Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: I need help to fix wavy video on TV from Nvidia 6200

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730

    I need help to fix wavy video on TV from Nvidia 6200

    The video is wavy on the TV even when within the preview box. I am using the Nvidia 6200 output with VMR9 custom renderer and encoder passthrough deinterlacing. With avi 16x9 videos there is a wavy line in the middle and with 4x3 mpegs the sides waver. I am using version 97.13.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NextPVR HQ, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    76,111
    Can you post a screenshot so we no what exactly you're taking about?

    with 4x3 mpegs the sides waver.
    This can be normal with analog tv, but its normally off the side of your TV so you dont see it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730
    I went into the 6200 tv out settings and fixed the problems on the sides enlarging the size so the overscan went outside the viewing area. I still get a wavy line with avi's. Sometimes with mpegs too.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730
    As far as the screenshot give me until Wednesday, day off, due to my setup.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    494
    Perhaps you are seeing the renderer frame updates occuring during active presentation on the screen. Try turning on Vsync (or Wait for Vsync) in the Video card 3D settings.
    AMD Athlon X2 4200+ CPU, Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 mobo, 2GB RAM, 1TB SATA HDD, DigitalNow Dual Hybrid PCIE S2 and Hauppauge HVR2200 capture, ATI HD4670 video with HDMI-HDMI to 32" LCD TV at 1360x768, Win7 Home Premium 64bit, GBPVR 1.4.7, EVR renderer

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730
    I was trying to go without using PureVideo. I tried PureVideo and now I have an almost perfect picture.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730
    The problem still exists, even with the Nvidia codec and with vsync in 3d setting forced. I finally found time and a way to take a screenshot. However the screenshot won't capture the problem. I don't have a digital camera either. The problem is not consistent. It is intermittent and can happen in different areas. Earlier I stated middle of the screen since it was towards the middle but now I see it happen anywhere between the middle and towards the top of the screen. What else can be done?

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730
    By the way, the wavy line is more like a fold.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730

    Talking Problem Solved

    I was using VMR9 Custom Renderer due to a post in another thread. I changed it to regular VMR9 and the fold/wavy line disappeared. I thought of doing this because when I played back video in ZoomPlayer, at any screensize, the video was perfect. Due to that I figured the trouble had to be with GBPVR. The only difference between the two was the VMR9 setting.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    730

    The problem is back

    The problem showed up again on LiveTV and recorded video. I was able to reproduce the problem with ZoomPlayer on the same PC and another with a monitor as the display. I am completely confused. I have also tried VMR7. The problem still has not reproduced itself on the avi's.

    NPVR | Athlon XP 5000+ 2 GB RAM | Asus EAH3450 | Hauppauge HVR-1600 & Colossus | MS MCE Beanbag
    Harmony 659 | RF keyboard | Vizio 42" LCD & Panasonic 32" CRT | 3 PCH A-100

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •