Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 128

Thread: Web Cams 2 - Support Thread

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,795
    Very excited to start using. Thanks for the updates.

    I tired it and get errors about UIElements Utils. I have it installed, and it is larger and newer than the one linked to from wiki, so I'm afraid to overwrite with.

    The previous 2.0 version worked w/ the existing utils and elements I have installed.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    Woops. Re-download from the wiki-should work now.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,795
    Nice! Works great now. I love all the work you've done. This out-does the orginal plugin.

    One thing I noticed was it wasn't escaping character in the title. I noticed it wasn't getting this img at first:

    <webcam name="Day / Night" url="http://www.eeph.com/~matthew/world.gif" refresh="600" local="False" username="" password="" />

    Since you use the name as the img name, it failed (no error, so I love your error handling). I switched to "&", and that did error in the control panel. I ended up using "-". NBD, but in case people report problems, the name of the cam could be an issue.

    Thanks again. I personally apprecaite it. If you're looking for the next improvement, do a 2-in-one, and tie the webcam2 to the screensaver, so the screensaver will cycle & update web cam images.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451

    Version 2.1 released!

    Minor changes:
    • Now has an exe installer so all common library's are included and your WebCams list wont be overwritten by future upgrades.
    • The plugin takes advantage of UI Elements v0.6 new features by checking for available updates to the plugin (no more checking the wiki/forums)
    Last edited by McBainUK; 2007-02-25 at 11:50 AM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    147
    Righto - at http://forums.gbpvr.com/showpost.php...&postcount=157 you will find the code for the skin.xml to use this plugin with MediaCenter G.

    My thanks to Tipster & Fatman Do for their help.

    Lastly - a couple of suggestions....

    1) When using the slide show the screen saver ( at least on the MVP ) needs disabling..... I'm not sure if this is a plugin or a skin thing.... if its the later I'll have a look. I also think having the option to cycle the cameras as the screen saver is also a great idea too.

    2) The more I think about it this fuction would be usful - the abilty to press a button on the remote & save the current image to a predefined directory. Seeing as you save these locally any way I guess its no biggy to save when required a copy else where ?

    3) Streaming cameras would be good but I guess that would push the abilties of the MVP so if there was a way to enter a streaming camera in and the pluging was able to grab a screen shot of it at that time that may be a happy medium.

    Hope thats of some use... I'll also get some more cameras up soon if any one has any suggestions ?

    ( Feel free to include a few streamers... I've found static images behind them before now - eg Niagra )

    Terran
    http://www.letscommunicate.co.uk/carpc/

    http://www.digital-car.co.uk/

    Now also on Skynet ( SkyTV UK ) at wtv.letscommunicate.co.uk

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451

    WebCams2 v2.2 released!

    Changes include:
    • Disables the screen saver in Slideshow mode.
    • Can now press blue to archive the current WebCam image.
    • Added option to turn off update notification.
    • Fixed a few bugs with mouse support.


    (thanks for the good suggestions ccsnet )

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by McBainUK View Post
    Changes include:
    • Disables the screen saver in Slideshow mode.
    • Can now press blue to archive the current WebCam image.
    • Added option to turn off update notification.
    • Fixed a few bugs with mouse support.


    (thanks for the good suggestions ccsnet )
    Your Welcome... not sure I have many more but I'll certainly build up a better camera list for you and every body else when I get time... I want some good ones for my self TBH

    Terran

    PS Re streaming - the best way I can think of ( looking at the same for the Traffic cam project I'm sort of testing ) is to get the PC to view the screen and take its own screen shot some how. Its possible as Webcam XP has this function.
    http://www.letscommunicate.co.uk/carpc/

    http://www.digital-car.co.uk/

    Now also on Skynet ( SkyTV UK ) at wtv.letscommunicate.co.uk

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,795
    I ran into a minor glitch that is probably eay to fix. Every so often it seems to get hung loading a image it hasn't fully downloaded yet. Tonight was the first time it hung up GB altogether.

    Could you add a timeout for displaying? If seomthing doesn't load in 5-10 to just skip for now?

    It's been working great otherwise.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    Will see what I can do.

    If it happens again could you post a the gbpvr.exe.log? Would be much appreciated.

  10. #30

    Thumbs down

    McBain -

    Love the new webcams plugin, and haven't downloaded the last update yet but noticed an issue with the following webcams (which worked and still work fine in the old webcams plugin)

    Code:
    <webcam name="Traffic Cam Rt.78/Morgan Hill Road" url="http://paul.wfmz.com/padot-wfmz-019.jpg" refresh="30" />
      <webcam name="Traffic Cam Rt.33/Rt.22" url="http://paul.wfmz.com/padot-wfmz-011.jpg" refresh="30" />
      <webcam name="Traffic Cam Rt.33/I-78" url="http://paul.wfmz.com/padot-wfmz-020.jpg" refresh="30" />
      <webcam name="Traffic Cam Rt.22/Rt.512" url="http://paul.wfmz.com/padot-wfmz-004.jpg" refresh="30" />
      <webcam name="Traffic Cam Rt.22/Airport Rd." url="http://paul.wfmz.com/padot-wfmz-003.jpg" refresh="30" />
      <webcam name="Traffic Cam Rt.22/MacArthur Rd" url="http://paul.wfmz.com/padot-wfmz-001.jpg" refresh="30" />
    My guess is that the parser is having trouble with the dashes "-" in the image name since they are the only cams I can't see with your version. It's either black or it hangs up GBPVR completely. BTW, thanks again for adding US to your cinema plugin!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •