Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Question regarding choppy playback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    234

    Question regarding choppy playback

    I still have choppy playback when watching ATSC programs. Is there a way to tell whether this is due to the recording process or the playback process? I'm trying to narrow down whether the problem is with the capture card or the video card.
    AMD x64 4400+, 2 GB RAM, ATI Theater 650 Pro and PVR150MCE, ATI Radeon 2400XT, HDMI to Samsung LNT-4671f 1080p 120hz LCD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,862
    Are these records smooth if you play them in Windows Media Player?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    234
    Yes, in both Overlay and High Quality modes.
    AMD x64 4400+, 2 GB RAM, ATI Theater 650 Pro and PVR150MCE, ATI Radeon 2400XT, HDMI to Samsung LNT-4671f 1080p 120hz LCD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,862
    Are you on the primary monitor or a secondary one?

    Have you tried run PVRX2 with the "-fse" parameter mentioned in a few threads?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    234
    I'm sorry, I answered that question wrong. They do NOT play smooth in WMP in either mode. Dangit, I'm not multitasking well lately.

    I should probably mention this is not something that only appeared after upgrading to 1.0.8.

    I haven't gotten PVRX2 to work yet. []
    AMD x64 4400+, 2 GB RAM, ATI Theater 650 Pro and PVR150MCE, ATI Radeon 2400XT, HDMI to Samsung LNT-4671f 1080p 120hz LCD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    234
    Regarding primary or secondary monitors, I show in display properties that the TV is numbered as "1", and "2" is greyed out.
    AMD x64 4400+, 2 GB RAM, ATI Theater 650 Pro and PVR150MCE, ATI Radeon 2400XT, HDMI to Samsung LNT-4671f 1080p 120hz LCD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    75,862
    Quote Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
    I'm sorry, I answered that question wrong. They do NOT play smooth in WMP in either mode. Dangit, I'm not multitasking well lately.

    I should probably mention this is not something that only appeared after upgrading to 1.0.8.
    I'm assuming these are highdef ATSC videos? If so, and they're not playing smoothly in WMP either, then I'm guessing your video card may not be up to displaying HD content. It could also be the video decoder though.

    When you get it running, its also worth trying PVRX2 with the "-fse" parameter, since that has direct access to the video card, and might help a little.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    234
    Yes, this only occurs with ATSC video.

    Interestingly enough, the ATI 9600XT was a better card than what ATI recommended for HD playback. Hmmm.
    It's an 8x AGP card with 128 MB, 400MHz, and it's in Overdrive mode.

    Now that I have PVRX2 working, I'll try the -fse parameter.
    AMD x64 4400+, 2 GB RAM, ATI Theater 650 Pro and PVR150MCE, ATI Radeon 2400XT, HDMI to Samsung LNT-4671f 1080p 120hz LCD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    234
    OK, this is quite interesting.

    GBDVR works fine. PVRX2 gives me a VERY faint picture. In fact, some recordings I can't see anything but black screen. On some I sometimes see faint blue movement, but can't really tell what it is.

    I must say, the menus FLY! It's SO much faster than the old version!
    AMD x64 4400+, 2 GB RAM, ATI Theater 650 Pro and PVR150MCE, ATI Radeon 2400XT, HDMI to Samsung LNT-4671f 1080p 120hz LCD

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,829
    what resolution are you running the display at?
    It high, try dropping it to see if that helps and set your tv to upscale the image.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •