Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problems with Trans-AM Advisor.Theme and Appearance Manager

  1. #1

    Problems with Trans-AM Advisor.Theme and Appearance Manager

    Specifically, I can't seem to get AM to load. I'm greeted with an error message about something missing, but unfortunately due to the size of the font, the missing file is overlaid by the dialog's "OK" button...any ideas on how to proceed?

    It would probably help me to know what AM needs to function; I know I have the latest version, it shows up on the menu and in the plugins list, so I know AM is installed properly.

    It would seem to me the trouble is in either the theme or in BaseSkin/Advisor Skin itself - can anyone give me a listing of what files should be in the Appearance subdir? Other directories necessary for AM to function? I'd like to see how this fits in TransAM as I really like this skin....

    Thanks as always for your help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    If you have an Appearance directory, make sure you have "se.png" in the Main Menu directory. This must be a blank image. (You can copy it from "\Appearance\SkinEffects\None\Main Menu")

    Advisor does not "out of the box" support AM.

    Need any more help, just ask.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,237
    Sorry about the missing se.png....and thanks Fatman_do
    I have updated the Theme on Wiki now.
    Best Regards
    MixMan

    Antec Fusion case with Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-SH, AMD X2 4850e, 2GB RAM, AMD780G Onboard graphics. WinTV-PVR 150 MCE (With FM), Twinhan DVB-T, 750GB + 250GB HDD. Windows XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 Remote, 29" 4:3 monitor and a 47" Philips 9603H LCD

  4. #4
    If you have an Appearance directory, make sure you have "se.png" in the Main Menu directory.
    Well, it's very hard to see the actual file name (note to Sub: smaller fonts for error dialogs please ) but I am pretty sure it's looking for an xml file. BTW, when you refer to "an Appearance directory" where do you mean? In the root of the Base.Skin dir?

    Advisor does not "out of the box" support AM.
    But isn't the whole point of the TransAM skin the fact that it *does* support Appearance Manager, or am I missing something (probably!)?

    I'm going to try the new version Mix Man upped to the WIKI and I'll get back to you later.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Quote Originally Posted by kaizen
    Well, it's very hard to see the actual file name (note to Sub: smaller fonts for error dialogs please )
    Those were specified in Advisor, not by sub.

    Quote Originally Posted by kaizen
    but I am pretty sure it's looking for an xml file. BTW, when you refer to "an Appearance directory" where do you mean? In the root of the Base.Skin dir?

    But isn't the whole point of the TransAM skin the fact that it *does* support Appearance Manager, or am I missing something (probably!)?

    I'm going to try the new version Mix Man upped to the WIKI and I'll get back to you later.
    Yes, your previous post made is appear you had GBPVR\Skin\Advisor\Appearance\

    as part of your directory structure (Advisor does not come with this by default).

    If you want a large amount of images and na Appearance folder set up for you (if you do not have it) download Chameleon skin, install it, and copy the appearance directory over from it to Advisor. Then you can delete Chameleon.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  6. #6
    Wow you're quick! You must be as tied to your CPU as I am!

    Yes, your previous post made is appear you had GBPVR\Skin\Advisor\Appearance\
    Yes, similar but actually still using the old BaseSkin dir name, and "Appearance" is lowercase (not a biggie but I thought I'd mention it as someone downstream may read this and say "BUT MINE IS DIFFERENT!! I NEED TO START ANOTHER THREAD!!!

    If you want a large amount of images and na Appearance folder set up for you (if you do not have it) download Chameleon skin, install it, and copy the appearance directory over from it to Advisor. Then you can delete Chameleon.
    Funny you should mention that, as it was an idea I had and was going to bring it up if other solutions didn't work out - so I guess we're definitely on the same page. I will d/l both Chameleon and the updated MixMan skin and get back to you in a bit...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Case doesn't matter on the names.

    You should have been all set on AM if you renamed an older version of BaseSkin (which did include AM support).

    Have to leave for a while, will be back in a few hours. Make sure you have the commongbpvrutilities.dll file in the GBPVR directory.

    If the button text using Chameleon's AM skin is messed up, I will tell you how to fix it. (Not all themes use ButtonTextShadow).
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Here is the orignal BaseSkin v2.2 Appearance skin files. There were no sub-directories so still copy over the folder from chameleon. Once that is done, place these files back in the Advisor\Appearance directory. (This will avoid text compatibility problems with my skin's .xml file.

    Attachment 6111
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

  9. #9
    Sorry for the delay, but things seem to be working now; AM loads without errors and I can make changes to the appearance. Though not exactly what I thought it was, it is neat.

    What I'd really like to do is get the buttons on the My Series (My Videos, esp.) to match the skins, though it's becoming obvious to me that I'm going to have to delve into the XML to accomplish that. I'll have to start reading your tutorials.

    <gripe>I'm not a big fan of XML as it takes me back to the old days of HTML with a txt editor and loading the results every few seconds to check the output - yuck! Why we can't have XML tools that give you AT LEAST an APPROXIMATION of WYSIWYG (Geez, even WordPerfect 5.1 had a preview feature...and yes, I'm that old..) is beyond me.</gripe>

    Thanks for all your help FM! I salute you (holding up three fingers to forehead)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,526
    Cheers.
    Fatman_do

    HTPC: AMD XP+2500, 512MB DDR (400) ~ Capture Device: Hauppage PVR-150
    Storage: 30GB OS & Recording, 160GB Post Processing & Archive
    Video Output: HD 32" TV via eVGA Geforce 6200le 256MB AGP DVI-HDMI cable out
    Audio Output: Turtle Beach Riviera S/PDIF Optic Output (Digital pass thru only) to Home Theater Receiver



    Moderator | Tutorials | Community Skin | CommunitySkin-SVN

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •