Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: New User Probs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    New User Probs

    Hi, I just switched from BeyondTV to give gb-pvr a try. When I try to start the GUI I get an error message immediately stating,"gbpvr.exe has encounted a problem and needs to close..."

    Any suggestions on what I did wrong?

    TIA
    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Velp, The Netherlands
    Posts
    3,489
    AMD Athlon 64 3000, HDD: 80, 120, 200 GB, Hauppauge 350 + 150, MVP, Asus 6000L Laptop client, Asus X50sl client,
    Fritz!box 7140 modem/router, GBPVR 1.3.7.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,451
    Bit more info needed.

    Have you tried running the config app? Have you got .net 2.0?

    In the Windows event viewer there should be an entry for the GBPVR error. Can you post it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    479
    What version of GB-PVR are you trying to install? Is it the latest version, 97.13?

    If not... download the latest version, get .NET 2.0 installed and give it a try again. Can you screen shot the error and post it?

    GB-PVR 97.13 Download

    My GB-PVR Rig: GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H , AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400, 2 x 2gb PC6400 DDR2
    1 x HVR2250, HD Homerun PRIME, 1tb Western Digital, 750gb Western Digital, Antec NSK2400 Case, Logitech Harmony

    Connected to: Full 1080 37" Vizio LCD
    Current Projects: Moving my config over to a new i3 based rig and a Radeon 6670.
    To Purchase: More drive space!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    Thanks for the quick responses

    I've decided to reinstall, pretty much from scratch and make sure all the drivers are updated - then see what happens. I'll post any problems here when I'm finished. Again, thanks all!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    NEW Problem...

    Well I got the program to run using the " DeviceTypeCheck" utility to properly identify my card, however; it only saw one card. I have the Hauppage 150 AND 350. It only saw the 150. Not sure what is going on or how to troubleshoot it. Any suggestions?

    Incidently, the hardware manager shows everything is installed properly - and they were both working with my previous PVR software.
    Last edited by marklp77; 2006-07-25 at 05:14 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,332
    When I try to start the GUI I get an error message immediately stating,"gbpvr.exe has encounted a problem and needs to close..."
    Do you still get this?

    The devices arent used until actually try to do a recording or watch live tv, so this error wont be caused by the DeviceTypeCheck problem you mentioned above.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    Sorry for the confusion...

    The problem with the error message went away once I re-read the install instructions . I had the capture card configured improperly. So now I'm just having difficulty getting the 350 to show up in the utility.

    Thks,Mark

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,332
    You dont actually need the DeviceTypeCheck. Just setup two capture sources - one as a PVR150 as device#1, the other as a PVR350 device #2. If it doesnt seem to work, then swap the device numbers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7
    Sub, thanks for your responses, but for me, your suggestion didn't work... Will have to give up for now, but will give it another shot in a week or so.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •