Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Missed recording - How do I tell

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    298

    Missed recording - How do I tell

    Ok - We missed Lost tonight, my wife SWEARS that she checked and it wasn't schedules so she hit the record button and it appeared red in the guide - For some reason it was missed as a re-occuring but its in the guide as "Lost." not "Lost" so that may be why.

    How can I tell if she really did schedule it and if so why it was missed or did she do something wrong?????

    I've taken a copy of the Logs folder now so I won't lose the "proof" but I'm at a loss as to why we missed this.

    Any help appreciated! I'm wondering if this is human error or whether maybe theres an odd bug with Titles ending in the Full stop or something?????
    Matt Beechey
    Intel i5-4440, 4096mb DDR3 Ram, Windows 7 Pro
    2 x Hauppauge Nova-T 500 (2 out of 4 of these I've bought works! Great QC Hauppauge!)
    1 x Hauppauge hvr-2200 and 1 x Hauppauge Colossus
    500gb Seagate for O/S
    2 x 500GB SATA3 WD Black in a Windows Stripe for recordings
    All hidden in the garage with an Intel i5 NUC and a logitech Harmony one remote in the lounge for playback.
    Panasonic 65" 2013 GT Series 3D plasma

    ----------------------------
    New Zealand - Go Crusaders!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,129
    That it's "Lost." and not "Lost" explains why it wasn't scheduled as a recurring one. Zip up the log files and attach them here, so someone can take a look as to why it wasn't scheduled when your wife tried to schedule it again. Do you happen to know the approximate time when she tried to do that?
    I'm not always right
    GB-PVR 1.2.9
    Accent HT-400 Case, AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 1024MB, 1TB+300GB+180GB, WinXP Pro-SP2, NVidia 7600GT
    Nova-T USB2, PVR-350 recording from Dilog 355 DVB-T box, USB-UIRT (receiving & transmitting)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,718
    its in the guide as "Lost." not "Lost" so that may be why
    It does an exact match, and these aren't an exact match, so it wouldnt have been scheduled.

    Any help appreciated! I'm wondering if this is human error or whether maybe theres an odd bug with Titles ending in the Full stop or something?????
    I'm guessing its human error from whoever types in the tv listings.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    150
    may be it is worth to check whether a recorded "lost." file on your hard disc exists.

    I have repeated experienced that Recordings neither in "whats new" nor under "failed" where listed, the file on the HDD are however complete.

    joerg
    Last edited by herrmannj; 2007-05-30 at 08:46 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,129
    Sub, you missed the part where he says that the real problem is that he (or the mrs, actually) thinks he scheduled the recording "Lost." when he realized it wasn't scheduled automagically, but that recording was never made...
    I'm not always right
    GB-PVR 1.2.9
    Accent HT-400 Case, AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 1024MB, 1TB+300GB+180GB, WinXP Pro-SP2, NVidia 7600GT
    Nova-T USB2, PVR-350 recording from Dilog 355 DVB-T box, USB-UIRT (receiving & transmitting)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,718
    Right you are. Matt, if you're keen to know what happened, then zip and email your gbpvr.db3 and logs to me at support@devnz.com and I'll perform a post mortem for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    4,911
    Was this a change you were looking at making sub (after the last Lost that got....lost.. ) maybe a change from exact title to like??

    Mine did the same, so will have to get it from, ahem, other sources.
    Gigabyte AMD A8 Brix, 4 Gb DDR3 Ram, 120 Gb SSD, SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual DVB-T, Samsung LA46A650 TV (HDMI), Harmony Remote 525
    Windows 8.1 Pro, NPVR 3.2.9, AC3Filter, 1 x AppleTV with Plex, Plex Plugin, NextPVR Channel for Plex

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,718
    Quote Originally Posted by psycik View Post
    Was this a change you were looking at making sub (after the last Lost that got....lost.. ) maybe a change from exact title to like??
    This is something I'd indicated I would look at in future, but I dont have time for at this stage.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    298

    Heres the logs and DB

    The guide comes from XMLTVNZ using TVNZ's site as the source for TV2 so I know its either a change in the site listing having a full stop or XMLTVNZ making a bubu but my wife swears black and blue she scheduled it.

    OK - found it (I think) - I was doing a search using Vista and even though I told it to search file contents it didn't - when I used a DOS prompt and the find command I found the log in question and it looks like its the Full stop thats caused a problem - Heres the bit of log

    2007-05-30 20:25:00.562 VERBOSE getSetting(EnableTeleText)
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE getSetting(ListGraphFilters)
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE Graph contains the following filters:
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE - GB-PVR Writer
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE - Encoder
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE - Capture
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE - Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II Crossbar
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE - TV Audio
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE - TV Tuner
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.421 VERBOSE getSetting(SaveGraphFiles)
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.562 VERBOSE ConexantRecorder::StartRecording() done
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE ConexantRecorder::StartRecording(3, 64, 80, 0)
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE target filename: D:\PVR\Lost .\Lost ._20070530_20302130.mpg
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Capture Device is based on BlackBird architecture
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Capture Device is using Conexant (derived) drivers
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Loading filter names
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Found names:
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II Crossbar
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II Capture
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II TvTuner
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.656 VERBOSE Hauppauge WinTV PVR PCI II TvAudio
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.671 VERBOSE ConnectPins: 'Analog Audio' to 'TVAudio In'
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.796 VERBOSE ConnectPins: 'Audio Decoder Out' to 'Analog Audio In'
    2007-05-30 20:25:01.796 VERBOSE Looking for encoder filter


    It looks like it had a space between the Lost and the Full stop which would make it worse!!!! So I assume its due to an illegal file name - Perhaps some logic could be added to check the validity of the detination filename/episode name and strip illegal characters or something???

    I'm looking forward to my satellite card turning up (If it ever does - dodgy Hong Kong ebay'er!) so I can get the EPG from the Satellite..... Hopefully this will be a little more consistent than XMLTVNZ - Why oh Why doesn't tv guide or someone offer a paid subscription based online XML!!!! I'd pay!

    I've attached the log and DB incase you want to check furthur sub because the odd thing is it didn't show up as a failed recording?? It just dissappeared!

    P.S - I'm using Vista ultimate on my office pc and I was trying to search the logs from there - My HTPC is running XP Pro
    Matt Beechey
    Intel i5-4440, 4096mb DDR3 Ram, Windows 7 Pro
    2 x Hauppauge Nova-T 500 (2 out of 4 of these I've bought works! Great QC Hauppauge!)
    1 x Hauppauge hvr-2200 and 1 x Hauppauge Colossus
    500gb Seagate for O/S
    2 x 500GB SATA3 WD Black in a Windows Stripe for recordings
    All hidden in the garage with an Intel i5 NUC and a logitech Harmony one remote in the lounge for playback.
    Panasonic 65" 2013 GT Series 3D plasma

    ----------------------------
    New Zealand - Go Crusaders!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Lower Hutt, NZ
    Posts
    4,911
    Quote Originally Posted by sub View Post
    This is something I'd indicated I would look at in future, but I dont have time for at this stage.
    I take it this could be done from a plugin?
    Gigabyte AMD A8 Brix, 4 Gb DDR3 Ram, 120 Gb SSD, SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual DVB-T, Samsung LA46A650 TV (HDMI), Harmony Remote 525
    Windows 8.1 Pro, NPVR 3.2.9, AC3Filter, 1 x AppleTV with Plex, Plex Plugin, NextPVR Channel for Plex

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •