch and some cables at a guess. A lot of switches have auto-downlink ports so that normal or crossover cables work.
    Remember, the MVP needs a DHCP server to get an IP address, so needs to have a direct route to the router.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrexham, UK
    Posts
    248
    Hi Martin,

    Thanks for the reply, I have got a ethernet switch box, but I could never get it to work, Maybe cause its old.

    So if I bought this

    Would it work??

    The way it would be wired is ethernet to ethernet switch and connectted to the etherswitch would be a adsl modem and the MVP.

    Thanks

    Pete
    Pentium 4 3000, XP, 1.5gig of memory, 460gig harddrive, Nova T Dual, , PVRX2 3 MVP`s

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    4,275
    I've just re-read your first message and missed the "Hasn't got any ethernet ports". I must have mentally ignored this when I read further down "connected to her pc via ethernet".

    We have to step back a pace and ask "what is connected to her PC via ethernet"

    Sorry,
    Martin


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,562
    yeah a switch over cable is the cheapest way if the router has no ethernet ports
    but if it has one then your in bussiness the switch will work

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrexham, UK
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by martint123 View Post
    I've just re-read your first message and missed the "Hasn't got any ethernet ports". I must have mentally ignored this when I read further down "connected to her pc via ethernet".

    We have to step back a pace and ask "what is connected to her PC via ethernet"

    Sorry,
    Martin
    Hi Martin,
    A "BT wirless router, with a adsl modem built in"

    Thanks

    Pete
    Pentium 4 3000, XP, 1.5gig of memory, 460gig harddrive, Nova T Dual, , PVRX2 3 MVP`s

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,562
    so no other output than wireless????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrexham, UK
    Posts
    248
    Quote Originally Posted by stustunz View Post
    so no other output than wireless????
    No, no other ethernet output

    Thanks

    Pete
    Pentium 4 3000, XP, 1.5gig of memory, 460gig harddrive, Nova T Dual, , PVRX2 3 MVP`s

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,562
    sorry i dont know (well i do but i dont want to be wrong and cost you money)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    487
    The cheapest way: a second ethernet card and a cross cable but this is not the easiest way.
    Better a switch (the netgear you pointed to looks good) hook it up to the ADSL modem, PC and MVP on the switch and off you go, provided that the BT router does DHCP.
    -[Arjan]-
    ___________________________
    -I'm not a pessimist, just realistic-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •