Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Some help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manawatu, New Zealand
    Posts
    99

    Some help (NZ freeview EPG + previewing)

    Hi,

    What a great application, well done sub. I'm very happy with GBPVR in general, it is the most complete so far of what I have tried (about 5 other apps)

    However some things really naff me off.

    Firstly, my setup. As you can see, I live in New Zealand. I'm using a Hauppauge HVR3000 in an Athlon 2000XP to get freeview via DVB-S.
    Once I figured out how to edit the files to get all the freeview channels (TVNZ on hpol and vpol + CanWest on hpol), all was well however....

    1 - I have found the EPG in GBPVR is a bit flaky. Almost every other product I have tried, just seems to pull the freeview EPG from the channels without any issues. Is there anything I can do to improve this? I'd prefer not to use XMLTVNZ unless I really have to. Most other software just seems to download it seamlessly without me noticing. The problem may partly be due to me using the vpol for TVNZ (the sky rebroadcast), as we also use Sky in our house.

    2 - whenever I record anything, it works really well. It is only the second piece of software I have had that records the TS directly without re-encoding (so great on another PC). However it won't play and record simultaneously what i am recording. Can I do this using GBPVR? I tried to turn on the Live Preview option or whatever it was, but it made no difference.

    If I can sort these issues out, there's no going back

    Thanks

    Allstarnz
    Last edited by allstarnz; 2007-07-16 at 04:31 AM. Reason: more descriptive header

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,898
    Quote Originally Posted by allstarnz View Post
    2 - whenever I record anything, it works really well. It is only the second piece of software I have had that records the TS directly without re-encoding (so great on another PC). However it won't play and record simultaneously what i am recording. Can I do this using GBPVR? I tried to turn on the Live Preview option or whatever it was, but it made no difference.
    GB-PVR cant really playback .ts files while the recording. It tries, but does it badly.

    You'd be much better off using the Cyberlink mux, and recording to a .mpg file. Its important to note that this also does no re-encoding - instead its just a simple remux, so no quality loss, or high CPU usage. When recording to a .mpg file, then you'll be able to watch during recording etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manawatu, New Zealand
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    GB-PVR cant really playback .ts files while the recording. It tries, but does it badly.

    You'd be much better off using the Cyberlink mux, and recording to a .mpg file. Its important to note that this also does no re-encoding - instead its just a simple remux, so no quality loss, or high CPU usage. When recording to a .mpg file, then you'll be able to watch during recording etc.
    great, thanks for the clarification. I was reluctant to use MPEG due to the usual CPU overhead, but since it doesn't re-encode, i'll give it a go.

    Any thoughts on the first question? I have found when updating the EPG, it will eventually get the data now and then, but the update will hang for ages. Especially if the card is using the vpol feed of TVNZ (the Sky rebroadcast). Hopefully this'll sort itself out next month when they all move over to H-Pol.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,490
    why are you against using xmltvnz
    it has better detail than the freeview one

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manawatu, New Zealand
    Posts
    99
    because it's not dynamic, and with Sky at least, it takes a million years to download the EPG data.

    I'd rather use the EPG data already embedded in the DVB stream?

    Is that an indirect way of saying GBPVR's EPG support is rubbish?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manawatu, New Zealand
    Posts
    99
    Sub - in further regard to your reply....

    You'd be much better off using the Cyberlink mux,
    Is this what is set in configuration, misc, BDA multiplexer?

    I changed this to Cyberlink and it seemed to make no difference.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    you do need to download and register the cyberlink mux first.

    Sub rates version 1307
    [edit] corrected url

    http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.php?t=25630

    you can check which mux's you have registered by runnin ghte muxchecker util.
    Last edited by gEd; 2007-07-16 at 10:25 PM.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Hamilton New Zealand
    Posts
    4,490
    no the free view one has gaps its frewview with the problem not gbpvr
    xmltvnz takes like 5 minutes to run from scatch and at 3am im asleep so it could take longer and i would be none the wiser
    anyway basically the freeview one sucks end of story so good luck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Manawatu, New Zealand
    Posts
    99
    right, thanks for your help.

    now where is this mux checker? I see it's all through the documentation, but nowhere does it say if it's a separate file or part of the config.

    I'll try the Cyberlink one when I get home.

    Part of the problem with XMLTVNZ is that PC isn't actually connected to the network at the moment. I do actually use XMLTVNZ on my main PC, but I think i'll have to rewrite the batch file on that if I use it on that PC, i'll make it delete the cache, as otherwise it seems to just grab it off the cached files.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    muxchecker.exe is in the gbpvr folder.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •