Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Multiple drive support

  1. #1

    Multiple drive support

    Is there any possibility of getting multi-drive support into GB-PVR? Something as simple as supporting more than one directory for storing recordings? I've recently put a 160GB drive in my DVR and now the 80GB drive it is booting from is completely empty and mostly useless.

    Based on what I've found, you have to setup hard drives in XP when you install the OS in order to "stripe" them, or whatever you call it when the OS treats two drives as one.

    That's not much of a fun option since this new drive is SATA on a PCI-SATA controller. That means floppy drivers and a clean OS install.

    It'd be much easier to get it done at the application level

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,408
    Its on my list of things to do in a future release. I cant tell you exactly when it'll be done though.

  3. #3
    Sounds good.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    199

    Video Archive

    You could try the video archive utility on the Wiki, it will move items to other drives and update the database. It's a good stop-gap until the main program changes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,856
    agreed.

    Set gpvr to record to your 80gb drive and use video archive to move those recordings more than n days old over to the 160gb drive. What you set n to depends on how much you record and how much you keep vs deleting after watching.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cartersville, GA
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by pwtenny View Post
    Is there any possibility of getting multi-drive support into GB-PVR? Something as simple as supporting more than one directory for storing recordings? I've recently put a 160GB drive in my DVR and now the 80GB drive it is booting from is completely empty and mostly useless.

    Based on what I've found, you have to setup hard drives in XP when you install the OS in order to "stripe" them, or whatever you call it when the OS treats two drives as one.

    That's not much of a fun option since this new drive is SATA on a PCI-SATA controller. That means floppy drivers and a clean OS install.

    It'd be much easier to get it done at the application level
    I am going to convert my recording drive which is disk 2 (third) on my system to raid 0. All that has to be done is empty off everything you want to save. add the new drive and turn on raid support on the mobo to begin the setup. The issue with setting up raid initially is only for the system drive or boot drive afaik.

    If your mobo doesn't support raid you could presumably add a card that does.

    On the other hand I also look forward to this being a capability in gbpvr

    Athlon 64 X2 6000+
    MSI K9N4 SLI (Nforce 4)
    GeForce 6600GT
    4GB DDR 800
    WinTV PVR 150
    MediaMVP
    WinXP Pro SP3
    GB-PVR ver 1.3.11

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,856
    pwtenny: RAID isn;t actually a good solution to what you are trying to do as you should really only do RAID with identical disks (or at least the same size).

    Striping an 80 and a 160GB drive together would give you 160GB I believe.

    Also, I would personally not go down the striping route (RAID 0) for gbpvr.
    You don;t need the extra disk performance and you multiply the risk of loosing everything by the number of drives that you have.

    I could see why one might want to create the recording drive using RAID 1, whereby you mirror the drives which gives you redundency but at the expense of halving your available disk capacity.
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cartersville, GA
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by gEd View Post
    pwtenny: RAID isn;t actually a good solution to what you are trying to do as you should really only do RAID with identical disks (or at least the same size).

    Striping an 80 and a 160GB drive together would give you 160GB I believe.

    Also, I would personally not go down the striping route (RAID 0) for gbpvr.
    You don;t need the extra disk performance and you multiply the risk of loosing everything by the number of drives that you have.

    I could see why one might want to create the recording drive using RAID 1, whereby you mirror the drives which gives you redundency but at the expense of halving your available disk capacity.
    gEd, are you using that 512 GB RAM for a Ramdrive? No wonder your drive speed is sufficient. /sarcasm

    Actually I disagree with the speed is not needed part. If the system is also used for burning dvd's, multiple clients, multiple capture cards. Or maybe my 320 GB SATA hard drive just really sucks.

    Athlon 64 X2 6000+
    MSI K9N4 SLI (Nforce 4)
    GeForce 6600GT
    4GB DDR 800
    WinTV PVR 150
    MediaMVP
    WinXP Pro SP3
    GB-PVR ver 1.3.11

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,856
    actually it's 1GB now - 512 is borderline for gbpvr ;-)

    if you are running mutliple clients and recording multiple channels that you may have a fair point. I have recorded 3 shows at the same time to my single IDE drive without problem, other than the fact that I guess the recordings are all interleaved, which then get defragged the following morning.

    RAID 0 gives a good performance boost - I've used it on my main rig for several years but you 2x (or more) the risk of loosing everything you haven;t backed up. Which happened to me once....:-(
    Silverstone LC17 Case,
    ASUS P5Q, Intel E7200, 4GB RAM
    Blackgold DVB-T2, ATI 7750, Windows 7 64-bit
    SAF codec pack,Sony 40" Z5500

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cartersville, GA
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by gEd View Post
    actually it's 1GB now - 512 is borderline for gbpvr ;-)

    if you are running mutliple clients and recording multiple channels that you may have a fair point. I have recorded 3 shows at the same time to my single IDE drive without problem, other than the fact that I guess the recordings are all interleaved, which then get defragged the following morning.

    RAID 0 gives a good performance boost - I've used it on my main rig for several years but you 2x (or more) the risk of loosing everything you haven;t backed up. Which happened to me once....:-(
    I realize there is an increased risk to raid 0. But I consider it appropriate for recorded video and video playback etc. Anything I really want to save long term gets converted to DVD. I might take issue with the twice as likely to crash calculation. Each drive works less to do the same job as one.

    A drive could go at anytime of course and raid zero is virtually impossible to recover last I checked. I believe too many power cycles is something that can kill drives. I leave my system on 24/7, but suspend the drives after an hour of inactivity. I also bought seagate drives with 5 year warranties. I think that speaks to their reliability a little.

    The problem I see is hard drive accesses by the burning or editing software can cause the mvp connection to drop, and I only have one mvp right now. I am adding a second capture card shortly. It might just be my motherboard can't handle all the traffic I suppose. For 80 bucks I figured I'd give the raid array a try.

    Athlon 64 X2 6000+
    MSI K9N4 SLI (Nforce 4)
    GeForce 6600GT
    4GB DDR 800
    WinTV PVR 150
    MediaMVP
    WinXP Pro SP3
    GB-PVR ver 1.3.11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •